Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence

Public | K-6 | 892 students

Our school is best known for accelerated academics.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2010

Independence is a great school but not for everyone. There are many opportunities for your child to succeed. The principal and the staff will work with you to assist your family if there is a problem. Seventy-five percent of the parents in my child s classroom participate in the classroom. Be warned that this is a very Type A school. There is a strict curriculum and not a lot of play time. Homework for my excelling kindergartener is over an hour a night (not including breaks). Though doing well academically she has no love for learning. The pressure she feels in kindergarten to perform has in part doused the flame. So, if your child excels in this kind of environment, then I could not recommend a better school with more caring faculty. However, if your child needs more variety and play time then I would check out other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

Well from the last post, you may not visit the school very often. Or haven't notice the staff slowly diminishing. Or heard of parents complaining of the 'new principal'. It is a Traditional School of sourse it is going to be strict. It is going in the right direction not because of the principal, but because of the teachers and their knowledge of teaching. You might want to spend more time at school with your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

I have to completely disagree with the last post...the new principal has shown great leadership and brings a new, fresh perspective on the 'back to basics' model of teaching and running a school. She obviously has a heart for the students and it shows in her interactions with them. Some may say the rules are too strict, but our children need discipline and boundaries (let's face it, a lot of kids aren't getting it at home). I am impressed with the direction the school is headed and plan to keep my kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

The teachers have been wonderful, but I'm very unimpressed with the new principal. Her focus seems to be on controlling the students as much as possible, rather than focusing on the children. At lunch, social interaction is discouraged and children are not even allowed to turn around. When the bell rings she requires all students to leave the school and will not let them remain or re-enter to talk with a teacher or pick-up an intstrument. Apparently, this is to teach the student's responsibility. Perhaps the same rule should apply to teacher's and administrators and then the next time someone leaves their keys on their desk they'll rethink whether or not that policy is reasonable. The past principal was remarkable and each student really felt cared for. It's too bad a poor principal has such an impact on the school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

We have just completed our third year at CTA. We've been with the school since the year it opened. I can tell you that I would drive from far and wide to make sure my child could still attend school here. Cant believe how much he has learned! And nice to know this 'Back to Basics' style of teaching still teaches phonics and the Saxon math program...things you WONT find in Chandler schools outside of the CTA's. Im always entertained when I hear tales of hideous amounts of homework given to CTA children!! My son completes each night in 20 minutes or less (outside of the req'd reading). This school also offers excellent activites--Running Club, Variety Show, Spring Fling, Chess Club, etc. And the best part? My child loves going to school and misses it when were on school breaks. We're so thankful for CTA schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

There is no doubt that the traditional philosophy at CTA provides an exceptional foundation for future learning for our children. What seems to be overlooked is the myriad of extracurricular activities (most of which are volunteers from the staff) that are also offered that support their philosophy of a well rounded child. Yes, there are uniforms (saves you money), yes, there is a discipline policy that is uniformly enforced. Sure, private school student teacher ratios may be a little bit lower, but, I want my child to be prepared for the real world, where ratios are higher and the child has to be responsible, not assuming the world revolves around them or in their bubble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

I just submitted a comment giving CTA a pretty good review but I forgot to mention some things. Although CTA is a great school the teachers are forced to follow very strict teaching methods and give out alot of homework. They encourage parent involvment and are required to help out I think 4-8 hours during the school year. When parents and teachers visit a classroom, normally the person teaching is a lot more strict than they usually are when they teach due to the strict guidlines. This is still a very good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2008

This is a great school! The curriculum is very well structured and the teachers are very involved. This is a great place to start for any child who has a love of learning and wants to excell academically. We give far less credit that what children are worth it and I truly found in my son's case here at the academy. You will be amazed by the kids performance and ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2008

Feedback in the community is either parents are for it or against it (not much in between). CTA thrives on its reputation for teaching above grade level & parents love to tout its academy image (my child is better than your child syndrome). For those considering, visit several times & sit in on a classroom. It is a very rigid environment & office staff is short of genuine friendliness. For many this is not a concern. But I consider how they treat the parents. If they are cold to you, think how they are to your children (discipline & respect should be taught at home). The coursework is not too hard, just requires commitment of time. Students/teachers are under pressure. We switched and now our kids love school, are still testing above grade level, and have better self esteems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

We love the caring teachers, accelerated curriculum and involved parents at CTA Independence. I'm amazed at how much my children are learning at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

We have attended CTA for two years and our kids love their school. We couldn't be happier with the education, the teachers, staff and principal, our kids are also becoming very disciplined with themselves, learning responsibility, learning to respect others, gaining self confidence. These are all very important tools to have for later in life. My kids are very creative and love Art Masterpiece, Music, and Reading programs, over all our kids are getting a well rounded education and they are giving it 100% because they like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

My child has been at CTA Independence for two years. While I am happy with where my child is at academically, there are many things I don't like about this school. There is a very strict and rigid atmosphere. My child does not like to go to school. They spend an inordinate amount of time at their desks doing worksheets, even in the lower grades. There is very little creativity, and very few fun activities. There is a ridiculous amount of homework, even in the lower grades, which makes it difficult to pursue extracurricular activities. On the positive side, there are high expectations. All classes within a grade level teach the exact same thing. We had a very bad experience with our teacher this year, but I know there are some great teachers. We are currently looking for a school that provides a more well-rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

Our kids switch from a standard Chandler public school last year and have just completed their second your what a difference. CTA is actually teaching our children not just baby sitting them. The staff is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

My son and we love this school very very much! This school expects highly of the kids and they get them because of the positive reinforcement that they receive from their teachers and the confidence that they grow as they learn. We personally do not see anything wrong with expecting our children to do well and having their minds stretched. For the two years we've been here, I haven't personally seen any sad kids in this school. I'm sure there are a few, but I'm also sure it's in the minority. Most of the kids I see everyday are just happy, confident children who are being trained to meet their potentials and grow their characters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

my son learned more here in three months than he learned in a year in the CA schools!! The staff is helpful and caring to all the needs of the children!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

True this school is highly academic and structured. Good for the advanced child but not so sure for an average child. Good teacher to student ratio. Academics are important but school lacks focus on the whole child (emotional and physical development). Would be A+ if they weren't so intense and let the kids be kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

This school is a wonderful school. I highly suggest young students come. They will learn alot in a matter of fun time. I go there and I absolutely love it because my grades are better and it is much more challenging. CTA -Independence will absolutely be loved. Try it before you judge it. Please.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2007

As each day passes, I am even more grateful to the wonderful staff, teachers and parents of this school. My son grows in not only the educational arena but his confidence level is continuously raised because of the positive and disciplined teaching methods that this is based on. The environment is safe, the culture is enriching and his kindergarten teacher and principal are all there to support a child's growth. I feel very lucky to be able to send my child to CTA Independence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

Excellent school in all areas. My son completed kindergarten here and is now in first grade learning at a second grade level. Could not be happier with the education he has received so early on. Teachers, principal and rest of staff are wonderful with these kids. I am so glad I chose this school for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

Outstanding school and principal! My son learned and advanced more in third grade at CTA-Indepedence than he did in first and second grade combined at Basha. He loves his school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 3%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:35 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Florence Swanson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 224-2720

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1405 W. Lake Dr.
Chandler, AZ 85248
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 224-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Casa del Nino
Chandler, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT