Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 19, 2016
- a parent
First of all they care only about students who are academically strong and fits the description of best student. They have no intention or willingness to help struggling kids or kids coming from different cultures. This is our home school and the teacher and I am NOT HAPPY with what I have seen at school.

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 18, 2016
- a parent
This school gives up on students who are struggling. Where is the persistence??? I wonder.


Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 18, 2016
- a parent
I am not adequately qualified to answer this question since my kid is going to school here for under a month.

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Borin you are awesome. Under your care our daughter was able to bloom beyond our expectation.

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 5

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
This is a great school. I never post any review on anything but I was compelled to do so in this case. Mrs. Borin for the 1st grade has been the best teacher you can imagine. She is living, caring and extremely attentive to the needs of the kids. My daughter had trouble adjusting to the strongly structured curriculum but Mrs. Borin helped her totally go over those issues to the point she got Principal's award for every quarter in her 1st-grade class for academic success. We couldn't have any happier with the school.


Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 3

Posted November 16, 2014
- a parent
Hahaha it's quite obvious the staff is responding, give me a break who said anything about "sons"? Yeah, maybe you should do a better job of trying to be discreet. This doesn't surprise me, sloppy front staff and a principal who runs and hides behind problems. Not every school is perfect. Vanderpol is a great teacher never said she wasn't, the fact the school can't take feedback also says alot. Keep entertaining yourselves on here! Carry on as you were!

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school with hard working teachers. Ms. Vanderpol being one of dedicated teachers. Like all communication , it takes at least two people. From my experience, she is a great communicator. I stay involved my my son's education, take the time to know the staff, and support the curriculum at home too. Considering that parents have a choice in schools, I will continually support this school, especially his teacher, by being a part of his education.

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
Love CTA Independence! Confused by the complaint about teachers, office staff, and the school regarding communication. The strangest part was about and their sons bus accident since CTA Independence does NOT and never has offered bussing. Miss VanderPol is an outstanding teacher in my opinion. She is disciplined but fun and the kids love her. If you didn't get a response from an email then look into other causes before blaming a teacher. Miss VanderPol and the entire Kindergarten staff are simply fantastic. My kinder is reading, writing, doing addition, subtraction, and is respectful of other students as well as the staff. The curriculum cannot be beat. The entire staff from the front desk to the janitorial staff, is outstanding. My only complaint , and this is a new complaint, is a decline in parent involvement. There is a requirement of 5 volunteer hours minimum each year but parents seem to be forgetting. Not sure why this has changed but it's a shame. This is definitely a 5 star school-people sleeping out on the street for 4 days to get in must mean they're doing a lot of things right:)


Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 4

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
Great teachers and my child love here. Only bad thing here is drop off/ pick up traffic. Some of the parents totally ignore school rule and park at apartment entry way ( really bad sometimes and residence having hard time getting in and out ). Other than that it's great school.

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 1

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
bad experience from this school' s teacher and principal. Teacher doesn't want to make efforts with the kids who needs help and also not nice to them.

Nearby schools

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence
1405 W. Lake Dr., Chandler, AZ  85248
(480) 224-2700
Last modified Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top