Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Borin you are awesome. Under your care our daughter was able to bloom beyond our expectation.

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 5

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
This is a great school. I never post any review on anything but I was compelled to do so in this case. Mrs. Borin for the 1st grade has been the best teacher you can imagine. She is living, caring and extremely attentive to the needs of the kids. My daughter had trouble adjusting to the strongly structured curriculum but Mrs. Borin helped her totally go over those issues to the point she got Principal's award for every quarter in her 1st-grade class for academic success. We couldn't have any happier with the school.


Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 3

Posted November 16, 2014
- a parent
Hahaha it's quite obvious the staff is responding, give me a break who said anything about "sons"? Yeah, maybe you should do a better job of trying to be discreet. This doesn't surprise me, sloppy front staff and a principal who runs and hides behind problems. Not every school is perfect. Vanderpol is a great teacher never said she wasn't, the fact the school can't take feedback also says alot. Keep entertaining yourselves on here! Carry on as you were!

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school with hard working teachers. Ms. Vanderpol being one of dedicated teachers. Like all communication , it takes at least two people. From my experience, she is a great communicator. I stay involved my my son's education, take the time to know the staff, and support the curriculum at home too. Considering that parents have a choice in schools, I will continually support this school, especially his teacher, by being a part of his education.

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
Love CTA Independence! Confused by the complaint about teachers, office staff, and the school regarding communication. The strangest part was about and their sons bus accident since CTA Independence does NOT and never has offered bussing. Miss VanderPol is an outstanding teacher in my opinion. She is disciplined but fun and the kids love her. If you didn't get a response from an email then look into other causes before blaming a teacher. Miss VanderPol and the entire Kindergarten staff are simply fantastic. My kinder is reading, writing, doing addition, subtraction, and is respectful of other students as well as the staff. The curriculum cannot be beat. The entire staff from the front desk to the janitorial staff, is outstanding. My only complaint , and this is a new complaint, is a decline in parent involvement. There is a requirement of 5 volunteer hours minimum each year but parents seem to be forgetting. Not sure why this has changed but it's a shame. This is definitely a 5 star school-people sleeping out on the street for 4 days to get in must mean they're doing a lot of things right:)


Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 4

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
Great teachers and my child love here. Only bad thing here is drop off/ pick up traffic. Some of the parents totally ignore school rule and park at apartment entry way ( really bad sometimes and residence having hard time getting in and out ). Other than that it's great school.

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 1

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
bad experience from this school' s teacher and principal. Teacher doesn't want to make efforts with the kids who needs help and also not nice to them.

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
With so many terrible schools around, we made sure to do our research for our children. This school has all the things that make it great for an elementary school. It fosters a warm, caring learning environment, it provides rules for children to follow (which they need at this stage), it has awesome teachers, the principal sets a good tone, it emphasizes parent participation at least with their child's daily homework, and it actually teaches the basics of math, english,etc for a good foundation for adulthood. We wanted our children to attend a public school that allowed them to learn and grow without having to deal with bullies, what to wear, etc. We know that there is no perfect school, but this school allows us peace of mind. That is all that a parent can ask for!


Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
Love CTA- Independence!! Great school all around. Came to CTA from a private school and I have to say I am very impressed by the school morale, dedicated teachers, academics and parent involvement. The principal does a great job managing the school and is very involved in day to day activities. There is great communication with parents. Five stars!!!

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
We absolutely love this school... Homework is a bit much but I believe all the hard work will pay off in the long run...

Nearby schools

Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence
1405 W. Lake Dr., Chandler, AZ  85248
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (480) 224-2700
Last modified Chandler Traditional Academy - Independence is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top