Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Christian Academy

Private | PK-6 | 40 students

We are best known for academic standards.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Chandler

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $245,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2012

My children have attended Montessori Christian Academy for several years and we couldn't be happier with the school and the progress our children have made. They are learning to be responsible for themselves, reading and writing in cursive, learning world geography and cultures, growing vegetables, cooking, taking care of animals, attending weekly children's worship (atrium), and doing advanced mathematics...just to give a few examples. The school is AMI certified, and the teachers are so knowledgeable, patient, kind and dedicated to the children and the school. We have met many great families through the school, and our children have made lasting friendships. We really believe that Montessori Christian Academy is instilling a lifelong love of learning in our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

It is evident that Mark and Jennifer are dedicated Montessori teachers. My child enjoys school and have learned reading, writing and math since he started a couple of years ago. The school puts forth great effort to offer many family activities such as the international lunch, ice cream social, picnic, Christmas celebration and Easter breakfast, as well as parent education events. Our family makes every effort to attend these activities; they are fun and also a wonderful way to meet other families. My younger one looks forward to starting "school" since he has been there many times for activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

My children have attended Montessori Christian Academy for several years. We love the school and Mark and Jennifer the teachers and owners are very passionate about learning. Most of all, my children LOVE going to school. They are inquisitive and eager to learn and are always exposed to new learning opportunities and are happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

This is a true AMI certified Montessori school. After two years at an AMS Montessori school, my son was unhappy and frustrated at school. After switching to Montessori Christian Academy, he overnight loved school, is learning twice as fast, and is so happy to be at school. The teachers are extremely knowledgeable and patient and are very good at earning respect in a kind way. I can't believe our 4 year old is reading complex words and sentences and doing addition already! They grow vegetables, cook, take care of animals...it is Montessori at it's best. It has definitely helped our son and our daughter has just started too and loves it! I would highly recommend the school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

This is an AMI certified Montessori school and one of the few in Chandler, AZ. We have been happy with this school since our son started over 2 years ago. Though we are adjusting to the Montessori way, we have seen our son progress since the beginning and he can now read, write, do additions and more and he's not even 5. He is happy to go to school everyday and it is a wonderful feeling. It is a small school with a family feel community and every parent we've met have been very supportive. It is located in a cute little blue house and has a huge backyard where the kids can play. They can plant vegetables and work outside. What we really like is they teach the kids how to be independent - setting their own table for lunch and clean up and wash up afterwards. The kids use glassware for eating and drinking and prepare snacks for the class. This is the only school that I know of that let the children cook in the kitchen. We are excited to have our daughter join her brother this school year and look forward to more accomplishments. Check out the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

You can spot MCA kids a mile away!! :) I have two children at this school, and have been absolutely impressed by the quality of the program at MCA. The results are absolutely mind boggling- I cannot believe they have my Kindergartener doing multiplication! Beyond my expectations, thats for sure. The best part is, she doesn't even think she's learning- she thinks its all really, really fun. I couldn't ask for more! The life skills that this *traditional* montessori teaches are AMAZING. Beyond the traditional 'schoolwork' (reading/writing/etc), these kids grow their own garden, tend to their own chickens, rabbits, etc, and set a full table each and every meal (complete with glass glasses (no, not plastic!), silver, cloth napkins, and a candle. They prep their own food, clean their own dishes... its great. ALSO... just added bonus... Mrs. Richards was a professional ballerina before becoming a teacher- the ballet classes through MCA are FABULOUS! I'll wrap this up, but the gist of this is, I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

This Montessori school is true to its Montessori roots. The school is neslted on an acre of land and follows Dr. Montessori's teachings and philosphy down to the core. I have had 2 chilren in this school for the last 5 years and it is truely a blessing to see not only the academics that Montessori teaches but the life skills and the simple joy of loving life and feeling it, touching it and experiencing it in every moment. That is what a true Montessori school does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

We have attended this school for preschooler for approximately six years. Mrs. Richards ability to relate and motivate her children is amazing. she is the most phenomenal preschool teacher I have ever met.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Christian Fellowship Outstanding School (2009)
  • Montessori Parents Choice Award (2007)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mark Richards
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Non Denominational
Associations
  • AMI
Fax number
  • (866) 636-4394

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Social justice
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Garden
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Tax credits
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12605 East Chandler Heights Road
Chandler, AZ 85249
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 802-1445

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT