Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Anna Marie Jacobson  Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to Mrs. Lori Peters! A wonderful teacher who communicates well with parents, loves her students, and is wonderful at helping children progress to achieve higher goals and standards for themselves! My daughter loves her so much she accidentally called her mom!!

Anna Marie Jacobson  Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
From the wonderful people in the administrative office to the wonderful teachers we've been so lucky to experience to beyond the bell after school program, I couldn't be more pleased to have my children attending Jacobson!


Anna Marie Jacobson  Elementary School 1

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
She has favorites. Clearly any child with special needs is ridiculed in front of the class. She has called my son "a liar" and worse. He has developed tics in just this school year due to her mean and passive agressive manners. I am filing a complaint with superintendant as soon as school year is over (i am afraid she will take it out on him if I do it beforehand).

Anna Marie Jacobson  Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
Toni Stevenson. If it wasn't for her, there would be no Art or Space Explorers! Period.

Anna Marie Jacobson  Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
Butler (6th) is by far the worst "teacher" I have ever come across. She has favorites. She is a snob to parents and has actually emailed me "I don't tell you how to parent, don't tell me how to teach" when I insisted she do something on my son's 504 plan. It was plain crazy.


Anna Marie Jacobson  Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
See the "bulling" notes.... It is pretty bad :( stuff like this NEVER would happen at Tarwater!

Anna Marie Jacobson  Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
My son was never bullied so much as this past school year at Jacobson. My child has special needs and kids make "buck teeth" faces at him and make fun of him constantly. I do not know which is more mean, the boys or the teachers/administration who let this happen/do not do anything to stop it. Heartbreaking.

Anna Marie Jacobson  Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
She has favorites. Clearly any child with supecial needs is ridiculed in front of the class. She has called my son "a liar" and worse. He has developed tics in just this school year due to her mean and passive agressive manners. I am filing a complaint with superintendant as soon as school year is over (i am afraid she will take it out on him if I do it beforehand).


Anna Marie Jacobson  Elementary School 1

Posted December 30, 2015
- a parent
Positive until 6th grade Butler. She made my daughter afraid to go to school.... No problems until Butler.

Anna Marie Jacobson  Elementary School 4

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
My Daughter attended Jacobson from Kindergarten and just finished 6th grade. She has had some good teachers, ok ones (who thankfully retired) and a few awesome teachers during this time. The former Principle -Mrs Weed was great, - the new one, not impressed at all. The Orchestra teacher is awesome - my daughter loved her. And Mr Zarnick, her 5th grade teacher was the best! I highly recommend you do anything you can to have your 5th grader in his class. He was excellent in the academic part - but really challenged them in Life Skills - which really is not done now a days...He is amazing and really should be listed as one of - if not the best teacher in this school!! The school work is challenging for some kids. My daughter was in the highest Math and Language Arts which helped her test into Honors Math and Language Arts for Jr High. Hoping that will continue to be good for her. My daughter did say that the CATS (gifted) kids typically were the snobby ones and made sure the regular kids knew they "were beneath them". And of course there were the "mean" girls which seemed much more prevalent in 6th grade because there is nothing more important than "teasing" or making sure people feel like outcasts. Just make sure you talk to your kid, and always be there for the day when they do break down and the "words" do hurt. My daughter had her breaking point - we talked and she came away stronger and with a much more "I really don't care what you say or think" attitude to these mean girls. She does have some great friends - they have each others backs and are very sweet and kind. I am grateful she has them as they continue on to Jr High - they have taught her the true meaning of friendship. It's been a good 6 years - now off to Bogle Jr High and I have high hopes my daughter will continue to excel.

Nearby schools

Anna Marie Jacobson  Elementary School
1515 NW Jacaranda Parkway, Chandler, AZ  85248
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. (480) 883-4100
Last modified Anna Marie Jacobson  Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top