Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bogle Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2010

Overall Wonderful school. To say the least. Though there's some teachers, who really need to start paying attention to some students who need the help. I for one am a new student here at bogle and I am very happy to go to a school where no students is rude to one-another. Very friendly. But the teachers need to step it up on teaching. Instead of sitting on their computers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2010

I love this school!!! Mr. O'hara is a beast!! He is really nice and i love the way he teaches. He connects with everyone. Bogle is a clean, awesome school!! Everyone needs to come.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2009

Second year my child has attended this school. 8th grade teachers are much better than 7th grade teachers. Administration questionable at best. I find the school a disappointment coming from Jacobson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

This is a great school with excellent teachers, staff, and administration. It is a priviledge to work here. Everyone goes above and beyond the norm and this carries through to the students. Even the janitors are outstanding and efficient! This school is superior in every way!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 25, 2009

This School is Awesome! They Hav Great Staff Mrs. Ifflander Is One Of The Best Teachers That Work There She Helps The Students With Anything and Everything! Defenitly Best School In AZ!


Posted February 11, 2009

I have been extremely pleasantly surprised with Bogle. I have an unmotivated student who was really difficult to stay on top of in the elementary grades. I am happy to say that i know more now about what is going on in school and have much better communication with teachers than I ever had in elementary school. Kudo's to Bogle and shame on you to elementary school. Bogle teachers so far are really on the ball.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

My child loves it! It has turned his life around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

There is nothing that I can honestly say that was decent my sons year here. The school doesnt want to deal with any issues students may have with each other or teachers. The adminstration ignores problems amoung students and sends them all to ISS. And if you need an IEP on your child good luck!! Special services are lacked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

We have been thrilled with Bogle, from the administration to all of the wonderful caring teachers. The transition from elementary school was a no-brainer for our son (or us) because of the exemplary staff at Bogle! Academics are a definate A+, as are all of the available sport programs, and clubs and activities after school. I was so happy to be welcomed with open arms to volunteer in whatever capacity they still need help at at this level. Go Bulldogs! We are proud to be part of this wonderful family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

Excellent school from administration, teaching staff, and support staff. I am proud to have my children attend this school and they love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

This school is definitely goaled toward success, and you can see that they have definitely tried harder in the last few years. Kids say they have been pushed to their goals and have had better school experiences than any other grade they've been in. The teachers here really focus on trying your best and always set high goals for the students to reach. And when they do, they thrive. Its amazing to see what has happened. Each teacher has great enthusiasm and as long as your child works hard to, you'll see this school's beauty. And to the people who rated the school low sayin their kids were smarter in 6th grade until they went to Bogle, maybe their 6th grade teacher didn't prep them well enough, because I'm most positive Bogle isn't like that. They will push your student but only for the better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2006

My son attended Bogle for 7th grade - he has thrived academically and socially. All of his teachers had masters degrees, cared about his progress, and were always responsive and helpful. The administrative staff was professional and caring about all the students. This is a great school! I wouldn't have my child go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

For parents with a child struggling with disciplinary issues, this school is not for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

Hi my daughter goes to this school too, and I DISAGREE with the bad comments. I don't know what teachers your daughter or son has been in but my daughter s teachers such as Mz.Chappell, Mrs.Knott <(her favorite teacher) Mr. hendricson and Mr. Durham are great at what they do. Mrs. Knott does both teach them a great deal and make enjoyable ways for them to comprehend it. Mz.Chappell s teaching strategies helped my daughter with integers and now she gets it! I strongly think that for 7 Th graders coming into Jr high they will feel welcomed and gain knowledge of more intriguing things then ever. I don't know about 8th grade but I feel very confident in knowing that by daughter is being taught by such first-class teachers. All though she is leaving Bogle I still hope that people would know what a superior school this really is!Good job Bogle!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

I got to bogle jr. High and I think that it is a wonderful school. I'm learning things and rewiewing things I never thought I would get! I went to conley once and I was very confused about what they were teaching me. Now I get everything! I show great spirt for this school! Go bulldogs!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2006

I have two students that have attended Bogle, one currently. I must say that I agree with the reviews that I have read here. I have had nothing but disappointment with both the teachers (with the exception of a few) and administrators at this school. I can't wait for my child to be out of there and I will definitelty move before my next child reaches that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

This year the school did away with general student council elections, thus depriving the students of a real life lesson of the workings of politics and government.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

While my son had a few good teachers at Bogle, others were lacking the ability to work with and inspire young people. It is a shame to see smart kids exposed to bored and frustrated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

We have been really disappointed with the school administration at Bogle. There seems to be a lack of direction and policy to deal with the tremendous growth in the area. With the classes overcrowded, the teachers are overextended. The increased population also seems to have increased bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2003

I've been teaching at Bogle since the school opened in 1992. With 28 years of teaching behind me, I can say that this is a great place for kids, parents, and teachers. My colleagues work hard to help all students achieve and become involved in a variety of academic, cultural, social and personal pursuits. We care about our kids and invite participation. You can tell a lot about a school by noting how many teachers are still there at 6:00 p.m! All teachers willing tutor students in their 'spare' time, sponsor clubs w/o pay, communicate regularly with parents, and continue their professional education to continue finding effective ways to deliver the curriculum. Come and visit any time. . . you will be welcome.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

560 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

603 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

602 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Hispanic 24% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 883-5520

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1600 W. Queen Creek Road
Chandler, AZ 85248
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT