Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bogle Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 1175 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2014

My child just finished 7th grade and is looking forward to another great year at Bogle. Her Language Arts teacher Mrs. Kintz is preparing her students very well for college. Her social studies teacher Mr. Eiler's humor appealed to that age group and made learning fun. The band has been a great experience, too. When my daughter reported a bullying situation (against another child) the school took it seriously and handled it well. I am so glad my child attends this school. It has been a very good experience for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

I have a daughter who is currently an 8th grade in this school. And she loves the academic challenges being thrown at her! She is in the Honors class, and really thriving, enough to be offered an after school Math course that already teaches her 2nd year High School level Math! If she is able to pass this course, she'll be a freshman in High school, doing a 3rd year Math course. I love how supportive, and encouraging the teachers are, and the activities that they have that really challenges the students here, but really gives you that pride and honor, when you passed them with flying colors! I have another daughter just in 3rd grade, but I am looking forward for her to go to this school for her Junior High years, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

Bogle is a great school. I can assure you there is no bullying and there is a great staff. In Bogle you have fun and have great academic experiences at the same time!! Its a wonderful school! This is the one and only Jr. High our family has ever been to because its perfect everybody. Below, on, or above grade level, there is a place for everyone!!


Posted August 12, 2013

I am pleased with this school!! My daughter is loving the school and is already off to a great start and feeling confident in her classes!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

I disagree with every parent here!! I am a student and personally i think students have more of an idea of what the school is like than parents do! Parents think they know everything about the school! But truth is they don't! Everybody reading this, I just want to let you know that it isn't the parent's job to rate the school, it's the student or teacher's job! Do the parents atttend the school daily? Do parents interact with the teachers every day? Do parents get the homework that is assigned to us? Do parents really know if there's bullying? NO! Parents for your information. Bogle is the best middle school around. So parents thinking of enlisting your child here, you should kknow how amazingly wonderful Bogle is. It's clean, fun, studious, kind and very welcoming. Take my advice!


Posted January 3, 2012

I went to this school 8 years ago now. It's probably changed a lot since but I didn't fit in well to their rigid homework system and frequently would be assigned "9th Hour" (after school suspension). I was a good quite kid (in advanced classes) with some trouble at home and instead of trying to help me I was treated like a bad kid. When I transferred to Hamilton High School and college (engineering) my grades and state of mind increased greatly.


Posted December 23, 2011

I have been going here for about half a year and this school has been the greatest experience of my life! I dont give a crap what parents say about this, it is an awesome schools, and I get a good education from the teachers. I love bogle jr. high!


Posted October 17, 2011

We have had a good experience at this school. Two of our 4 kids have gone here and have had no issues with teachers, classmates or staff. They've had no complaints with the academics and have met wonderful friends there. To all those who are complaining, get involved and promote a positive environment rather than "bash" a school that is doing what it can to overcome State budget cuts. Contact our state officials that support our schools and be an encouragement to school administration, staff and teachers!! They need our praise, not our criticism!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2011

I go to Bogle and it is a really good school. The teachers are helpful and nice. All the teachers are different but they are amazing. The school is clean adn they recently won Arizona A+ award. I really love this schoool and i would'nt want to go anywhere else.


Posted May 25, 2011

We moved here from Gilbert school district and I was very glad to see the academics were challenging for him. He is finishing 7th grade with mostly A's with 1 B. He has worked very hard and enjoyed the after school programs with Bogle. The teachers have been great and expect the kids to work hard. I am very pleased so far and feel Bogle teachers have done a great job with my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

This school has some of the best 7th grade teachers, and absolutely the worst 8th grade teachers. Had i know this, I would have not allowed my child to attend. After speaking with other families, I was surprised to hear that we all are having the same problem with one or more of our teachers. I am very disappointed, and its unfortunate that these teachers be allowed to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

I am gonna go here! My friend says SAntan is better i but I really don't care! :)


Posted January 24, 2011

Whilr the facility is good, the teachers assign too much homework and give students too little gidance on how to comlete the work. They are too rigid and have little or no flexibility when it comes to working with students who do not fit into their paradigm. I am actively seeking affordable alternatives t this school for my 7th grade son and would encourage every parent to avoid this school if their child is not a cookie-cutter student and has a mind of his/her own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2010

I don't like Bogle Junior High School, i think its one of the worse schools ever. the education system is really bad and the teachers don't take enough time to teach everything. Despite the facts i think there is some great teachers after all. But some really need to step it up.


Posted November 29, 2010

We moved here from Illinois. WHAT A SHOCK!! My son is in 8th grade and for being new to the school, the teachers are less than helpful. I have talked with counselors and vice-president, no change. We are seeking private schooling!! No wonder Arizona is known for their poor schooling. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I DO NOT agree with you, or at least the school has changed a lot. The teachers are fine, and willing to help us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2010

I feel that this school did not meet all the needs for my child and the lack of communication as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

We just moved here in the fall.. My daughter likes most of the teachers but the the kids are surprisingly rude, inconsiderate, nasty, and generally not friendly. She has made straight A's but she doesn't feel like the work is challenging! I Would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

Second year my child has attended this school. 8th grade teachers are much better than 7th grade teachers. Administration questionable at best. I find the school a disappointment coming from Jacobson..... I agree!!!!!


Posted April 12, 2010

Second year my child has attended this school. 8th grade teachers are much better than 7th grade teachers. Administration questionable at best. I find the school a disappointment coming from Jacobson... Agree


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

560 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

603 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

602 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Hispanic 24% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 883-5520

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1600 W. Queen Creek Road
Chandler, AZ 85248
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT