Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chandler High School

Public | 9-12 | 3206 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

Coming from outside of AZ, I was very worried about public school here, however, Chandler High's IB program has been a wonderful experience, offering the academic rigor necessary to be successful in college, while still allowing for the extracurricular activities that colleges want to see on the student's resume. I have so far been quite impressed with the teacher's and their dedication in offering quality education. It's very reassuring to see so many of the IB students being accepted into top universities (and many with scholarships).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

I can honestly say Chandler High school is the best school I have ever been to. I have moved schools 8 times and this has been the best one. I am not sure if it is because I have matured and can handle myself better but I really believe this is a great school. I am a sophomore now and have enjoyed my high school career so far. The teachers really care about the students education. I can tell because whenever I am doing bad on something my teachers will talk to me and give me some suggestions. They are always there in the morning, at lunch, and after school to help me. I have had a fairly easy time making friends at Chandler too. The majority of the students are very kind and accepting of each other. I believe everyone is this accepting because of how diverse my school is. I have had a few problems trying to fit in. Some students simply don't want to make new friends because they have grown up with the rest. I am planning on moving states soon however I would definitely recommend this school to anyone! We also have a wonderful new principal!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2013

I went to chandler for whole year and didn't make any friends ! I'm a really easy going and fun person. So I didn't understand why the kids didn't like me.. I did however love my teachers, they were so nice and super helpful. they always would make time before or after school to help you ! It's just the students that are not whiling to get out of there cliquey moods to make new friends. Now that I'm doing chandler online I found out from my moms co workers that chandler is very snobby and very cliquey do got the fact that the kids have practically grown up together. From elementary to Middle and now high school and are not interested in making new friends .


Posted August 23, 2013

This school is amazing!!! The IB program is awesome and the faculty and staff are very attentive to the needs of the students. This school does a great job prepping the kids for college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

This used to be a terrific school, in fact I bought my house ten years ago so that my child could attend CHS. Now finishing his junior year, he is seriously considering leaving for another school for senior year. I certainly hope that the new principal will bring accountability back to the teachers instead of allowing them to avoid teaching, insult students, and ignore parents. Additionally, it would be great if the administrative team is rebuilt with individuals who treat students like people instead of incidents. All in all, I hope this school returns to greatness before the reality of the past five years catches up with and ruins its reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

This is the best high school in the Greater Phoenix Metro and Suburb area. All three of my children have attended CHS. The teachers primarily, and the IB and AP programs set this school apart from the other High Schools in the area and the state. My daughters received a great education, the teachers truly care about all the childrens progress and in my interpretation do not default to the 'no child left behind' philosophy. Of course, the child must work hard and the parents must be involved in the childs success. I recommend this school to everyone concerned about their childs future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

this has been the school my family has been going to since the 20s. I'm in the band program and it is sweeeet. we're going to fiesta bowl.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2007

This school does a magnificent job incoperating the arts and athletics to its award winnign academics. Chandler offers infinite opportunites to excel, the studnets merely has the grasp and accomplish it. However, there is very low parent involvemet, maybe its because the studnes are 'big kids' now, making it akward for parents to come and volunteer. The only time parents are apprecitated it when the check is written for the fundraiser or event of the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2007

My daughter has had some very caring teachers. They respond to e-mail concerns promptly. I even got a call from the principal once on a concern. He talked to me at length and we came up with a good solution. My daughter is in FFA. It is a very good club that teaches leadership skills, and people skills. She really enjoys it. My only regret is that she didn't make volleyball even though we thought she was good enough for at least JV. The teachers are as good as I could want. She has challenging enough classes even though she is in regular curriculum. I think she is learning a lot. She also has her choice of a lot of variety of electives which she enjoys. I wish our son would have started there. He wound up graduating from CHS and his teachers were great also. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2007

As a parent of a Chandler High Teacher, I know my daughter puts her heart and soul into educating 'Her Kids' as she calls her students. She prepared her students to take the AIMS Test even though Chandler was not chosen to participate. If she is an example of the staff, the the students are receiving an excellent education. If your child is not receiving an education at this high school, it is because he/she does want an education. This parent has been involved in several events from sports, the science fair to graduation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

Both of my boys attend CHS. Currently they are enrolled in the ROTC program and love it! I wish more students were aware of this program. It teaches them great leadership skills and they have a great time learning it as well as helping the community. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2006

I am a substitute teacher in many high schools throughout the east valley. The openness of the students at Chandler High makes it a pleasure for me to be on their campus. You will find a diverse mix of students that makes for a much more stimulating backdrop for learning. The building itself is historical and distinctive. The school s proximity to The Chandler Center for the Arts is an extra value to many Fine Arts students. I have seen skilled teachers and students working together outside of class receiving accelerated support or remedial help. I give them kudos for including reading, writing and math skills in all subjects taught. I am especially impressed with the positive atmosphere generated by their adept principal.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 8, 2006

Poor Security Policies. Unnecessary rules and regulations. Filing paperwork and talking to administrators means getting tangled in red tape and dealing with a maze of bureaucracy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

My son is a sophomore and daughter will be a freshman this fall. We are very happy with chs, and we're picky! the best thing about it is opportunity. Chs excels in academics (several levels to choose from) offers most electives and extracurricular activities a kid could want. The newly expanded campus is a wonderful mix of historical and modern facilities. Because it's such a large school, parental attention is required. Parents should not expect to hear from teachers without intiating contact, but i have found that any time i needed to reach someone (counselor or teacher) i was met with caring and action. If you're willing to advocate for your kid, opportunities abound at chs. Our experience has been mostly great teachers, a couple of duds. Again, parental involvement is key.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2005

I am a recent graduate of Chandler High. I d have to say that the administration at this school is impossible to deal with. That being said, the IB program attracts the brightest students in the state and it is a real privilege to study with come of these kids who are so gifted in so many fields. The teachers are give and take, you will probably have the best and worse teachers of your life at Chandler High, unfortunately, only the good ones tend to get fired.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 12, 2005

For a big city school, I think Chandler High is okay. I have two children currently attending, one is a special ed. student. The special ed. director is very, very good, and I am very happy with the services my son with Asperger's Syndrome receives. The teachers, in general, at Chandler High, are exceptional from what I have experienced. This is a school with pride in its history. The marching band is extremely excellent (will be in the Fiesta Bowl parade this year, Macy's parade next year). There are other excellent programs, the lacrosse team is very good. CHS has a brand new, really great swimmng pool for their swim team. Football team isn't too wonderful. There is a sizable Hispanic population at CHS. LDS Seminary available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

This school has many great opportunities for everyone. My children love this school and I recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2005

My daughter is a senior this year and I can't say enough positive things about CHS staff and their commitment to excellence. Mr. Williams leads the school with dignity and respect, and teachers are relentless in proving learning opportunities for all students. The new buildings and additional aquatic center and fields are outstanding. THANKS Chandler for giving our kids the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

Chandler High has not been a pleasant experience for our family. We have a teen with A.D.D who needed the extra attention to help her through. Even the assistance of the 504 program, we only had 2 teachers that would call us with issues. She was caught cutting school 8 times before I was notified by mail. Most of the teachers never called me about her failing grades when they should be keeping me informed regularly of her progress or lack thereof under the 504 program. I rate this school poorly for any child that might have learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

Chandler high is a well balance of ethnic students. The school has a good academic standing and is equiped to handle a large student body. Some programs are weak, like the music and fine arts department. Still the school maintains a well balanced mix of students in the economic area. The mixture of affluent residents as well as the median income level residents makes for a varied student body. The school is still growing, both in population as well as in area size. With the addition of a new gymnasium as well as a new olympic size pool in the next year, it makes for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 41% 43%
White 41% 42%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (480) 812-7720

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 N. Arizona Av.
Chandler, AZ 85225
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Intelli-School
Chandler, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT