Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chandler Traditional Academy - Goodman

Public | PK-6 | 668 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2007

My son went to this school. He became an outstanding student and excelled while there, so I can't really complain. Unfortunately, his last year was a setback there as his teacher was awful and the principal would not help and finally became down right vindictive when we complained and continued to ask for help with the situation. So I guess my advice is that it is a good school, but you'll be expected to suffer quietly through any bad staffing decisions that have been made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

This school is average. I think it could have a friendlier staff. I was not to impressed with the teachers my daughter has had in the past few years. The principle is quick to send letters but not return phone calls or get involved in parent/teacher issues. Better staff will result in better school. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

I did not experience much in the area of parent involvement with my child's Kindergarten teacher. While I did volunteer to help the children with their reading, along with other moms, there were no other opportunities to help out. I would like to see foreign language introduced before the 6th grade. Goodman does not teach any other languagaes but English.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

Goodman is a wonderful community with small class sizes and involved families. The PTO goes out of their way to provide fun activities. The teachers are great and the support staff friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2004

Since my daughter has begun preschool I've seen a dramatic improvement in her speech development. She absolutely loves going to school and I appreciate the patience and fantastic communication with the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2004

I decided since my daughter started the preschool program I would get more involved. Though her teacher communicates well through email she doesn't seem to feel comfortable with parents volunteering in the classroom. Also volunteered for a school program and was never called. Otherwise, the structure and organization seem great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2004

I decided since my daughter started the preschool program I would get more involved. Though her teacher communicates well through email she doesn't seem to feel comfortable with parents volunteering in the classroom. Also volunteered for a school program and was never called. Otherwise, the structure and organization seem great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2004

I think this is a well run, quality school. Most of the teachers are great! The parent involvement is wonderful and it is easy to get involved. There are many excellent and caring teachers and staff. Our kids have gone several years to this school and we are very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2004

This is a great school if you have an average student or a struggling student but if you have an advanced student I don't think that this is the best school. I found that the teachers tend to give most of their attention to the average and atruggling children while sending the advanced children off on their own to work on their own with learning material that is not at all challenging. I felt that my daughter was not being challenged at all and was more of an inconvenience to the teacher than anything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2003

Teachers are dedicated to their students. Unfortunately, class size is growing; my children in the lower grades have had between 24-25 students at one time; only K has an aide. The all-day kindergarten is great. Field trips have significantly decreased in the past three years. Teacher turnover has been a problem in the past few years, more than other schools in the area. The principal is overly involved in staff/teacher micromanagement. Music and p.e. teachers are excellent and innovative. If you are looking for small class size, better test scores, or if your child needs more individualized attention, you may want to consider another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2003

I have been very pleased with the overall quality of my children's education at Goodman. The teachers my kids have had have been very knowledgeable and approachable. The principal is also friendly and approachable. Parental involvment is very high allowing for lots of different activities, such as a sock hop, square dance, snow cone sales, family picnic, etc. The location of the school is ideal as it is not on any major streets.


Posted March 27, 2003

Administration communication to parents is overall poor. There are entirely too many playground incidents that are not 'reported' to parents as they should be. Academically, the school may fare well but there should never be any surprises when the report cards/progress reports or teacher conferences are held. This has happened all too often in our case. The communication seems to go from home to school and not the other way around if there is a problem.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 21% 42%
Asian 12% 3%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 W. Knox
Chandler, AZ 85224
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT