Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chandler Traditional Academy - Goodman

Public | PK-6 | 668 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2014

This school is what other schools should strive to replicate! My son has been attending this extraordinary school for 5 years and is now going into 6th grade here. Each year, he has has a teacher has strived to give him the attention that he needs to be successful. CTA Goodman focuses on parent involvement, so be prepared to dive into the homework to help your child! Semesterly, parent/teacher meetings are held to further foster parent/teacher communication. Each day, my son tells me a new story about an exciting new concept he has learned or a funny event that he witnesses. If I had to find one area for this school to focus on, I believe this would be the content of the learning. Although the content is perfectly acceptable and at grade level, I wish that something more would be offered to those who are above grade level. CTA Goodman has already instituted an advanced literary group for each grade and I wish they would create an advanced math class as well. My child quickly so I wish the program would cater more to his needs. Furthermore, this school has built my son up to be an intelligent, charming child and I definitely recommend you to allow CTA Goodman to assist your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

We enrolled out of district for the 2013-14 year. At the close of our first year @ CTA Goodman, I can say that our first grade son has progressed impressively in his reading, writing, spelling and math skills. His teacher ran a tight ship and kids all love her. Our son has already developed skills in self-discipline and an enthusiasm for learning. The principal is wonderful and clearly loves her job. We are looking forward to second grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

Excellent school! However, if you're a parent who is not involved with your child's education, this school is not for you, and you are setting your child up for failure. This school highly promotes parents/student collaboration with projects and homework. At times it feels like you are also being graded as a parent.If your child is failing in this school, it's only because you are failing your child as a parent. Some of the areas where this school excels is in Mathematics, Reading and giving your child the confidence to speak in front of a classroom by reading and reciting poems by memory. This school is getting better and better with age and I am confident that they will continue to grow and be one of the best elementary schools in the state. If I had to nitpick I would just say that they need to ramp up their extra-curricular activities (science club, robotics class, etc..), overall "A" school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

This is a great school and has very good teachers and staff . The academics are also very good. The principal is excellent and takes great care so that each kid gets the right assistance and support to achieve their potential. It is mainly focussed on Reading and Math which is great , but they should also focus a bit more on science as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

I absolutely love this school and I'm thoroughly impressed by the teachers, staff, and curriculum. My daughter is a Kindergartner and is learning faster than I ever thought was possible for a 5 year old. She has about 25-40 minutes of homework every day which can be a bit much for her at times because she gets so tired, but it's good involvement and you really get to see what they are delving into everyday. I am very happy with her teacher and the principle. They are very proactive when it comes to security at the school as well. My daughter loves her teacher, the other students, the special classes like music and PE and she looks forward to school everyday (well, almost everday!).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

My son's 2nd greade teacher, Mr. Perdue, took the time to assist my son with all of his assignments, worked at his level, quickly caught on that my son has a, let's say a slight attention issue. If he's done, he was done whether the assignment or test was complete. Mr. Perdue would look over the paper and allow a little extra time for my son to go back and finish the work. Mr. Perdue also took time over the summer to tutor my son with math to ensure he would be ready for 3rd grade. Mrs. Pfau, my son's 3rd grade teacher seems to work on the same level. From what I can tell the staff at CTA Goodman truly have the student's best interest at heart. Completely and thoroughly happy with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

My son is in kindergarten at CTA-Goodman and he is doing fantastic. His teacher is so patient and great at managing the students. By mid-way through the first semester, he was already reading whole Dr. Seuss books with little assistance. The administration is friendly and involved. You can see that they really care. This really is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

best kindergarten teachers in chandler! high expectations yet caring and thoughtful. couldn't imagine my child anywhere else! six stars out of five.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

My daughter is attending CTA Goodman for her 1st Grade. She is in Mrs. Liniger s class. As parents, we are very satisfied with the school and teachers. We can see her progress day by day. She was a trouble maker in kindergarten and the teacher complained almost every day. After she came to CTA she became a completely different one - - a straight As student loved by teachers and her classmates. My daughter made a rapid progress on discipline and self-control. With the help from Mrs. Liniger, she found her confidence back. Five 1st grade teachers work together. They are an awesome team. All the teachers in Kids Express are also wonderful. My daughter feels so happy in CTA Goodman. She kept losing weight when she was in Kindergarten and she started to gain some weight after she came to CTA Goodman. It is the best school for us. Now we are moving to Texas due to job transfer. My daughter is very sad about leaving CTA Goodman. Thanks CTA Goodman. We wish you the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

My daughter is currently attending Goodman for the fifth year. We live in Gilbert and it is a long 30-40 min drive (with traffic) daily, but we would not change it for anything. We love the school and we love the staff at Goodman. Thank you so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

My son is finishing his second year here at Goodman and I have to say I absolutely love it. We make a 20 minute drive to school twice a day and I wouldn't dream of moving to a different school (including a different CTA campus). The staff is just wonderful and the principle is the best there is. Thank you CTA-Goodman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

I've had at least one student at Goodman every year consistently for 14 years and I can tell you that this school gets finer with age. Many schools decline as they get older, but CTA Goodman has continued to bring only exceptional teachers and staff on board. Thanks to the current principal for her dedication in helping this school become a Traditional Academy. All of my children have thrived here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2010

its a great school staff is very helpful and great curriculam . They are well organised and well equipped with modern methods of teaching
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My son is just about to complete Kindergarten at Goodman, and I have been so impressed with how much he's learned. In his homework I see the foundations for higher math being laid in addition to mastery of the basics. I love the enrichment classes like music, library, computers, and PE, plus he has gone from being too scared to try to read to reading at the second grade level. He is happy and looks forward to school. I think they've given him a great start to academics that will serve him well the rest of his school career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2010

Excellent school with exceptional teachers. The principal, Mrs. Sniff, is top-notch. Goodman is a great little school with a challenging curriculum and dedicated faculty. We were recently moved out of state and if we ever get the chance to move back to Arizona, we will only look at houses in the Goodman boundaries!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

The is the 2nd year of my younger daughter in CTA Goodmand. I can see the big change from kindergarten to 1st grade. Her reading skills improves a lot. My older daughter started from the 4th grade in CTA Goodman. She loved this school, expecially her 6th grade teacher - Mr Hodges. He is awesome!! It is highly recommended exelling school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

My daughter just started Kindergarten at this school this year and she loves it. She is getting an amazing education. She is learning so much, more than I ever would have thought a 5 year old could. They teach everything in such a great progressing way that the kids learn so easily. My daughter has Ms. Smith and she is the absolute BEST teacher! They just increased their rating this year to EXCELLING too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

My daughter attends this school and loves it so much. Her teacher Miss Bors is the best preschool teacher that I know of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

My son attends this school and since the change to CTA we have been very unhappy. It seems like the school has to hire new teachers every year because they can't keep the ones the have. The kids last year (06)were like lab rats learing the new curriculum. Dont even get me started on the Office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

Both of my children attend this school. I have had nothing but very positive experiences with the staff. The teachers are excellent and always willing to address the needs of the children. The traditional academy challenges the children academically and the expectations are high. I would definately recommend this school to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 3%
Black 7% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (480) 812-6920

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 W. Knox
Chandler, AZ 85224
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT