Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Paragon Science Academy Elementary School

Charter | K-6 | 216 students

Our school focuses on STEM education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Chandler

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $114,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2010

i think i made a mistake sending my child here. He has been doing striaght A's and E's - i dont' think the material he gets is very challenging or builds appropraitely - a lot of meaningless busy work over and over - spelling and grammar ar entirely parent taught at home with 8 pgs of hw / a week for both plus 2 pages of math everyday - the cons repetition of the same stuff has caused him to lose curiosity or play with numbers he once had for math and science. i alsothink the teacher and classroom discipline is not satisfactory as i think the teachers have little experince or edu on child dev - Kyrene requires at elast a masters and 5+ yrs exp... i might try that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

I am starting to think I made a mistake by sending my child to this school. Yes, the school is very focused on academics but the management is extremely poor. Ever since Daisy Education left, this place has been a joke. The website always shows old information. Extremely poor management and no commincation with parents. You will have to call or email to find anything. They are always late when it comes to sending out information. No school buses so no field trips. If this continues I will have to pull out my child from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

Paragon Science Academy is a great school with a high focus on academics. My son attended Chandler Public Schools for K-3 and I have see a huge improvement since enrolling him. He loves the afterschool clubs that they offer, and has made lots of friends. The teachers are wonderful, and have established a great system of communication with the parents. I do have to say the communication from the administration is lacking. It seems that things take forever to get done, or its done last minute.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2009

Great school with a high focus on academics. My daughter attended a Gilbert public school for Kindergarten and has been at Paragon for her 1st grade year and has shown vast improvement. The ratio of student to teacher is relatively comparable yet some how the performance at paragon is outstanding! My daughter used to complain regularly about being in school when in Gilbert and now I rarely hear her mention her lack of interest. They really challenge the students because I believe they understand more of their capabilities. I feel extremely fortunate to have it recommended to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

My child loves this school and can wait to go each day. He is involve in clubs and they inspire him to want to excel even more! The fun events he loves as well. Top ratings in learning and grades too. Better than the private school we were attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

My children attended this school last year. We did not return this year because we felt this school did a poor job of encouraging academic excellence and character development. The school stresses quantity over quality in both the homework and classwork assigned. The school has good test scores - but this could be due to the fact that the school spent two solid weeks (every class period) prior to the AIMS test reviewing for the test and taking practice AIMS tests. This is not a school that promotes higher thinking and a love of learning. It is a school more interested in its test scores than the sucess of the individual student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

This is the first year that we have our kid go to this school.School academics are excellent.They have after school free tutoring for individual needs.My kid loves after school clubs.They have yoga in after school club.This is one of the healthiest choice I think is wonderful for kids to learn at this age.My kid loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

This is the second year that we have had our children attending Paragon. The school is very specialized and individualized! The gifted program has challenged the children to find different ways of thinking and to be more creative. Beside math, English, social study and science, the regular curriculum also includes computer lab, art, PE, and music. The FREE after school clubs is an excellent program. It covers from sports (soccer) to art (drawing, sculpture, drama) to little kids favorite clubs to do (dance, Lego, puzzle, K nex, monopoly, games, sewing, chess ) to the challenge academic (spelling bee, geography, blender, yearbook, Spanish, Turkish, Ebru, Simcity). Each student is allowed to have two free clubs after school. This is the fastest way for new kids to make friends. It s true that the school is more intense academically (more homework) but the children love it. They learn and have fun at the same time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

its a great school we love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

Entering into it's second year, Paragon is living up to our expectations for education! They have increased enrollment, implemented a gifted program, and hired teachers who seem enthusiastic and ready to teach. Curriculum is intense if your child can handle it, advanced if that is where they are placed, and every parent I have spoken with feels their children excelled in academics last year. Administration needs some work, the front office is difficult at times. The principal is very fair and dedicated to improving the school. It's a friendly school, kids accept other kids easily, seems everyone gets along well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

I had three children attending Paragon last school year. We chose Paragon bassed on the low student-teacher ratios (about 22 students per class) and their emphasis on math an science. We were very dissapointed with the science program. My middle school students had little to no hands on lab time - lessons were taught only from the text book. While the math program is 'a year ahead' of the public schools it really only means that the 1st graders and using a 2nd grade text book, the 2nd graders are using a 3rd grade text book, etc. As other parents have stated, there is quite a bit of homework assigned (in the elementary grades) but I found that very little of it was meaningful. When I spoke with the teacher about this I was informed that the administration required this as a measure of the teacher's success. Very dissapointing overall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

I have 2 children who attended PSA last year, one in 3rd grade and one in 6th grade(middle school). The education each of my children received was better than any private school we have sent them to. The teachers challenged our children in all subject areas and exceeded our expectations in math and science. We have been involved in start up schools before and were a little apprehensive. But, every issue I personally brought to a teacher or the administration was dealt with fairly and in a timely manner. We enrolled, of course, for the next year and look forward to an even better year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

very good school, much better than public schools, we will return next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Both of my children attended Paragon last year. One child was in Kindergarten and the other was in 3rd grade. Both children learned an incredible amount! I was/am very pleased with their academic successes. While some of the new school kinks need to be worked out, the academics are outstanding. I was also very pleased with the teachers we had. We are definitely re-enrolled and will be attending in the upcoming year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

Paragon Science Academy has done a great job of working through first year jitters. I attribute the 'good job' to teachers and staff working their butts off... the administration was inattentive at best. More time given to developing school processes would have been helpful. It took almost the entire year for the disciplinary system to be ironed out & forget seeing updated grades on the parentsdirect website. That being said, the academic structure at PSA is phenomenal with emphasis placed on math and science. There is a good sense of community, they work around parents schedules for meetings etc., and they work hard to keep both parents and children involved. Don t let the poor review fool you; PSA expects the best out of you and your children. This is not the place for families unable (or unwilling) to dedicate effort and time. My children will definitely be coming back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

My children will not be returning. Communication is lacking, for a school that emphasis is on technology...it's far from it. Favoritism is very apparent. Administration needs to reconsider some of the teachers, make sure they hire someone with actual experience in teaching not just assigning homework!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

my children have attended this school and they do not give the children a chance to grasp a concept - they give them way to much homework my 3rd grade can easily have 2 hrs of homework - no time for after school activities - you can completely forget about sports - they also are to focused on pointing out the negative about your child rather than focusing on helping them and giving them successes my children will not be returning - also the administration has changed 3 times since school started - no consistency
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • This school did not receive a designation in 2010-2011.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Selim Tanyeri
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 814-1661

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • Our school is a learning community where teachers, staff, and parents actively partner for student success and diversity is embraced. Students are appropriately challenged, through skill-level assessment and placement, and individualized attention. Data-driven instruction is focused on individual student growth, while a well-rounded, comprehensive curriculum and holistic approach to intellectual growth meshes challenging academics with extra-curricular enrichment and social responsibility.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2975 West Linda Lane
Chandler, AZ 85224
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 814-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT