Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

BASIS Chandler

Charter | 5-12 | 690 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Chandler

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2014

This is an excellent school if you have smart hard working children. If your kids are in public school, getting a B grade and you enroll them in this school with the hope that they will improve, you will be in for a major disappointment. The quality of the teachers runs the range from brilliant to pathetic. There are teachers whose knowledge is leaps and bounds above that of the general public school teachers and at the same time there is a science teacher who barely speaks English. On the positive side, the school pays for all AP exams and trains the students well for those exams. On the negative side, there is no serious effort made to help struggling kids, with some teachers even being condescending to the under achievers. If your child is academically gifted and can put in long hours EVERY DAY for homework and test preparation, this school is ideal for them. If your child is laid-back, fairly good at studies and is into sports, look for alternatives. Be forewarned that for students to succeed in this school, parents have to devote a considerable amount of time with their kids each day, Finally, the school building is small, there is no nurse, no library and no cafeteria.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Absolutely brilliant school!!! I have a son and a daughter going to this school and they both love it ! My daughter was so excited when she heard that the fifth grade was going to have six field trips. She loves her classes and always learns new things daily . My son isn't having as good of a time because he is two grades higher than her. Even though the home work load is immense and he doesn't go to bed till 11:00 , he is making his future better . I hope this school stays open for many years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Disappointed that I have to assign even one star. This school needs to close. - Parents are encouraged to give a minimum of $1500 per student to go into a teachers fund with the idea of holding onto good teachers. The first year they raised over 300k, but when we returned for year two, half the teachers were gone but where was the $300,000 raised!? The second year they raised over $250,000. We left b/c child was entering 9th grade & wasn't going there. - teachers barely speak english, especially the Mandarin teacher -Made Good Friday a required day because they forgot to give the Indian population their holiday off! -"Teachers are professionals that don't know how to TEACH!" -Very hot in the school, Very crowded. They have the kids line up to take turns going down hallways! -Had counselors teaching classes because had teachers quit and no one to teach! Also, had to have class in an office because no room! -Regularly have kids go to nearby parks for "PE" in 100+ temps, they walk and cross busy street -Have no lunch room, students must pack - No library -Feels like they make up rules on the fly -"Teacher" punished child by making stand in corner! -CREDITS DON'T TRANSFER!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

Responding to the parent who complained about the school relying on the parents to make sure the kid completes the work effectively: these days parental involvement is necessary at all schools. My kids came from a public school that only provided challenge for above average students if they scored unreasonably high. All other students were stuck in the regular classroom with no ladder to excellence. It was up to the parents to provide that ladder to help the kid score high enough for accelerated programs but then the teachers wouldn't let the kid complete the work as the parent taught them. I would rather be in a school where I have to help my kid keep up with excellence versus one in which I have to help them battle mediocrity. BASIS is about keeping up with excellence. It requires commitment and discipline. Something our society sadly lacks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

My 10th grade son is now in his second year at BASIS. BASIS is very focused on students who want be successful at the college level. To be successful in the BASIS college prep environment, students need to be organized, focused, and responsible. Students who want to coast through HS will not be successful here. The BASIS formula seems to work very well and has the following components: 1. Like college, students have independent homework and study. 2. Students are required to learn all the material in a given class. Exams are cumulative and are important. 3. Teachers all were good students themselves and all have relevant degrees (often advanced degrees) in their respective subjects. 4. Most classes are taught at a college level and numerous AP exams (also used for class grade) are required. 5. Students are given as much attention and assistance as they request. Teachers are very available. 6. Students who do not do the work and who do not learn the material will not advance to the next grade. Only serious students stay at BASIS for very long. 7. BASIS students are years ahead of most students by HS. Moving to BASIS after the 5th grade may be difficult for some students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

The school is popular among Indian families because it emphasizes the same tough protocols that schools in India embrace. In India, students attend half day sessions. Then they undergo private tutoring sessions called "tuitions." Then they spend the rest of their day doing homework with the aid of their private tutor and parent. The teaching responsibilities are placed upon the parents. Basis adopts a similar method. Students are assigned hours of homework daily. Parents are responsible for ensuring the homework is completed. Parents will often hire private tutors or send their children to Kumon to "supplement" the teaching. There is little in the way of actual teaching in the classroom. Proponents would argue that Basis students are not spoon fed information.This method of schooling will always be popular with some parents. It instills discipline and independence. Opponents would argue that it takes little talent to be able to assign a lot of homework and would question the quality of teaching that is taking place. My definition of an excellent school is one that provides great teaching, and not one that serves as a task master.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

I love this school! I have 2 kids going to BASIS since they first started. Like all new schools, there are kinks that needed to be worked out. But BASIS Chandler has done a tremendous job of engaging the kids and challenging them. My kids are very proud of their school, and they love to talk about what they learn. At the end of the day, that all that matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

The school is a great school overall. I agree with the frustration of one science teacher in particular that is not able to communicate with the students and it is reflected in the grades. My child has lost interest and hope in that subject. I have faith that the school will remedy the situation and hire someone that has the enthusiasm and love for the subject that will inspire the kids like they have in other subjects. There are some really great teachers at BASIS and they make learning fun. I am so impressed at the amount of knowledge that my child has been able to retain. At BASIS, because of pre comps and comps they have to retain whatever they learn for the long-term. After reading the reviews, I do hope that bullying situations will be addressed and remedied. Most kids may not report it. My child was bullied but stood up for himself and is now friends with his bully. I didn't know until after the fact. I hope the school stresses respects for others and that bullying is not tolerated. Character and integrity are important and should be taught along with academics to distinguish BASIS as the best school in the nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

My wife and I generally like basis, especially last acedemic year. They had a change in principals and a few teachers as they now have a teacher who is very difficult for adunts, let alone young children and she's teaching the sceinces. The teachers are very interested in their subjects and that helps. Homewrok take my oldest about 2 hrs a day, he gets an avweage of B's, which is pretty good for basis. Sports is severly lacking(Basketball), but you can go to your "assigned" public school and join their sports theam that basis doesn't have (i.e. MOST!). There is some bullying, but in the lower grades Ms. Smith deals with it prompty, she is the one to go to for bullying. As for the diversity, well... 55% are Indian, about 25% asian (Chinese, etc.), about 3% Hispanic, 1% African (from Africa as well as US African Americans), the rest casucasian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

Insensitive and thick skinned? Really? My child is opposite all that and yet he's excelling because he gets his work done and is responsible. Please don't generalize about what type of kids can't succeed here. You sound ridiculous and bitter. Improvements can be made at the school but when compared to other schools in the Chandler area, this school is one of the better options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

quality of education is good. very chaotic during registration, parents and students were sweating and complaining because no aircon that time. they let students walk to a community park located at the other side of the road in a 3 digit temp, and when they came back, you can smell the stinky body odor of the students in the entire hallway.small school and gym for 500 (or more) students.AC is low during summer.


Posted February 7, 2013

This school has excellent academic programs for students. It's definitely not easy expecially when your kids came from public schools with minimal expectations. This school is not for every child nor is it for parents who are not involve with their kids' education. Parents who complain about their kids having too much homework should really consider taking their kids somewhere else. What will your kids do when they go to universities where they will be competing with other kids from China, India, Europe, and top of their classes in US High School. My take is, 50% of the US High School kids may be going college, may be half of that 50% will go to a 2 year community colleges. So, 25% go to a 4 year university, not all of them will graduate because they will not be able to compete with other kids. If you are complaining that Basis is too hard, please go to another school so that other kids who are on the waitlist may take the available spots for better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

I was appalled at the school's administration at BASIS Chandler. When my son was bullied, they turned the other way. But, what do you expect from a charter school in Arizona? We were so excited to have him get into a school with such a high rating and rigorous acedemic curriculum. He did not have a problem with that, even having to stay up until midnight on a regular basis to complete homework (!). In fact, he was excited about the subjects he took but, after the severe bullying episodeS (yes, more than one time with more than one kid) and no support from the administration, we had to remove him and put him back into public school. Now, THAT was the best thing we could have done for him. Thank God for good public schools in our area! Live and learn...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

As a student, I thought coming to BASIS would be challenging and the teachers would be well trained it their subjects. Well, I was right. It is impossible to finish homework before midnight. The teachers are also well prepared in their subjects, too bad that some of them don't speak well enough English to let us learn. And the teachers that do understand English don't even teach half the time.


Posted November 16, 2012

This school is has proven to be "we will burn you out" type tough. Teachers are not all amazing...some are clueless about how to teach. They put so much pressure on the kids that the kids reach breaking points. None of the students can get done with homeworks and tests before mid night. If you miss a day sue to illness, you will get yelled at and threatened the next day!! Parents have to teach everything at home almost! If you land a horrible teacher, your life is pretty much ruined. I as a parent HATE their balloon ceremony.... and I have to say my daughter is among the top 15% in her class but I feel for the ones who dont get a balloon despite trying too hard. It is an insane school ! I am actively searching for other schools for my kid. I am scared for her happiness and well being. If your child is insensitive and thick skinned, this school may be a good fit !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

Very good school especially if your child wants to go to college. Moderate homework and some limited sports. Some teachers don't speak English well and my two children dropped two grades in the subjects they each had this teacher for. They say the school is looking into it, but a little frustrating for the kids. Grades are NOT a giveaway. Many time there are only one or two kids getting above 90% in some classes. AIMS, is not an issue, but Comps and Pre-comps are the big deal here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2012

It is a great school for hard working students. Teachers really prepares you for AP exams. Both of my children got 5's in both of their APs last year. This school also offer a lot of extra curricular activities in the form of clubs and sports. The school administration really cares about students and their academics. A lot of apportunities for high achieving students. Another aspect of this school I appreciate the most is providing students with a lot of chances to improve and not to give up. For example, there is an end of trimester exam, that usually constitute 25% of the overall grade. Even in some cases there are exams that you can take after the summer break if you would like to perform better and get a better grade. This makes a student keep going and keep working.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

great school. focus on academics. small class size. They started lot of extra curricular activities this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

I find this school challenging but since half of the teachers do not attain a proper teaching degree, it applies more pressure on the individual students. It however facilitates chances to open up programs and hold strong roles of leadership. The teachers really know you, and the environment is more friendly. Being a student myself, I have seen many leave because of the pressure this school gives, but it can be coped with through hard work and dedication which is an aspect of academics ALL students must hone.


Posted July 11, 2012

This school is a very good school. We have excellent teachers, the principal is nice, the academic programs are very challenging, we have fun programs in the middle of the school year, that's educational, wholesome, and fun.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

The Arizona Department of Education did not report AZ LEARNS results for this school.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 E. Chandler Blvd.
Chandler, AZ 85225
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 907-6072

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT