Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-10
Public charter
Chandler, AZ
Students enrolled: 690
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Basis Chandler
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
My son just finished the 11th grade at BASIS Chandler and he absolutely loves it! All the classes have been great, the teachers actually being experts in their respective subjects often adds to his interest, and he has had a great time participating in several extracurriculars and also playing a sport. Students spend 2-3 hours per night on homework so they do need to be organized to keep up. Help is everywhere for all who ask. The school actually tries to prepare the students for college; this is quite a contrast to the policy of lowered standards popular elsewhere. We could not have asked for a better experience.

Basis Chandler 3

Posted May 13, 2015
- a parent
The reviews about teacher churn and wide variety of talent in teaching ability are true. They are up front with this however, but are short on the details of how that can really negatively impact the learning experience. When students must pass every class or be held back regardless of overall GP ... this is the reality of high-stakes comps counting for 50% of the year. The school is too small to manage the logistics of one or two kids retaking a single subject so they set policy to erase a child's school year for a single F grade. The parents need to help the kids not with homework, but the stress of adult-level consequences wrought by thier understanding of what these grades MEAN. I witnessed kids crying at grade ceremonies and one child wrote "my failure" on their balloon because (presumably) it was not one of the higher awards. They do lots of things right. .. but need to work very hard on the emotional impact of thier policies.


Basis Chandler 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
I love this school! My family has been apart of this school since the beginning. 90% of the teachers are very committed to the education of the students who attend this AP focused-college prep school. The administration does strongly encourage the $1,500 per student donation toward the Annual Teacher Fund, but that is to help offset the shortage in funds for Charter Schools in AZ to be able to pay these great teachers as much as possible. Although the Extra Curricular programs will never mirror a mega school in the public district they have really done a great job to provide as many options as possible to students considering they have 720 students from 5-12th grade. They have Four basketball teams (which all made it to the CAA playoffs last year) and they took State for both V Girls and V Boys Swimming for the CAA this year. This school isn't for everyone, but it is an amazing school for those who are willing to put forth the effort and work hard.
2 people found this helpful

Basis Chandler 5

Posted July 19, 2014
- a parent
Basis chandler is a great school. I am so happy that we have such an excellent school in chandler for kids. The teachers really care about teaching your child and preparing them for college. I have two kids in this school
2 people found this helpful

Basis Chandler 3

Posted July 18, 2014
- a community member
As I was saying in the previous review, if you want to contact your child during school, you're going to have to call the front office. Speaking of offices, we don't even have a nurse's office, library, computer lab, or hot lunches. Most teachers are glad to tutor kids after school and we have a homework buddy program for getting information for your child if he/she is absent. The school always bugs parents about donating money to the school which can be pretty annoying. Most of the students from my 8th grade class are leaving, because of the limited opportunities they have here. If your child doesn't have a social life, loves studying and doing homework until midnight, and hates sports this school is just right for them,
10 people found this helpful


Basis Chandler 3

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
The school has lost it's focus. The director's main concern is beating out Basis Scottsdale and Basis Tucson which are both well established. There is more focus on the upper school and have left many lower school students to flounder with teachers who are either incapable of teaching younger students or are so arrogant that they have little concern for how they are teaching. Leadership starts at the top and unfortunately that failed when they put a new director at the school.
3 people found this helpful

Basis Chandler 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
Response to "This school is very tough on their students and most...." You might want to ask your parents to transfer you out of this school to an easier & fun school to get you ready for your career at McDonald. If you ever want to major in science and medicine, most professors are foreign professors from countries like India and China. Get use to different cultures. This school is not for everyone, you can't expect to give "C" or "D" efforts when everyone there are giving their best. You have a choice. Others would love to have the opportunitiy and your spot at Basis.

Basis Chandler 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a community member
This school is very tough on their students and most nights the students are up til or past midnight studying for tests or quizzes or doing homework....most weeks we have 3-5 tests and we usually have 2-3 quizzes per subject each week...and although the curriculum is high most of the teachers are very hard to understand because English isn't their first language and then the teachers that are understandable usually don't know how to teach their subjects...and their is this one biology teacher that only really likes the kids of her race and is always picking on kids...most of the students at basis chandler dislike the school and I would suggest if you don't have to send your child to this school...DO NOT!
6 people found this helpful


Basis Chandler 3

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
This review is middle of the road, not skewed in either direction. My children left for different reasons; 1 wanted more options in high school for outside activities, 1 did not like the negative environment of Basis. Both consistently achieved in the 90% club. They were not one of the top 5 students in their grades however; in 5th grade, there was a 4 way tie for the top student with a 100% average! My daughter needed to go an hour early in the morning, and my son needed to stay an hour later. I dropped them off together to save my sanity: that extra hour at school was all they EVER required to finish their homework for the day. Now in a public high school and a college prep Junior High (run by the Public School district) and they are getting their BUTTS kicked! They are working much harder than they did their 2 years at Basis. In summation, it is a good school (but not the ONLY school in Chandler) - reports of the homework expectations are greatly exaggerated. The biggest problem is that they are so focused on expanding the BASIS brand they don't deal with their existing problems. The turnover is due to the transfer of good teachers to new schools the next year.
7 people found this helpful

Basis Chandler 3

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
BASIS is really good for the middle years, however, they are limited in what they offer for high school. Academics, no problem, but many colleges are looking for well rounded students that have plenty of access to activities outside of school which teach leadership, team work, etc. I know many parents will also say that having time for outside activities while attending BASIS becomes more difficult with each year, we saw that firsthand while there. When a school is only graduating about 50 students, it's pretty easy to keep up the test scores.
6 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Basis Chandler
, Chandler, AZ  85225
(602) 542-5393
Last modified Basis Chandler is a Charter school that serves grades 5-10. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Basis Chandler Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top