Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-10
Public charter
Chandler, AZ
Students enrolled: 690

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Basis Chandler 5

Posted July 19, 2014
- a parent
Basis chandler is a great school. I am so happy that we have such an excellent school in chandler for kids. The teachers really care about teaching your child and preparing them for college. I have two kids in this school

Basis Chandler 3

Posted July 18, 2014
- a community member
As I was saying in the previous review, if you want to contact your child during school, you're going to have to call the front office. Speaking of offices, we don't even have a nurse's office, library, computer lab, or hot lunches. Most teachers are glad to tutor kids after school and we have a homework buddy program for getting information for your child if he/she is absent. The school always bugs parents about donating money to the school which can be pretty annoying. Most of the students from my 8th grade class are leaving, because of the limited opportunities they have here. If your child doesn't have a social life, loves studying and doing homework until midnight, and hates sports this school is just right for them,
1 person found this helpful


Basis Chandler 3

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
The school has lost it's focus. The director's main concern is beating out Basis Scottsdale and Basis Tucson which are both well established. There is more focus on the upper school and have left many lower school students to flounder with teachers who are either incapable of teaching younger students or are so arrogant that they have little concern for how they are teaching. Leadership starts at the top and unfortunately that failed when they put a new director at the school.

Basis Chandler 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a community member
This school is very tough on their students and most nights the students are up til or past midnight studying for tests or quizzes or doing homework....most weeks we have 3-5 tests and we usually have 2-3 quizzes per subject each week...and although the curriculum is high most of the teachers are very hard to understand because English isn't their first language and then the teachers that are understandable usually don't know how to teach their subjects...and their is this one biology teacher that only really likes the kids of her race and is always picking on kids...most of the students at basis chandler dislike the school and I would suggest if you don't have to send your child to this school...DO NOT!

Basis Chandler 3

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
This review is middle of the road, not skewed in either direction. My children left for different reasons; 1 wanted more options in high school for outside activities, 1 did not like the negative environment of Basis. Both consistently achieved in the 90% club. They were not one of the top 5 students in their grades however; in 5th grade, there was a 4 way tie for the top student with a 100% average! My daughter needed to go an hour early in the morning, and my son needed to stay an hour later. I dropped them off together to save my sanity: that extra hour at school was all they EVER required to finish their homework for the day. Now in a public high school and a college prep Junior High (run by the Public School district) and they are getting their BUTTS kicked! They are working much harder than they did their 2 years at Basis. In summation, it is a good school (but not the ONLY school in Chandler) - reports of the homework expectations are greatly exaggerated. The biggest problem is that they are so focused on expanding the BASIS brand they don't deal with their existing problems. The turnover is due to the transfer of good teachers to new schools the next year.


Basis Chandler 3

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
BASIS is really good for the middle years, however, they are limited in what they offer for high school. Academics, no problem, but many colleges are looking for well rounded students that have plenty of access to activities outside of school which teach leadership, team work, etc. I know many parents will also say that having time for outside activities while attending BASIS becomes more difficult with each year, we saw that firsthand while there. When a school is only graduating about 50 students, it's pretty easy to keep up the test scores.

Basis Chandler 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
Being a student, I think this school is very challenging. Although some teachers really don't teach as well as others, it's good enough to let us survive the Pre-Comps and Comps. When we near the pre-comps and comps, we get overwhelmed by stress and a lot of my friends break down. If you're really intelligent...this school is the best place to go to. However, if you're a typical B student, you will be pressured down to breaking point by some teachers. Overall, I think this school is pretty nice.

Basis Chandler 3

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
This is an excellent school if you have smart hard working children. If your kids are in public school, getting a B grade and you enroll them in this school with the hope that they will improve, you will be in for a major disappointment. The quality of the teachers runs the range from brilliant to pathetic. There are teachers whose knowledge is leaps and bounds above that of the general public school teachers and at the same time there is a science teacher who barely speaks English. On the positive side, the school pays for all AP exams and trains the students well for those exams. On the negative side, there is no serious effort made to help struggling kids, with some teachers even being condescending to the under achievers. If your child is academically gifted and can put in long hours EVERY DAY for homework and test preparation, this school is ideal for them. If your child is laid-back, fairly good at studies and is into sports, look for alternatives. Be forewarned that for students to succeed in this school, parents have to devote a considerable amount of time with their kids each day, Finally, the school building is small, there is no nurse, no library and no cafeteria.


Basis Chandler 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Absolutely brilliant school!!! I have a son and a daughter going to this school and they both love it ! My daughter was so excited when she heard that the fifth grade was going to have six field trips. She loves her classes and always learns new things daily . My son isn't having as good of a time because he is two grades higher than her. Even though the home work load is immense and he doesn't go to bed till 11:00 , he is making his future better . I hope this school stays open for many years to come!

Basis Chandler 1

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Disappointed that I have to assign even one star. This school needs to close. - Parents are encouraged to give a minimum of $1500 per student to go into a teachers fund with the idea of holding onto good teachers. The first year they raised over 300k, but when we returned for year two, half the teachers were gone but where was the $300,000 raised!? The second year they raised over $250,000. We left b/c child was entering 9th grade & wasn't going there. - teachers barely speak english, especially the Mandarin teacher -Made Good Friday a required day because they forgot to give the Indian population their holiday off! -"Teachers are professionals that don't know how to TEACH!" -Very hot in the school, Very crowded. They have the kids line up to take turns going down hallways! -Had counselors teaching classes because had teachers quit and no one to teach! Also, had to have class in an office because no room! -Regularly have kids go to nearby parks for "PE" in 100+ temps, they walk and cross busy street -Have no lunch room, students must pack - No library -Feels like they make up rules on the fly -"Teacher" punished child by making stand in corner! -CREDITS DON'T TRANSFER!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Basis Chandler
, Chandler, AZ  85225
(602) 542-5393
Last modified Basis Chandler is a Charter school that serves grades 5-10. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Basis Chandler Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top