Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,231 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I’m Mrs. McMillian, the current principal at Legacy Traditional School-Chandler which is formally known as Athlos Traditional Academy. First, I appreciate all the feedback parents provide on this site. As for the families that have concerns, I welcome a sit down meeting to discuss ways we can address your concerns. I believe the Arizona Department of Education stating I have two years of teaching experience is referencing my standard teaching certificate. Teachers have a provisional year before their standard certificate. I taught three years under my teaching certificate, one year as a second grade teacher in a different school and two years as a 1st grade teacher with Legacy Traditional School-Maricopa. Prior to having my certificate, I taught two years of Kindergarten at a charter school without a teaching certificate because it was not required. I do currently hold a principal certificate with the Arizona Department of Education. I hope that helps clear up some of the information that is being stated incorrectly on this site. Again, I welcome any and all concerns or feedback. You may contact the campus front office to set up a meeting with me to discuss specific concerns. I hope everyone has a wonderful rest of their 2015-2016 school year at whatever school they find as the best fit for their children.
January 25, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Athlos Traditional Academy 4

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
We had a good experience at Athlos. I liked the accelerated curriculum and how the kids are continually challenged. My 4th grader had a horrible experience last year in 4th grade due to his teacher. I spoke to Principal McMillian and she was very helpful resolving the issues that I had. The school is very strict and they could work on that but, honestly no school is perfect. I moved my kids to a different school this year and I have to say sometimes we do miss Athlos.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
I’m Mrs. McMillian, the current principal at Legacy Traditional School-Chandler which is formally known as Athlos Traditional Academy. First, I appreciate all the feedback parents provide on this site. As for the families that have concerns, I welcome a sit down meeting to discuss ways we can address your concerns. I believe the Arizona Department of Education stating I have two years of teaching experience is referencing my standard teaching certificate. Teachers have a provisional year before their standard certificate. I taught three years under my teaching certificate, one year as a second grade teacher in a different school and two years as a 1st grade teacher with Legacy Traditional School-Maricopa. Prior to having my certificate, I taught two years of Kindergarten at a charter school without a teaching certificate because it was not required. I do currently hold a principal certificate with the Arizona Department of Education. I hope that helps clear up some of the information that is being stated incorrectly on this site. Again, I welcome any and all concerns or feedback. You may contact the campus front office to set up a meeting with me to discuss specific concerns. I hope everyone has a wonderful rest of their 2015-2016 school year at whatever school they find as the best fit for their children.
Posted January 25, 2016


Athlos Traditional Academy
no rating

Posted January 25, 2016
- a school leader
Legacy Traditional School mission is to provide motivated students with the opportunity to achieve academic excellence in an accelerated, back-to-basics, safe learning environment taught by caring, knowledgeable and highly effective educators in cooperation with supportive, involved parents.

Athlos Traditional Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
To the "parent" ( school employee) you may want to get your FACTS straight! So I guess the Arizona Board of Education was lying when they show that principal McMillian had her teaching certify for 2 years prior to obtaining her principal credentials? So before she taught 2 years in first, what were the "other" 3 years? She did not teach 3 years prior to that. I also supposed Arizona state board is lying when they list Basis as the number 1 charter school. Sorry, but I would rather go off the board of educations website then some local magazine. And we did try to go to admin about some problems going on in 6th & JH to no avail. They listen, but do nothing so you shouldn't assume. Funny how many other comments are the same. There is a reason there is a high rate of student turnover!

Athlos Traditional Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 12, 2015
- a parent
Everyone! They are always smiling and seem to have fun while educating my children. If there is ever a problem, it is addressed to keep our students safe and learning.


Athlos Traditional Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 12, 2015
- a parent
There was an issue with retaining staff but what school isn't with a teacher shortage. As stated, this was an issue before but has not been an issue for 2 years now.

Athlos Traditional Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 12, 2015
- a parent
They have homework Monday - Friday with 9 week long term projects which include poem recitation and book report.

Athlos Traditional Academy 1

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
Other reviews are true! This is a terrible school. They don't care about kids it's ran like a business. I'm so glad I took my kids out of here. The principal doesn't know what she's doing but that's not surprising considering she's in her mid 20's and has 2 years of teaching experience! I found out in the state of Arizona a principal needs 3 years, but charter schools are not regulated. Kids can't be unique here, it's a military school. If your kid is not gifted, they don't want them, they will mess up there numbers. If you're not Mormon you won't get preferential treatment like owners kids! Staff turnover is extremely high. We moved to Great Hearts and it was the best decision ever made!


Athlos Traditional Academy 3

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
Currently have 3 children enrolled at Athlos (2 in elementary, 1 in junior high). My oldest has been at Athlos since it opened. Elementary experience has been fantastic - very happy with curriculum, methodology and student management. Junior High has been a disappointment. The differentiating factors that make Athlos so great for K-6 seem to be missing in 7-8. Teachers (many, but not all) seem to be going through the motions in 7-8. Instead of DEALING with student issues, they simply deduct pride points and send a curt email to the parents. Homework is another issue. Having homework every night is not a problem, but the zero tolerance policy for missing homework IS a problem. No flexibility whatsoever for missed homework. An example: our student missed a homework assignment due to a doctor appointment. Received a zero out of 100 points, without a chance to make it up. We asked if the homework could be turned in late for half-credit -and were told no. Period. If my understanding of this policy is incorrect, I hope that someone can clarify it - as this is what was communicated to me by the teacher. I do think that the Principal is going a great job, she has a huge responsibility to keep Athlos "special" in comparison to other schools, but there is only so much she can do on her own. In summary, I would give Athlos K-6 five stars (GREAT), and give 7-8 grade ......"Average-minus".

Athlos Traditional Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
K-6 - VERY EFFECTIVE 7-8 - Somewhat effective (there are a few very highly effective Jr. High teachers, but also some very ineffective ones)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Athlos Traditional Academy
3201 South Gilbert Rd. Chandler, AZ 85286, Chandler, AZ  85286
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. (480) 270-5422
Last modified Athlos Traditional Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top