Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Great Hearts Academies - Archway Chandler
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
They offer a variety of extra curricular classes that can be quite expensive - chess is almost 250 a semester. The most expensive of all great hearts schools. Their after school care is ridiculous expensive but you have a lot of options to choose from with days. Student pickup can be quite long, plan on spending 30 min in the parking lot for pickup.

Great Hearts Academies - Archway Chandler
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
Most of the teachers with the exception of one are outstanding! Thanks to all. The teachers I've had go over and beyond.


Great Hearts Academies - Archway Chandler
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
It takes my child about 2 to 3 hours a night. No social life expected.

Great Hearts Academies - Archway Chandler
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
The leadership itself is not honest, has no integrity, and does not try to treat parents fairly or have a fair say.

Great Hearts Academies - Archway Chandler 2

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
We can't agree more with the previous review. You get ceaseless messages about donating. The headmaster at this school talks a good talk but at the end of the day, she doesn't care one bit about your child. The parents have no voice. Well, maybe only about how to raise more money. If you have other options, take them. Don't waste your time at this school. And because they claim to have this long wait list, they can afford to treat parents with very little truth, beauty or goodness.


Great Hearts Academies - Archway Chandler 2

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
Beware! Behind the facade of beauty and truth lies the true feelings of the administration. I have found that they don't think about the child, just about protecting themselves and their name. They draw you in with their orientation speech but put all their energy into fundraising. I was promised that the curriculum would not change with the 'program of the day', for now that's Common Core, but alas, every year one more subject becomes CC aligned and Core Knowledge is fading fast into their artwork lined halls. A lot of pretense and stuffiness with no fun for the kids.

Great Hearts Academies - Archway Chandler 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
We are Sooooo happy we made the decision to come to Great Hearts! The curriculum is amazing. My child used to attend a district public school. I thought they did a good job. That was until my child starting having amazing conversations with me about topics that I learned in college! You can say negative things about cake and ice cream if you like but so far this school has been amazing it is everything that I had hoped it would be. My child is learning so much more than ever before and I have been very impressed with the integrity of the program. My child is learning more every day. The culture here is respect and integrity. I told my child to study quietly while others recited a poems in order to be prepared for her recitation. My child told me that would be disrespectful to the speaker. That is absolutely correct of course, I was a bit caught off guard with my own remarks and I had to apologize for my un-thoughtfulness. The culture here is amazing. I have read so many reviews of the Great Heart schools. It is so hard to make the decision. We agonized about pulling our child from the previous school. Every day my husband and I joke about how much better this curriculum and school is. I don't think its overrated, I think the school has a low profile, I often wonder why they don't let everyone know how much better they are. We can see this was the best choice we have made in years!!!

Great Hearts Academies - Archway Chandler 1

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
There is a disconnect between truth, beauty, and goodness and the management of the school. While classes have a main teacher and an aide, in my experience, the aide's English writing ability was shockingly poor. Although when the school opened, math was broken up into 3 levels of ability, now it's just one.


Great Hearts Academies - Archway Chandler 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
It is a great school, a Great principal makes everything wonderful, the quality of the teacher A+ They're always finding what is best for kids and school always looking for the future of the generation

Great Hearts Academies - Archway Chandler 1

Posted August 02, 2014
- a parent
It is very shocking trying to apply to this school and they tell you quickly you are not accepted. They have a long waiting list and never call anyone to give you options. I really wanted this school for my children, but too bad not enough space.

Nearby schools

Great Hearts Academies - Archway Chandler
1951 North Alma School Rd, Chandler, AZ  85224
(480) 855-6474
Last modified Great Hearts Academies - Archway Chandler is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top