Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Chandler, AZ
Students enrolled: 460
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
A great school that requires commitment. Yes there is a lot of work but this is what most ACPO families sign up for - an academic challenge. I don t think people are being realistic if they think they can enroll at ACPO (or Basis for that matter) and it will be like your average public school where a student will have 3 hours of free time a night. There is a reason that this called a school of choice. If you would rather have your child have more free time there is nothing wrong with that but at the same time ACPO may not be the best choice. If you choose ACPO your child will be doing homework every weekend and studying for finals when their friends at other schools won t be but you also will be putting your child in a proven academic program that frankly few Arizona schools can match. With committed teachers, a strong curriculum and talented student body, Chandler is lucky to have ACPO as an option.
2 people found this helpful

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 3

Posted November 29, 2014
- a community member
I went to ACP Oakland 6th-8th and I found that there was a lot of homework. Many of the times I would finish my homework, I would finish at about 7 o'clock. When I started a sport I was a lot of the time worried if I could finish my homework. Like someone else said it was always eat, sleep, breathe, ACP.


Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 3

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
Not all that the sales pitch says it is. Principal is not easy to work with (puts up a facade - used car salesmen have more ethics. This is the new principal not the one mentioned in previous posts) and a large part of the teachers cram assignments through and homework. They offer many opportunities for lunch detentions at their interpretation, even the first week of school before expectations can be set. School/Life balance is not an acceptable level. Sleep, breath, live ACP Oakland.
2 people found this helpful

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 5

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
The learning environment at ACP-O is amazing! SInce attending ACP-O, my children are motivated to be successful students. The homework expectations are reasonable and allows both my children to participate in sports and other extra curricular activities. The administrative and teacher support for the students is incredible. Every teacher is invested in making education a positive experience for the student; teaching them life lessons along the way.

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a teacher
This school is more than an educational institution - it is a positive, supportive, nurturing community. Students are challenged at a high academic level incorporated with how they can help benefit the larger community. ACP strives to create intelligent, service driven students who make a difference in the world. Arizona College Prep Oakland is creating the leaders of the future!


Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Arizona College Preparatory Oakland Campus is an amazing school. It offers all honors accelerated classes in a small school environment. The teachers are all highly qualified and highly motivating. My daughter is learning how to challenge herself academically, balance a workload of studies with her extra curricular activities and establish study techniques to last a lifetime. When we raise the bar for our children academically, like ACPO does, the kids will rise to that challenge. We are very fortunate that Chandler Unified School District offers such a school.

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a teacher
Arizona College Prep is a small college preparatory public school in the Chandler Unified School District. It emphasizes character development, athletics and academic excellence with a small community and family friendly atmosphere. Students at ACP are challenged and well prepared for any type of secondary educational program or institution. The instructors are all highly qualified and expertly trained in their content area. There is a good reason why ACPO is rated among the top schools in the state!

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
Fantastic school. Great teachers and admin. It is a college prep school and has high expectations for the students. Teachers are very accessible to students and parents. Lots of opportunities for sports, clubs, and extracurricular activities. Chandler is lucky to have this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus
191 West Oakland, Chandler, AZ  85225
(480) 224-3930
Last modified Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top