Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 3

Posted February 22, 2016
- a community member
ACP is rated really high and they brag about their test scores. They leave out the part about being highly selective. They test kids to get in and only take the top students. It is not surprising that their test scores are high later. My child is receiving a good education there. The teachers are very good but everyone pats themselves on the backs for achieving high scores and attributes them to the excellent environment rather than the screening process.

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 5

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
ACP Oakland is a fantastic school for kids who WANT to learn and get a good eduction. This place is no joke, there are no "easy A's" and the kids are held to a very high standard. I am so thankful that my child attends this school and is learning how to be a self advocate for himself. There are no excuses and kids from this generation need a little bit of that tough love. Uniforms are great, class sizes are smaller than most junior high's and the level at which they are learning cannot be beat!


Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 4

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
The principal at ACP is an amazingly kind person who truly cares about the kids. The homework load has improved since fall...much more meaningful and less overwhelming....kids at this school seem to be well behaved and kids can focus and learn. The teachers have after school tutoring, which is especially helpful in the harder subjects. My daughter loves ACP!

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
A great school that requires commitment. Yes there is a lot of work but this is what most ACPO families sign up for - an academic challenge. I don t think people are being realistic if they think they can enroll at ACPO (or Basis for that matter) and it will be like your average public school where a student will have 3 hours of free time a night. There is a reason that this called a school of choice. If you would rather have your child have more free time there is nothing wrong with that but at the same time ACPO may not be the best choice. If you choose ACPO your child will be doing homework every weekend and studying for finals when their friends at other schools won t be but you also will be putting your child in a proven academic program that frankly few Arizona schools can match. With committed teachers, a strong curriculum and talented student body, Chandler is lucky to have ACPO as an option.

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 3

Posted November 29, 2014
- a community member
I went to ACP Oakland 6th-8th and I found that there was a lot of homework. Many of the times I would finish my homework, I would finish at about 7 o'clock. When I started a sport I was a lot of the time worried if I could finish my homework. Like someone else said it was always eat, sleep, breathe, ACP.


Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 3

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
Not all that the sales pitch says it is. Principal is not easy to work with (puts up a facade - used car salesmen have more ethics. This is the new principal not the one mentioned in previous posts) and a large part of the teachers cram assignments through and homework. They offer many opportunities for lunch detentions at their interpretation, even the first week of school before expectations can be set. School/Life balance is not an acceptable level. Sleep, breath, live ACP Oakland.

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 5

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
The learning environment at ACP-O is amazing! SInce attending ACP-O, my children are motivated to be successful students. The homework expectations are reasonable and allows both my children to participate in sports and other extra curricular activities. The administrative and teacher support for the students is incredible. Every teacher is invested in making education a positive experience for the student; teaching them life lessons along the way.

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a teacher
This school is more than an educational institution - it is a positive, supportive, nurturing community. Students are challenged at a high academic level incorporated with how they can help benefit the larger community. ACP strives to create intelligent, service driven students who make a difference in the world. Arizona College Prep Oakland is creating the leaders of the future!


Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Arizona College Preparatory Oakland Campus is an amazing school. It offers all honors accelerated classes in a small school environment. The teachers are all highly qualified and highly motivating. My daughter is learning how to challenge herself academically, balance a workload of studies with her extra curricular activities and establish study techniques to last a lifetime. When we raise the bar for our children academically, like ACPO does, the kids will rise to that challenge. We are very fortunate that Chandler Unified School District offers such a school.

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a teacher
Arizona College Prep is a small college preparatory public school in the Chandler Unified School District. It emphasizes character development, athletics and academic excellence with a small community and family friendly atmosphere. Students at ACP are challenged and well prepared for any type of secondary educational program or institution. The instructors are all highly qualified and expertly trained in their content area. There is a good reason why ACPO is rated among the top schools in the state!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus
191 West Oakland, Chandler, AZ  85225
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (480) 224-3930
Last modified Arizona College Prep Oakland Campus is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top