Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy

Charter | K-8 | 589 students

Singapore Math

 
 

Living in Chandler

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $114,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted March 26, 2013

Dobson is a fantastic small school. We have about 550 students with an average class size of 25. We offer art, music, PE, technology and library as special area classes. All of classroom teachers are certified and Highly Qualified.

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2004

I think Dobson is definitly a step up from the average public school. The teachers are great, the staff is caring and responsive. The amount of parents who volunteer is amazing. The Jr. High could use some work, and lockers, which are now designated for the 6th graders only. I'd like to see more extracurricular activities offered, and more attention on the dress code, which seems to be getting sloppier. The lunches offered are good, but too small for my older children. A small salad bar would be a good addition to the cafeteria. Compared to other area schools Dobson comes out ahead, but needs a little fine tuning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2004

Getting ready for the new school year and first grade. So far we have been very satisfied with Dobson's curriculum. The small class sizes are great. They are a very academic school and offer Spanish, Computers & P.E. for kindergarteners, which is part of the reason I picked them for my child. Also liked their core values: Be Safe, Be Respectful & Be Responsible. Lots of opportunity for families to get involved, as much or little as you want. Big on fundraising; great volunteers. All the staff members I encountered were also very helpful and active in the school as well. Only thing I would like to see is more extracirricular activities, like sports, and more of a play area for recess. I'm sure it will grow in time and with more money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2004

My children had wonderful, encouraging, caring teachers. I can't say enough about how wonderful these teachers are. I do however think the Principle needs to be more hands on. Academics have slipped and the disapline is very lacks. I was told,'that no one child would be allowed to disrupt the learning process!' and 'testing would preformed to identify disruptive childrens special needs'. Instead these children hold the classroom hostage like public school. Dobson Academy is a 'business' of numbers and $$. Uniform code has been uninforced especially in the Junior High. The parking lot is nothing more than a death trap for my children every day! The Dean is useless! Need someone who is more involved. She has little involvement with the students and quite frankly, I think she should pay the school for letting her 'Hang around'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2004

Good school with lots of parental involvment and extracurricular activities. Great before and after school daycare. However, very high expectation of students that are not always developmentally accurate and lots of homework every night (average 2 hours). Many students come from affluent families, stay-at-home mothers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2003

One of the things that I love about Dobson academy is the fact that they don't have too much of extracurricular activities, One thing they have is P.E.,which my kids love Mr. Moore their p.e. teacher, they also have art which my son loves,music, both of my kids enjoy because they both are musical incline,and Spanish which I'm really happy for that since is my 1st. lenguage. So to me that is good enough.My kids went to public school and they hardly learn anything because the time was taking for all this extracurricular classes, and when the year was over, they hardly new their math,spelling,etc.but when I put them in Dobson Academy in only few weeks my kids improved on all their basics and now are doing awesome on every one of them.Another thing that I love about this wonderful school and that is that our teacher really hear us parents and we don't feel ignored when we have an issue or complain,they work with us.My kids are bless going to this school,I have a lot of friends who see their improvent and which they can live closer so their kids can come to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2003

Quite a few teachers to just die for. Getting better every day. Great small school atmosphere. Private school quality. Great principal inspiring teachers and students to better themselves. Research based reading curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2003

When I compare the education that my younger child is getting compared to what my older child got in public school, I am amazed! This school had my kindergarten aged child reading like a pro. I have friends with children in second grade who do not do as well. I have been highly impressed with the curriculum, teachers, and the principal who is never too busy to pay attention to his students!! This is not found every day. Great job Dobson Academy. My daughter is now entering second grade and I can not imagine sendng her anywhere else. There are two things that I feel need improvement; the parking/pick-up/drop-off situation (it is getting better) and the children need more access to the playground which is there and looks like a lot of fun but is always locked up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2003

This School no longer has a 200 day school year, its now at 175..Lock downs have never been practiced here. No Library yet..Since Its a Charter School lots of volunteering and $ to be raised by students families. Not Enough outside space/equipment for Pe Or Recess.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 11, 2003

My daughter started attending Dobson Academy in the 2nd grade and she will be starting 7th grade in the 2003-2004 school year. This school has been great and improving every year. My daughter will finish through 8th grade. I highly recommend this school to my coworkers and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2003

I love the atmosphere at Dobson Academy..it is like sending my children to a private school without paying tuition!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Taime Bengochea
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 855-6323

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2207 North Dobson Road
Chandler, AZ 85224
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 855-6325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Aim High Institute
Chandler, AZ


Adobe West School
Chandler, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT