Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Chandler, AZ
Students enrolled: 589
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Dobson is a fantastic small school. We have about 550 students with an average class size of 25. We offer art, music, PE, technology and library as special area classes. All of classroom teachers are certified and Highly Qualified.
March 26, 2013

4 stars
Based on 53 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


56 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy 5

Posted December 18, 2014
- a teacher
I love Dobson Academy and cannot imagine working any place else. It offers a healthy balance of structure, high expectations, research based curriculum and FUN. Teachers and principal are supportive of each other, students and their families. A major factor contributing to Dobson's success are the parents. I am overwhelmed by the support they provide in and out of the classroom. Just an amazing group of people. I am also a parent and love seeing the positive impact Dobson has had on my son.

A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy 5

Posted December 13, 2014
- a teacher
I am an educator at Dobson Academy. No school is perfect, but I can say with total honesty that the administrators and teachers work with parents to enable each student to have a positive learning experience. I am thankful to teach at a school that cares for students.
1 person found this helpful


A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy 1

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended from 2010-2012, and had no major problems at Dobson Academy. She says she would give them a 4 star rating. My son has ADHD, and attended from 2010-2014. They did not implement his 504 plan when we moved here. I was asking for help from teachers starting in the first quarter. I would e-mail (which THEY said was the best way to communicate with them) and maybe 1 out of 4 teachers would get back to me. He will avoid homework at all costs! I only asked for teachers to monitor that assignments were written in his planner each night. That way I knew what was going on in classes. They might check for a day or 2 after I requested it, but within a week it was all me. I was trying everything I could do alone to check assignments each day. After repeatedly asking for help, I started including the principal in my e-mails. I never did get ANY response from her. At the end of the year, they suddenly "found" the 504 plan we had brought in when we moved. He reacts VERY favorably to praise. Which was in short supply; they just sent him to detention for every infraction of their homework policy. He felt stupid, and singled out. DO NOT sent your child here

A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
We were very selective when choosing a school for our daughter. Picking Dobson Academy was definitely the right choice. We are very happy with the school. They have high academic standards - rated #2 in the state for Charter Schools. The Princiapl and administrative staff are extremely professional. They have firm but fair discipline, making students follow the 3 B's to ensure the safety of all students. I HIGHLY recommend this school!!

A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
This is the third year my son has been attending Dobson Academy, he loves the school and so do we, all the teachers, front desk staff and also the principal are so nice and helpful. We love it here.


A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Dobson Academy since he is a kindergartener. He absolutley loves it here. He is so proud to be a Dobson Dolphin. He enjoys the homework that he gets and loves showing us the new things he has learned in reading and math. The staff takes great care into the safety of the students at all times including the morning drop off and afternoon pickup of students each day. The front office staff are always so welcoming with smiles everytime you walk in. The parent leadership team is always having fun events for students also including a recent evening picnic and circus performance. I wouldn't even consider sending my son any where else.

A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My school is a terrific place for students! There is before and after care available on campus. Dismissal everyday is safe and secured by teachers walking students out to their cars. They just installed new misters to keep everyone cool and even the principal is out there at the end of the day to help load students in cars! We love Dobson Academy!

A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy 5

Posted March 26, 2013
- a parent
My child has been attending Dobson academy for over 3 years now and we love it! The teachers and staff are excellent and always willing to answer any questions I have. I love that they offer a variety of after school activities as well as before and afterschool care and healthy choices for lunch.


A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy 1

Posted March 22, 2013
- a community member
I do not recommend this school. Classes overcrowded and no resources for children with special needs.

A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
My child is in Junior High at Dobson Academy. I love the smaller environment compared to other Junior Highs. The staff is caring, supportive and active in helping students to succeed. My child is really looking forward to the Junior High field trip to Catalina.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy
2207 North Dobson Road, Chandler, AZ  85224
(480) 855-6325
Last modified A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. Top