Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The leadership team here at Dobson Academy is always ready to discuss any parental concern. We want your child's experience to be the very best!
November 20, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
64 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (5 responses)
characters left.
There are 118 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
The leadership team here at Dobson Academy is always ready to discuss any parental concern. We want your child's experience to be the very best!
Posted November 20, 2015

Dobson Academy 4

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
The teachers get 5 stars for sure...the communication from them has been great for the past 2 years we've been at DA. Our child has loved each teacher and the class sizes are small, which is one of the reasons we chose this school. My biggest complaint is the amount of fundraising requests that are sent home. I don't mind the book sales, but the dining out, fun run, Jumpstreet night, dollar dress day, etc. It feels like there is a new one every week. It's excessive and annoying, especially since we also participate in giving the $400 tax credit every year. I don't recall it being this bad last year. The staff changes are also a concern. Not so much on the teacher side of things, but the administration. A new principal again after 3 years, new volunteer coordinator, PT librarian, new nutritionist, etc. Seems like a high turnover rate which is unfortunate. Don't get me started on the car line either. I realize the school is landlocked and there is no other alternative at this point, but it's ridiculous the way these parents drive! If there were some school officials more visible (besides the ones making the line run smoothly by calling student names) in directing traffic, enforcing lanes/restrictions, it could be much safer and smoother at pick up. We love the before and after care program. Miss Lindsay is amazing and our child has really enjoyed attending during the summer months and has made many new friends through here. We are currently investigating public schools within our district for the upcoming 2016 school year, as we're still uncertain whether we'll continue on with DA or not.


Dobson Academy 5

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
Everyone has been so nice and helpful being it is our first year at Dobson Academy. They also have the Arts and Music and Sports.

Dobson Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
I would like to thank Miss Sweeney. Both my children had her for kindergarten and I feel they got the best beginning for the wonderful education ahead of them.

Dobson Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
I can't say enough about the teachers. They are so wonderful and engaging in the students. Because the school size is smaller the teachers are able to know their students by their name and the students are not just a number. As a parent this is a wonderful feeling.


Dobson Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
Children need structure and they need to have parents involved in their school work. Bringing home homework allows us as parents to be involved and have a Better understanding of what they are doing in the classroom.

Dobson Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
DA has always placed an emphasis on the children and I feel when a child is taught respect they give respect.

Dobson Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
I love that DA has set standards and expectations of their students. This includes having a zero no bulling policy. When children can trust that what they say or do will not have negative repercussions they are more likely to show compassion and empathy towards other individuals.


Dobson Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
The school lives by 3 B's. Be safe, Be respectful & Be responsible. These are things that as parents we want to teach our children and having the support of an institution places great emphasis on how important these things are.

Dobson Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
Both my children have been attending DA since kindergarten and have the best support system. The teachers are so wonderful and engaged in the students. They come home from school having learned things that excite them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dobson Academy
2207 N. Dobson Rd., Chandler, AZ  85224
(480) 855-6325
Last modified Dobson Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dobson Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 118 reviews. Top