Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Summit Academy K-6
Grateful to: School leader

Posted July 12, 2016
- a parent
Thanks to Mark for helping avoid this school from closing, due to Frost under performing under prior leadership. Mark worked non-stop to bring test scores up to receive I.B. certification to operate as an academy. Summit Academy now K-6 old Frost bldg and 7&8 still in the Hendrix bldg the school has been unified. Mark not only cleaned up Frost, but Hendrix as well. I moved closer so My children can attend, 2 girls in Elem, and 1 son in middle. This is now a truly great school.

Summit Academy K-6
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
Ms muhs is about one of the only teachers I have met and seen who is there for the student and not just a paycheck. Thank you


Summit Academy K-6
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
I have met some very effective teachers who seem to genuinly care about the student. But unfortunetly they cant save a very ineffective school.

Summit Academy K-6
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
This is about the only thing this school does do correctly. Other than that they need to be more concerned what is best for the students future.

Summit Academy K-6
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
This ones in charge of this school dont even have respect for themselves. How can they teach what they dont care about.


Summit Academy K-6
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
The students are good. They are not the problem. The ones teaching and in charge of them is the problem.

Summit Academy K-6
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
The teachers only do whats best for them. And I have called the principal numerous times to resolve situations with no call backs. The teachers wont care as long as the one in charge is only there for himself.

Summit Academy K-6 2

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
If you are not used to an A+ school for your children or how they run their school, than I can see how some parents might think this school is ok. Its far from being a good school. Try showing up un announced to check in on your children. They will not let you. Its almost like they have something to hide. How are the teachers treating the students behind closed doors. We can only rely on what our children tell us and hope they are not scared to open up to us. I know for a fact some have yelled at and put down student in front of their peers and still do. Do some research of your own, and find out for yourself. You just might be surprised.


Summit Academy K-6 5

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been attending Summit for four years now! She absolutely loves it! My daughter feels safe, and respected. I do not volunteer much BUT when I do the teachers are kind and always have something for you to do! My daughter occasionally goes in to see the nurse! She is really nice too and she is always there when I have a concern. They do not have a school garden. I know I don't volunteer as much and a garden needs exactly that, but it would still be nice! Anyways I love how Summit treats my daughter and how they offer her a positive learning experience! Thank you Summit Academy (K-6)

Summit Academy K-6 5

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
In 2009 Mark J Andrews took over as the Principal of Frost elementary. Our second son had already attending while it was frost in 2008. Whne mark came along, he made great efforts to clean the school up ie: teachers that were not up to standards were replaced, students with a bad track record got reevaluated to see if they were falling behind because of bad behavior or just needed to be on an IEP program. Marks goal was to bring test scores up to the level to gain approval by the International Baccalaureate Association. Once this happened MPS changed Frost Elementary and Hendrix Jr. to Summit Academy. Mark has had a positive impact on the school( saving it from being closed down) Better staff, better teachers, my children's self esteem has gone up tremendously along with their grades. Because Summit is now an IB school, Band is mandatory from 4th to 6th grades and an elective in middle school grades.. Having an awesome, fun but no nonsense teacher like Mr Brian Wilson has made the band/ orchestra/ concert band excel to high levels, and a lot of parents support this program and attend the concerts. Mr Wilson really works so well with the students to get them playing in no time.

Nearby schools

Summit Academy K-6
1560 West Summit Place, Chandler, AZ  85224
(480) 472-3300
Last modified Summit Academy K-6 is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top