Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hamilton High School

Public | 9-12 | 3502 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 7, 2004

What an amazing school! We have had one graduate, a current senior and a current sophomore. We could not be more impressed! Dr. DePrez is a fantastic leader and challenges his staff to be as well. I am involved in many areas within the school and am impressed everyday with how they pull it off with such high population numbers. For the parent who was having trouble getting passes and info....go to the website for info, pick up a pass via the boaster club at almost any of the high school sporting events or call and ask. I have never experienced the staff not willing to find the answer to a question.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2004

My daughter has been studying in the American International Schools since her 4th grade. Her current school is American School of Doha in Qatar. If anyone plans to travel to Qatar for long term assignment and has kids, this is one of the best schools in Doha. Pre-K through 12, total number of students just under 700. Excellent music and arts program. AP curses are available. Foreign languages (Spanish, English and Arabic) are taught by native speakers. Kids travel to other countries on various programs as well as host other international schools for sporting and arts events. Huge number of after school activities. Teachers are mostly from the US and Canada. Children genuinely enjoy going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2004

It is a good school and very nice but unfortunately 'money talks' way too much in there. There is alot of favoritism for both ends of the financial scale and nothing for the middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2004

I am a graduate of the class of 2004. I spent four amazing years at hamilton high. I felt that we really were the best! we were the first class to go to state in many different sports. The teachers are wonderful, minus a few. There are some teachers that I would highly recomend... First, mrs. Lunduhl(spanish teacher)the very best!, she helped me even after she wasn't my teacher and I learned more from her. Mr. Ed hermanski! I love him to death! he made boring history come to life and really was there to help you understand. Then my dance teacher..Mr. Milbauer(mr.D) he makes high school fun! I couldn't wait to get to class and dance my worries away. I will miss them the most!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 19, 2004

The vocational agriculture program is one of the best in the state. The instructor stays on top of the jobs in the community instead of what everyone thinks an ag program should be. He does not subscribe to the 'good ol' boy' mentality, instead, teaches the students about landscape and horticulture, where the jobs are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

Hamilton staff and teachers have been great for my kids. I have one that is already graduated and one that has 1 more year to go. I can t imagine what there lives would be like with the school. There is a great balance between academics and fine arts/sports. There is an understanding of developing a complete student ready to face the world. Accountability and Responsibility are two things that are stressed to the youth. The best part is the staff and teachers seam to enjoy having parents involved with there kids lives. Responses to questions and concerns are always promptly returned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

Our Daughter is thriving under the leadership of Hamilton. The staff has been wonderful and receptive to our needs. We feel that for a school this size, they return our calls and answer our questions and concerns in a timely and professional manner. We feel like Hamilton has not lost its small town feel with their attention to details, in spite of the tremendous growth in the area. We feel blessed to be at Hamilton. Thank you Hamilton's staff for making our Daughter's freshman year fantastic! We would also like to congratulate the Varsity Football Team, our new State Champions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2003

This school has great leadership development skill learning, great academics, and a great athletic program.


Posted November 3, 2003

For 3 years I have tried to purchase season tickets to the sporting events. There is little or no communication on the part of the faculty or staff. We receive little or no notification of events involving our children. we would like to become more involved by volunteering but, apparently Hamilton does not need any volunteer help. There is much more wrong with this school in which it is all a direct reflection of the leadership provided by the principal and leadership staff. Our children do enjoy the school and are challenged in their studies. Hamilton has been able to provide adequately pertaining to the most important aspect of educational goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

879 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

880 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

871 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Hispanic 21% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 3%
Black 10% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 883-5020

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3700 S Arizona Ave.
Chandler, AZ 85248
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Basis Chandler
Chandler, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT