Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 60 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


66 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hamilton High School 1

Posted October 20, 2014
- a student
I highly dislike this school. Not only is it way over crowded, but most of the teachers are just plain rude and deprive you of any of your will to learn. On my FIRST DAY at that school i was already told by my biology teacher that he thought i was "stupid" and told me "your never going to graduate." This is coming from a straight A's honors student.For the rest of the quarter in his class he would just sit there and tell us about his day or how dumb we all were. The only good teacher i had was Ms. Butler in geometry because she actually made an effort to help students and have them thrive in her class.Homework wise,we had an average load of homework, but was sometimes hard to complete if you have a rigorous after school schedule like i do. As for friends, i had very few. I am a very sociable person but its hard to be sociable when the people you try talking to just stab you in the back once your not around. My time at Hamilton was really a waste of time for I did not learn anything and was treated with absolutely no respect. I hope you think twice before sending your child to hamilton, I do not want this to happen to any other student because no one deserves this kind of treatment.

Hamilton High School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
In 2013-2014 school year Hamilton remains the #1 rated comprehensive high school in Arizona and earned an A grade for the fourth straight year. Congrats to CUSD and Hamilton High!


Hamilton High School 1

Posted April 04, 2014
- a student
This school has way too many kids attending, so it's hard to get involved. And don't even try getting involved in any clubs because they are so disorganized and full of cliques. The officers of the clubs are the one's that choose their friends to join. The dress code is ridiculous, when boys can wear tank tops and girl's can't. Why does it matter if your shoulders are showing. Another issue is the security. Security's job should be to keep people safe. But when really all they do is rat out kids for ridiculous reasons such as dancing in the hallway, having a holey sweatshirt, laughing too "loud", and not having a pass. They also, watch security cameras so they have a reason to take your phone away. Teacher's can either be amazing or horrible. Mostly horrible. Also, if your child is a new student good luck with them finding a true group of real friends. The people here are so fake and will stab you in the back in a heart beat. Also, kids are so cliquey so it is hard to make friends. And this is coming from a very social person. Hamilton only cares about football and half of the assemblies are only geared towards the football team winning. Hamilton is a terrible school..

Hamilton High School 4

Posted August 18, 2013
- a student
Hamilton is a wonderful school overall. The majority of the teachers are great and know what they're doing. There is always that one teacher that makes your year terrible however. IF this is the closest school to your area then definitely go! The campus is very safe with several security guards. In such a big school, there are both nice and mean kids- but it's pretty easy to make friends with so many choices. Hamilton's educational program is varied- ranging from low to high depending on your level that you start out with. However, it sucks for someone who does not play football- the school focuses on football and its games so that's sad. The school should really start restricting who can and can't go there because the hallways are incredibly crowded and the school was not built to handle so many people. During lunch, it's impossible to get in line and get lunch in twenty minutes unless you get there really early. The ASD policy is a joke unless ur in non-honors classes.

Hamilton High School 5

Posted July 01, 2013
- a student
Hamilton is an amazing school with a great sports programs for the students compared to a lot of schools. Hamilton also has many great sponcers and scouts to make sure that you get the scholarships you need while also focussing on the education.


Hamilton High School 5

Posted February 01, 2013
- a community member
Few schools can compete with the quality of education at Hamilton. Many people think of it as a "Jock School" and sure that rings true. But what truly sets it apart is it's commitment to excellence in education. More than 1/3 of students are enrolled in AP courses, even more in honors courses, and year in and year out is a Top 5 AP School in AZ. The teachers and administration always work with the best interest of students in mind, even if that decision isn't popular with the parents. While many may complain about the rules at HHS, the rules in place are the same rules that apply in life (except maybe with wearing your ID). The modified block schedule helps accentuate learning; giving students longer to master concepts and teachers the ability to help students either in small groups or in one-on-one settings. As far as the student body goes, the students are the same everywhere; some good, some bad, some bullies, some mean girls, some tough guys. No matter where you go you'll find those students at any school. But, the good ones certainly outweigh the bad ones.

Hamilton High School 1

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
If your kids are into being clicky and superficial then Hamilton is for you. We moved to Chandler when our daughter was a sophomore and our son a freshman. My daughter who very easy going and social could not break in with all the mean girls (real mean!) She moved to Perry and did extremely well and graduated with many close friends. We left our son at Hamilton because he was a athlete and involved in 3 sports. The coaches are terrible - really! There's a LOT of favoritism and their goal is not to develop character but to win and not in a good way. If your kid is into sports plan on no vacations (kids ARE benched for missing practices that are "required" over vacations and breaks.) My son was even benched for attending a funeral. Academics are okay, there are some great teachers and some really bad and they sure pile on the homework especially in AP and honors classes making it almost impossible to be an athlete and a good student. My son regularly went to bed at 2am, it killed me as he didn't want to give up his AP classes. With so many kids rules are tight to keep everyone in line. Prison comes to mind. Would not recommend.

Hamilton High School 5

Posted January 03, 2012
- a community member
I graduated from Hamilton High about 5 years ago now and graduated from college last year. I enjoyed going to this school. Security did a good job of keeping students in check and the faculty was always great to work with. The school has a closed campus versus Chandler High which has an open campus. I think a closed campus offers better security for the students and helps keep kids out of trouble as well.


Hamilton High School 5

Posted November 28, 2011
- a student
Hamilton High School is a great school, i have only been here for a few months and i can already tell that I'm going to have a great time. Hamilton has challenging programs like AP classes that anybody up for the challenge can take, AVID is also a great class as it helps you go through your honor classes and your life. AVID also gets you involved either be it sports or clubs. The main goal of AVID is to help you succeed and get you to college, it is a great class as well as Hamilton is a great school. In my opinion Hamilton is the best school in the state academically and in sports as it helps you get closer to the school with assemblies every second Friday talking not just about football but about everything going on in the school. Hamilton really makes you feel like you belong. GO HUSKIES!

Hamilton High School 1

Posted November 02, 2011
- a parent
I DISLIKE THIS SCHOOL ! I sent my son to this school for his freshmen year and he said they had an "assembly every friday" for football, Why The Heck would the Principal allow this ? it seems like the whole school cares more about football than EDUCATION ! hamilton to me is only better because its located less than a mile away, i didnt care if i had to drive more north to find a better school so i chose to take him to Chandler High School. the teacher and principal are very respectful, its better to take your child to chandler they offer higher level education like IB/AP and dual credit. Sorry hamilton maybe you guys should make your school a football academy and not an education school!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hamilton High School
3700 S Arizona Ave., Chandler, AZ  85248
(480) 812-7600
Last modified Hamilton High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hamilton High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. Top