Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kyrene De La Mirada School 5

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
Mirada has a highly dedicated principal, staff and PTO who synergize to create a friendly, creative and supportive learning community for students.

Kyrene De La Mirada School 5

Posted May 23, 2015
- a parent
Kyrene de la Mirada provides a positive, friendly environment that is challenging students to grow academically, improve their character and leadership skills and be a part of a community where diversity of all kinds is celebrated. The principal and assistant principal know an incredible number of parents and students by name because they take the time to get to know the families. Family and student input is welcomed and encouraged. Teachers knows their students' strengths as well as their needs and communicate about curriculum and student progress regularly with parents. The environment of the school is welcoming and home-like with art and inspirational sayings on the walls. The classes all follow the Lead In Me program and stay focused on the character strengths they are building. We love this school and have several friends who have come and loved it as well.


Kyrene De La Mirada School 5

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
We transferred out of boundaries to attend Mirada, rather than our "home" school within the same school district and we are so happy that we did. The lessons the students learn in this school are incomparable to other schools. In addition to the school curriculum, the students are learning the 7 Habits of Happy Kids and how to be respectful human beings. The lessons they are learning are things that will shape them in to amazing students, adults and future leaders. Another thing that amazes me about this school is the Principal and staff. They are all so caring and work so hard to have the students be the best they can be. On our initial tour of the school, I was amazed that 1- we were given the tour by two 4th graders and 2- Mrs. Branch, the Principal, addressed EVERY single student that we passed in the hallway by name. She is SO involved and care SO much about this school and the students. Our youngest is set to attended Mirada next year, along with our oldest and we are looking forward to the next few years when both our of our children will be in this loving and enriching school environment.

Kyrene De La Mirada School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
The Leader in Me program and 7 Habits is AMAZING! We have incorporated it within our home as well. It teaches the students to respect others, themselves and how to be decent human beings.

Kyrene De La Mirada School 2

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
I have 2 children currently enrolled here. All together we've been at Mirada for 4 years. Unfortunately this will be our last. Other than a few good teachers, this school has nothing great to offer it's students & families. The principle & vice principle are non engaging, the front office staff is typically cold & the PTO is unorganized & run together as a clique. It's gotten worse over the years. When I first started sending my children here the diversity was appealing, but now I have a whole new outlook. I've seen firsthand how many resources & time is spent on children with serious behavioral problems. & I don't mean special needs. Children who act out & disrupt the class throughout the day & pose potential threats to other students. This past year I was the only parent in both my children's classrooms who donated items on a constant basis. It really has me questioning, "Where does the money from the state & constant PTO fundraisers go? Why aren't other parents donating?" It's a disconnected environment where a lot of families aren't involved with their children's education. Look elsewhere.


Kyrene De La Mirada School 4

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
We moved to be able to send our child to a Kyrene school. After two years in the Tempe Elementary School District, we were very dissatisfied!!! Our move was worth it. For the first time, he is in an "A" rated school with quality teachers and academics. The Leader in Me program is fantastic! Expectations are set high for staff as well as students. The PTO was just formed last year and as a result it was a bit of a scramble and learning curve. I'm looking forward to more parent/community outreach and volunteerism as the organization grows.

Kyrene De La Mirada School 3

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
Very disappointed this school year with the school, not our child's teacher who was pretty great. In general, this is a mediocre school who celebrates their mediocrity as excellence. While they do have some excellent programs, such as the Leader in Me, the academics pale in comparison to other schools in the district and in the Phoenix-Chandler-Gilbert metro. Test scores that equate to a B, while good, are not the same as the excellence of an A. Front office staff is typically rude to parents, even those parents who are coming in to volunteer. I believe parent involvement is key to the success of the kids and school. PTA/PTO are typically the key to the involvement door. This PTO is very exclusive, certainly not inclusive. So if you are an outsider who has any gifts, talents or ideas to share - don't bother, because you will NOT be included. We were even told point blank that our help was not wanted. It's sad because this diverse neighborhood school has so much potential.

Kyrene De La Mirada School 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a parent
We just relocated here to AZ and not only do my children enjoy the school but we as parents enjoy the nice staff, teachers and friendly environment! We are very please!!!


Kyrene De La Mirada School 5

Posted June 26, 2007
- a parent
Academic programs are good, my son took part in many extracurricural activitis like paining, soccer, etc. My wife regularly volunteered in the class. We are happy with this school.

Kyrene De La Mirada School 3

Posted April 25, 2006
- a parent
The quality of academic programs is solid to good for AZ. That means anyone moving from the northeast, or any other area of the country will be severely disappointed in the lack of rigor in the academic program; both here and in the state as a whole.

Nearby schools

Kyrene De La Mirada School
5500 West Galveston St, Chandler, AZ  85226
(480) 541-1000
Last modified Kyrene De La Mirada School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top