Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kyrene De La Paloma School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 22, 2016
- a community member
Students are postured over, over crowed and the school lacks many of the programs that instill these qualities.

Kyrene De La Paloma School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 22, 2016
- a community member
Students are postured over, over crowed and the school lacks many of the programs that instill these qualities.


Kyrene De La Paloma School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 22, 2016
- a community member
Students are postured over, over crowed and the school lacks many of the programs that instill these qualities.

Kyrene De La Paloma School 1

Posted August 22, 2016
- a community member
Two kids proudly enrolled, but since a change in administrative staff it's not hard to see why this school lost it's A rating. It's B rating is quite generous. Priorities seem to have gone from nurturing to posturing over the students, as experienced by the majority of parents in the community circle. I'd advocate that those who are able to, not limit their children's formidable years to this institution. The Kyrene District has far better schools to select from.

Kyrene De La Paloma School 5

Posted July 21, 2016
- a community member
Both children have graduated from Paloma and had a great education along with a very supportive teacher staff!


Kyrene De La Paloma School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 21, 2016
- a community member
All staff members are responsible for every student, Thank you to all. All staff members work together!

Kyrene De La Paloma School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a community member
The life skills are taught to all students and teachers model them. There should be no limit to what a person supplies on this survey.

Kyrene De La Paloma School 4

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
We have had children at Paloma for 8 years now. We have had some great teachers that really care about our kids. This year has been amazing! Hands down Mrs Bobb is one of the very best teachers! The change she has made in my child's life this year is incredible!


Kyrene De La Paloma School 5

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
My daughter attends Paloma. I have been so happy with this school. There is a real sense of community here. The teachers are amazing, and the administration is wonderful, too. My daughter has already made some good friends and I have enjoyed getting to know their families as well. Staff and students all seem to enjoy being at school. We just attended their Spring Carnval last week. Such a fun event. We are excited to continue on at Paloma.

Kyrene De La Paloma School 3

Posted December 17, 2015
- a community member
My children are in their 5th year at Paloma. Up to this year (2015-16), I would have given 4 stars. Only missing out on 5 stars because of the principal. In years prior, Paloma was an amazing school that promoted a real sense of community. They were always very welcoming of parent involvement, and appreciative. When you walked into the office, the staff (minus the principal-even if she was in the room) would greet you by name or with a friendly smile and make a point to get to know students. I really felt like they were invested in every student at Paloma. This year, the office staff has turned over and the environment has completely changed. Checking in feels like I'm checking into visiting an inmate. I have been spoken to rudely and dismissed with any questions. I actually avoid going anywhere near the front office. Many of the other parents and even teachers have expressed similar feelings. The amount of parent volunteers is incredible! You can tell that this neighborhood cares about education. With 2 children, we have now experienced a total of 9 teachers. 5 were AMAZING! 3 were average. 1 is awful. She had absolutely no clue 6 months into the school year that my child has a learning disability and his work was clear evidence yet he had an A in a subject he was clearly at least 2 grade levels behind. Completely unacceptable. The principal is unpersonal and dismissive at best. It is obvious that she views her position as the CEO of the school and does not associate with parents or children. She is the manager of the teachers and nothing more. It's obvious as you see her throughout the school never making eye contact or greeting children or teachers. If my kids were not 4th and 5th graders, I would pull them out. It's very sad to see Paloma do a 180 turn for the worse. I hope they can pull it together or they are in serious jeopardy of losing students AND teacher's.

Nearby schools

Kyrene De La Paloma School
5000 West Whitten, Chandler, AZ  85226
(480) 541-1000
Last modified Kyrene De La Paloma School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top