Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kyrene del Cielo School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2007

The administration looks like all is well until there is a problem. Question even their processes and they are on the attack mode. All communications, the teachers, the administration through the PTO are poor. Out of district children are courted by the district, but definitely outsiders at this school. Three years here -- wish CUS were beter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

My daughter has been at Cielo for a year and a half now and her teachers and aides for the most part are pretty good. The principal is standoffish ...other than that, I think the school is pretty good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

This is our third year at Cielo. The teachers are typically outstanding, but I'm still highly unimpressed with the administration. Worse still, the district office staff show a level of intelligence up there with individuals filpping burgers. Additionally, their sensitivity to non-normal circumstances is nil.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Cielo is a great school with caring, dedicated teachers who go out of their way to help ensure that each student maximizes ther learning potential. The school has great music and PE programs and hoses the cstate certified Kids Club program both before and after school. This program allows kids to remain at school and take part in numerous extra curricular activites. The program is also coordinated with the schools academic program and helps kids get homework done and work on areas in which they need aditional help. The school has had a long term principal who is extremely focused on the success of each child. She has instituted a character education program and has helped foster it so the the school has an extremely caring and family oriented feel. The school has strong test scores and I hardily recommend it to parents seeking a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

Our child is just beginning his second year at Cielo. We have been very happy with the curriculum and teachers at the school. I was amazed to see that our opinion of the administation was shared with other parents. I went so far last year as to comment that the administration was out of touch with children of this day. We will continue to keep our son at Cielo through 5th grade if he is challenged by the curriculum and the teachers continue to show an interest in him. I did not feel, last year, that there was sufficient and timely communications about activities and PTO. We often knew about things the day of or the day after... I also didn't feel there was sufficient opportunities or sensitivity for working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

It seems that art education is still honored at this school. The halls are adorned with student art work that is absolutely stunning! The library is welcoming and well stocked. Science and history projects abound.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 11, 2005

Excellent school with a very good curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

I chose this school as a boundary exception because of quality reputation, direct positiven and in-depth feedback from other parents and teachers, and receptiveness of administrative staff. I have been most impressed with the high level of expectations of students including academics and behavior.The student population has changed to include a more diverse group, and the administration has been working toward increasing staff and student awareness of and sensitivity to each other. Professionalism and dedication to students is apparent every day as staff are easily accessible to parents/students. The gifted program provides excellent challenge for language arts and needs more 'out of the box' thinking for math (at the 3rd grade level). Administrative staff are strong and willing to work with parents. There is a strong group of parent volunteers both in and out of the classroom and the PTO is active. The more parent involvement, the better your experience will be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

My two kids as well as us, the parents, are very pleased and happy with this school. Great Teachers! and wonderful parents involvment. Would not do any different. Great Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

I have 2 children at this school. I agree most of the teachers are outstanding. However, I also agree with 'All goes well unless you raise a question or issue because appearance is more important than reality to the administration.' The administrations seems to favor certain parents who donate $ and time. The 5th grade boys can't play football because of rough play by several 'pet parent' kids. Rather than punish the responsible boys they punished all the boys by taking away football. I also agree there is a big problem with bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Kyrene del Cielo is a great place for my children to learn and grow. We will be graduating our last child this year and moving on to a new school. We doubt if any other school will be as warm and welcoming to parents and their needs as Cielo has been for all of these years. Our three children have blossomed under the direction of such fine teachers. The school administrators are such a part of the learning process and have always been receptive to all of our needs at any time. We appreciate the open door policy. We will miss you all dearly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2005

Sadly, I do have to agree with some of the other negative posts here regarding the callousness exhibited by some staff, and especially the laid-back and unprofessional attitude of the principal. We had special needs, and it never got attended to. The quality of teachers is substantially high, although being a Kyrene school, that's well expected. How I wish they could somehow rectify the gross invisibility of the Principal! Unless things change soo, this school is on its way to go downhill.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 18, 2005

Quality of academic programs: high Availability of music, art, sports, etc: High Level of parnt involvment: High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

Teacher-student ratio is not favorable, and individual attention to the students suffers as a result. Strong principal; very loyal to her staff and involved in every aspect of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

Several of my children attend this school and have been fortunate to have a couple of good teachers and a few that need to retire or find a new career. There are many opportunities to aid the school by xeroxing and fundraising; the parents are very supportive. All goes well unless you raise a question or issue because appearance is more important than reality to the administration. This is most unfortunate; the first step to solving a problem is admitting there is a problem. A huge number of parents end up hiring outside tutors for their children in basic subjects to compensate for what is not being taught in class. It is easy to be labeled a 'problem parent' if concerns are raised about school practices or academics. There is a lack of supervision on the play ground; historically, bullying is a quiet but real issue at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2004

Nice school, lots of older parents. Very old fashioned. Charges for full day kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

Kyrene Del Cielo is a wonderful school. We have two children (grades K & 2) who love their teachers. The teachers at Cielo are creative, caring, and organized. We see extensive parental involvement, in addition to the quality school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2004

Kyrene del Cielo offers a great education to my children. The parent-involvement at this school is unsurpassed and the administration is constantly striving to offer the best possible environment for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2003

As with any school, teacher quality can vary widely, and the principal can only deal with so many crises at once. My son is a fifth grader at Kyrene del Cielo, and has attended since kindergarten. In that time, he has gotten several outstanding teachers (you know who you are!), one mediocre teacher, and one atrocious teacher who was clearly in the wrong line of work. He was placed in the 'gifted' reading program, which one of his homeroom teachers was unfamiliar with, which presented some challenges for both the teacher and the student in adjusting to the schedule. My advice is: trust your instincts and stay involved in your child's curriculum. If you feel your child is not doing well in a particular teacher's class, get to the bottom of the situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2003

Two of my children currently attend Cielo in 1st grade. One is near the top of her class, the other entered Cielo with no English language skills. Both children's extremely different needs have been very well met by the staff and teachers. Highly achieving children in the lower grades are assigned to a special reading group and get extra credit homework that is both more advanced and fun. In addition, teachers are very open to modifying other classwork (such as math assignments)to provide more of a challenge. At the other end of the spectrum, the school staff and teachers have also worked with our non-English-speaking child to make the transition easier. The teacher went to some effort to prepare her class for our child's arrival, and our child received lots of caring support from teacher and classmates. Both Principal and Asst. Principal were also individually interested, involved and supportive of all family members throughout the process. Unfortunately English-limited students receive minimal ESL services (half hour pull-out a day) which I feel is inadequate. Overall, we have been very pleased with Cielo. In spite of its large size (and large class size), teachers, administrators and staff have been very open and committed to providing individualized service to meet any unique needs its students may have. The school climate supports racial, ethnic, and religious diversity. Truly more of a community than an institution!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 3%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1350 N. Lakeshore Dr.
Chandler, AZ 85226
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 783-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT