Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kyrene Del Pueblo Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

My daughter is a 6th grader and she loves all of her teachers. One of the things that impresses me about this school is they give their students plenty of tools to help them succeed. They also encourage kids to stick up for one another and rally against bullying. So far, I love Del Pueblo. Go bulldogs!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

I love this middle school! The teachers are excellent and they care about their students. Issues are communicated and dealt with appropriately and in a timely fashion . The new principal and staff are wonderful to deal with and they focus on individual accountability. This school stresses the importance of an top quality education in a safe, supporting environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

My daughter started this year and has had a wonderful experience with Pueblo she is top of her class and able to participate with extracurricular sports. She is often busy with homework. I think that the curriculum is appropriate and keeps her challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

I have the second of my three boys at Pueblo and I can't explain how wonderful this school is. My oldest son went to a local catholic school and when he came to Kyrene he was so behind. The teachers worked with him and we went from C's and D's to strong B's and a few A's. He's now in High School, doing A's and B's and I attribute that to his teachers at Pueblo. My youngest had the opportunity to attend the Elementary school right next door. He is truly a product of Kyrene and is now in the Honor's program at Pueblo. The teachers are amazing and keep the kids truly engaged. The office staff are always ready to help when you walk through the door. We purchased our home in the neighborhood for the sole purpose of bringing our kids into the district......the best decision we've ever made as a family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

I have had three children attend this school. One graduated while the other two still attend. My children have not been academically challenged and when asked for more work, the teacher's are reluctant. Children's homework is graded by the children, not the teacher. Hence the teacher does not know which area each child needs improvement in or has mastered. The gifted program is severly lacking as Kyrene has no official program in place for kids that need to be challenged. The staff is unsupportive. If you look at overall academic performance for this school since 2004, you will notice it has gone down and continues on a steady decline
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

I have had a positive experience at this school and now that i am gone I miss it deeply. The way the school spirit is awesome. Once you have gone there you are always a Pueblo Bulldog and that always stays with you. I have have had some pretty outstanding memories at this school. The teachers make it nice for the students to excel. As I said when I spoke at my Promotion Ceremony. 'This school has changed by life.' I had the best 8th grade teachers and it is amazing how they can change your life. My 7th grade teachers for the most part outstanding. I had the one teacher that was disorganized and didn't know what she was doing. Now that I am in High School I can tell you that I will never forget my amazing Middle School Pueblo. Pueblo Rocks Become a Bulldog!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2008

I am an 8th grader currently attending this school. The school is fantastic! I enjoy the new menus and teachers as well. I would really recommend this school. BULLDOGS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

I have gone to this school since 7th grade. I am in 8th grade now. I have some of the best teachers ever. last year i had some good teachers but others were really unorganized and didn't focus that well. You could tell that this teachcer was not have ing a good time. Other than that I have loved this school and am bummed that I will not be for another year. My experience here has been awesome. There is a lot of good memories that I will allways have fromt his school!! The Bulldogs rock!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

The school is definitely a challenging environment for students but in a very positive way. Feedback mechanisms (email, forms posted on web, and grade posting) as they relate to coursework for some instructors are lacking. Involved parents do not equal those parents who push to change grades or deny their child's behavior....that is the only frustrating aspect. Instructors deserve to be paid far more than they are. It is an environment where children are groomed for the challenges of high school much faster than I remember it back in the ancient times when I went to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

Pueblo is an excellent school with very seasoned teachers! My son is in advanced classes and is very challenged. He played academic catch up upon entering Pueblo from his other school. The administration has a great presence on campus and discipline is superior. The campus has a positive feel to it and once can sense great pride at the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

Excellent Teachers and staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

My daughter is coming from Monroe Middle School in NM where she was challenged in many ways. She had mandatory Physical Activity, as did all her peers. El Pueblo has a lower stress level than Monroe (however, all schools in Phoenix seem to have the same level), and they do not have mandatory Physical Education. El Pueblo is a good school. Teachers do their best to get kids to learn in a good way, but the level of stress they put on students is not close to the one they have in other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2006

My daughter is having a positive experience at Pueblo. She is in advanced classes, and her teachers appear to be caring and supportive. She is involved in band and sports, and has had good experiences with both. The school seems to be organized and run efficiently. So far so good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

My son has really enjoyed Pueblo. I am happy with the teachers for the most part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

The art and music departments are very good. My children have done very well at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

This school is o.k. This school has only junk food on the menu, like fries, pizza, milkshakes and burgers. Like I said, this school is o.k., but not reccomended. Go to Jacobson Elementary and Hamilton High School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2005

Pueblo was excellent for my child when he entered as a 6th grader. 7th grade has been fair, but not as good as 6th. My big concern is witht he entire distict. Kyrene is cutting Spanish for middle schoolers, making class periods 68 minutes long and cutting music and electives. I want my child to have a well-rounded education. The administration and school board has been unresponsive to parent concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

Quality of the teachers is very good. Very well organized school structure. Classes are grouped on the childrens learning ability which is great. Lot of info on the web and through emails which is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2003

Pueblo Middle School is overall a okay school. Although there is a lot of room for improvment. I would not suggest you send your child to Pueblo Middle School


Posted October 15, 2002

Parent involvement is weak, and not much room for participation.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 961-4152

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

360 S. Twelve Oaks Blvd.
Chandler, AZ 85226
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 783-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT