Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kyrene Traditional - Sureno Campus

Public | K-5 | 425 students

KTA is Kyrene's first Traditional Elementary School.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2013

First, disregard all the previous reviews from 2 years back. The Sureno campus is now a traditional academy, much like others in the east valley that use the name. As such, a traditional academy's curriculum and methods are different from non-traditional schools. Also, the current principal and many of the staff are also new to this particular school. Let me say that this school is excellent. My daughter was in kindergarten in KTA's first year. Her K teacher was Kyrene's new teacher of the year and was awesome. She was available to talk to and responds in a timely manner. The principal, Dr. Lescher, runs the school very well and communicates to everyone. That is one of the many things I like about KTA, YOU WILL KNOW WHATS GOING ON AT SCHOOL. Spalding reading and Saxon math works well. Parents must attend 4 events a year that have to do with your child's school and education and must volunteer 5 hrs/year. There is a dress code (very reasonable). And most importantly, kids are taught self-responsibility and respectfulness towards everyone. The traditional model is how a school should be and is what I grew up with. Thats why my daughter is there and not at her home school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Love KTA can't wait for my other kids to be in Kindergarten at there, My 8 year old child is so motivated every day to go to school , the environment is warm and the education programs really keep the children committed to learn. I'm so happy with the dress code as well, no more necessity of spending money in clothing for every season.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Having both my kids attend KTA is one of the best decisions I've made. Excellent teacher quality and an incredible Principal as an administrator, what more could I ask for. Hope KTA expands to K-8. Absolutely love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

My daughter loves the teachers here at KTA! This school has outstanding teachers and a dedicated principal! We look forward to a great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

I have a daughter who just started kindergarten at KTA. She was a little homesick the first couple of weeks but her teacher, Mrs. Cano, was so loving, understanding and supportive in helping her to adjust to the long school day and she loves going to school and learning with all her friends. The atmosphere at KTA is warm, nurturing and dedicated. All the staff and teachers really seem to have the kids best interest and safety at heart. I love the dress code. No hassle getting ready in the morning :) I love the curriculum with the spalding reading and writing program. The school wide behavior system with the 3B's: be safe, be responsible and be respectful is something that every school should implement. It is sad that you have to have your child at a school of choice to get the quality education and discipline that should be a given at every school. I love that KTA emphasizes the importance of academics, discipline, appropriate behavior within yourself and towards others and being a valued member of society - something that has greatly been lost in society today. By attending Kyrene Traditional Academy, my daughter will be a well prepared and successful member of society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

I absolutely love this school. I transferred my children here last year when the KTA curriculum was adopted and both my 1st and 4th graders are excelling more than at other school districts. I absolutely rave about the teachers, who really do care about the children and their development. They also try and focus on teaching critical thinking and trying new ways to address the required education that is passed down from state and federal guidelines. The after school extra curricular activities they provide are amazing and my kids beg to do them when they have signups. The campus is clean, safe and inviting. I recommend anyone looking into this school, to sign your children up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

Please note that the test scores are from 2011-2012 Before this school transitioned into a Traditional Academy. I can tell you that with the new curriculum 2012-2013 those scores will be much higher! In 4 years at this school we have never had any issues with bullying or anything. They teach students to be respectful, responsible, and safe!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

I enrolled my kids last year in this school, my son in Kindergarten and my in 3rd grade. I really like the teacher's participation and involvement with the kid s development. Each teacher and the principal provide strong leadership. The 3 B (Be respectful, be responsible and be safe) - practiced in this school helps promote the Child as an individual. This school provides a good base for a holistic development they encourage both academic and extracurricular activities. The traditional method of teaching language and math has proved to be very effective for my kids. They are able to spell, read, and write fluently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

As the Principal of Kyrene Traditional Academy, and as an educator for 30 years, I am extremely proud to be the leader of this amazing school! In our transformation to a Traditional School Model, we have kept the very strong faculty and staff relationships and dedication to student success while adopting very successful instructional programs such as Spalding Phonics and Reading and Saxon Mathematics. As a Kyrene School, we have the benefit of all that Kyrene has to offer and in our design of instruction for students, have made the Kyrene Traditional model stronger than traditional models at other East Valley schools. Students learn in rigorous and structured settings while also having opportunities for problem-based learning, collaborative group projects and incredible citizenship and leadership building activities daily. Our Honor Society and Student Council provide opportunities for service projects and our PTO has many exciting events and activities planed in both educational and social areas. New this year will be a STEM program for our gifted students that will be the first of it's kind in Kyrene! We invite you to KTA for an amazing learning environment !
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 10, 2013

As a teacher who has been associated with Kyrene del Sureno Elementary School now the new Kyrene Traditional Academy for over eighteen years, I remain excited & encouraged by the consistent support & staff efforts made to meet the needs of students, the high expectations that are set for academic excellence, & the opportunity to work closely with such a diverse community. Our students have made incredible strides in early literacy skills this past year! The daily (Spalding) phonograms practiced have greatly helped students link spoken sounds to print while reading and writing. Even kindergarten students have greater awareness with identifying the parts of speech & composing declarative, interrogative, & exclamatory sentences orally and when writing informative & narrative passages. Our children are encouraged to be self-disciplined, conscientious, & responsible citizens, scholars, friends. (Not to mention that they look darling in their uniforms too!) KTA is a great place to learn & grow. We care about each other & I am extremely proud to be a part of this dynamic community!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 3, 2013

My children attended this school before it was a traditional academy, and it was excellent then. The teachers are dedicated and committed often putting in extra time. This has not changed with the transformation to traditional. The uniforms are an excellent addition, the discipline plan is spot on and has improved the school over all. I can't say enough.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 2, 2013

My son has gone here since kinder and will be in the 5th grade this year. I was really hesitant about the switchover from a regular school to a traditional one. However my son was adamant that he continue here so we tried it out. What has stayed the same is the consistency of professional teachers and staff. The curriculum is different but my son did well with the addition of the Spaulding program. I love the idea of the uniforms - the kids look so great and getting ready for school is so easy now. I also thought the requirement of parental involvement was great and not too much of an issue for working parents as they had lots of options on getting involved. I would recommend this school to anyone - it's a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2013

My fifth grader has attended this school since Kindergarten, and I've been really pleased with the recent transition to the traditional academy format. The teachers have high academic and citizenship standards for the children. Her home room teacher and her gifted teacher quickly responded to my questions and were easily accessible by phone and email. My daughter really enjoyed her science and gifted class and the after-school drama program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2013

An excellent school bringing in a proper blend of academics , discipline and behavior. The teachers are so involved and very reciprocative. Totally satisfied with the choice of this school for both my boys ( 4th grade and K ).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

This is truly an awesome school. High academic standards, uniforms, school behavior plan, parent involvement, lots of school activities, active PTO, caring and professional teachers. What more could a parent ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

I have tried this school for 3 years now. I can tell you that it is not a good school. Even in the middle of the year I am always thinking on moving my daughter out from Sureno. My daughter is a gifted child and very smart for that school. Instead of being supported by the teacher and really pushed to her limits, to reach her potential. she is kept down and treated with mediocrity. The teacher is really light-headed and does not work well with the gifted or the above average children. And to think that this teacher is specialized for the gifted education, than I could probably do a better job with much child at home. The PTO is a clan, and the teachers want to be only on the comfortable side, so they don't work as they should do. I give this school only 1 star and it is too much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

This school seems to do very well academically but the teachers do not seem to work well with the students. My daughter attended the 5th grade there and had a hard time with the teacher because she did not catch on to some of the subjects as the teacher had expected. My son is now in kindergarten there and I am not thrilled with the way the teacher is with my son either. If the students do no conform and act like robots there is a problem. There is no individuality in this school, every child is expected to act perfect it seems and learn exactly the same way. In all hopes we will not be returning again next year or change schools soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

My daughter goes there. It is a wonderful place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

As a parent of a child that will be entering the 12th Grade in Chandler next year, I would like to commed the teachers, staff and the PTO organization at Sureno for ensuring that my son received the foundation to excell at a higher level in his elementry school years. It is because of the strong foundation and teachings that my son will graduate with honors next year. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

We moved here from Minnesota, leaving behind a top notch education. This is the second year my children are at del sureno and I am very pleased. The first and fifth grade teachers challenged my children appropriately. There are many hands on activities, as well as assignments where kids can express themselves. I am happy and my children are thankful each day for their school and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 42%
Hispanic 31% 42%
Black 11% 5%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • High Performance Award from Arizona Department of Education (2012)
  • "A" Grade from Arizona Department of Education (2012)
  • Exemplary Program Award from AZ Educational Foundation (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Kyrene Principal of the Year, Dr. Lescher (2013)
  • Kyrene New Teacher of the Year, Ms. Casper (2013)
  • Most Improved Energy Efficiency Building AZ K-12 (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • After school enrichment program
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Marianne L. Lescher
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 541-5410

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
  • Traditional Model of Instruction
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • After school enrichment program
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Some bussing within boundaries
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Kyrene Family Resource Center
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • In our first year as Kyrene Traditional Academy, we have exceeded expectations for students, parents and our community! Our recent Parent Survey results (3/13) indicate that over 97% of parents feel we are challenging their children to reach high academic standards and 100% of parents feel we are teaching students very positive behaviors! As Kyrene's first Traditional Academy, we offer Spalding Reading, Saxon Mathematics and use Jr. Great Books to challenge ALL students in all grades!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
125
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
125

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Aprende Middle School
Corona del Sol High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3375 W. Galveston Rd.
Chandler, AZ 85226
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 541-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT