Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Clarkdale, AZ
Students enrolled: 479

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School 1

Posted October 17, 2011
- a parent
My child was bullied daily. When I would pick her up I would always ask her how school was and she would start crying. She would tell me how the teachers wouldnt listen to her the kids were mean to her they would call her names and when she would try to tell someone they would turn their heads. Important papers were getting sent home. I almost missed picture day cause no one sent home the order form. I had to transfer her ASAP. Academically it may have a higher rating but rates dont matter when students arent being treated well and hate school. She cried on her way to school and cried the whole way home. Very disapointed!

Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School 3

Posted May 09, 2011
- a parent
I'll be surprised if this review shows up on here. Bullying at this school runs rampant. I have seen playgrounds full of children and not one adult paying attention to what is going on. The principal generally takes a back seat. Children are humiliated when they are in trouble by putting them on stage in the cafeteria! Are you serious? Sounds like Nazism or militant practices to me. And I know a couple of instances the facts were not researched before disciplining the child. Some of the teachers are good. Talk to other parents before placing your child here.


Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School 4

Posted December 03, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended 3rd grade at Clarkdale-Jerome and is currently in 4th grade there. I also have a son in kinder this year. We have been impressed with the administration (they know ALL the children that attend the school) and the teachers who seem truly invested in the development of the students. This is quite a small school and yet still has some diversity. There are only two classes per grade level. My only gripe has more to do with AZ curriculum than w/ this particular school. There is no advanced placement learning program in the school, but there is an extra-curricular group that participates in Odyssey of the Mind.

Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are very creative with their teaching techniques, so the children love their classes and homework. They are also caring, considerate, and rather than pushing punishments, they push rewards - the children try their hardest to achieve and move forward. Since my children started attending Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary, they have completely turned around their negative experience at the previous school - now they love school, enjoy their homework assignments (yes, you read that right), and strive to pass their tests doing the best they can! CJS has to be the best school around, they deserve to win because they will actually use the money properly and have the intelligence to know how to use it to better the school.

Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
They have the brightest teachers and students in the Verde Valley!


Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 16, 2008
- a parent
Clarkdale Jerome School has always been a wonderful school. I went there and now my child attends. Front office friendliness would be a good impovment as would the principal being more front and center rather than Mrs. Lysell. Middle shool teachers are very good in understanding and teaching culture. The math dept needs help! Science is very good and would like to see more emphasis on Science Fair. Sports are handled very well!Overall a good place to educate your child.

Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School 4

Posted March 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2007
- a teacher
Supportive community and dedicated personnel at this school makes the difference.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School
1615 Main Street, Clarkdale, AZ  86324
(928) 634-5035
Last modified Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top