Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coolidge High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

I'm so glad I decided to come to CHS than Imagine Prep and Florence! Don't believe the old reviews from 5-6 years ago! We have a brand new awesome administration and a great superintendent! While CHS is continuing to expand and grow, it still needs someone support from the community! Imagine Schools isnt what you think it is! I am being challenged in AP classes (who has straight a's) and doing great in extracurriculars! CHS is just awesome!


Posted January 17, 2013

CHS has many amazing activities and opportunities to offer. They offer many AP and honors classes for students who are looking for that extra push in school. The teachers develop a strong bond to the students to make educating them easier and more fun. The students get a lot of one on one with the teachers and the parents can talk to the teachers whenever they want. Many people say a lot of negative things about CHS but they are based on the old school before it was COMPLETELY changed. Their sports program is EXCELLENT. Although their test scores may not be the highest, the teachers and all staff push their students to the maximum and sometimes the students just don't try. I love Coolidge High School and recommend it to everyone.


Posted September 20, 2011

I am a 3rd year teacher at CHS and absolutely love the school,students and administration. You will find an enviroment that challenges students as well as nurtures divesity. The curriculum offers AP classes and honors classes that has technology integration that rivals many universities. Come check us out!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 22, 2010

I had the opportunity to see the CHS dance group AMP perform for elementary students last week. These students were doing a great job. There goal is to moving people through dance to make good decisions. It was nice to see that CHS has a wide variety of choices for students that provide encouragment for good decision making.


Posted November 17, 2010

I have been an administrator for almost four years at Coolidge High School. I was the assistant principal for two years from 2007 to 2009. I am currently in my second year as principal. I am proud to be the principal of this very unique and special school. The students and parents of this community are wonderful! We are under construction right now so we can continue with the rich tradition of educating our youth in this community. I would like to invite anyone to come to the campus and see the changes that we have made. We are the proud BEARS of Coolidge High School.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2009

My Grand Daughter goes there and is on the Swim team. The school needs all the encouragement it can get. it is in a depressed area, rural, and good teachers are hard to snag. some are beginning to go to college and return to help their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

When I moved to az and my parents showed me the high school I refused to go there I tired to go to any other school and was put on waiting list. I was a san tan student who was bused out there for a couple years until San Tan Foothills was finished but after my freshmen year i refused to switch schools. Yeah the school isn't in the best area and sure some of the staff isn't great but people need to look past that. I have improved my math performance and have been doing a lot better then I used to. The only problem Iv'e had there was when Mr. Greer was the principal and forced us to wear I.D. tags. I'm now a Senior class of 2010 and I'm proud to be a Coolidge Bear :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2009

i think this school is ok. but our teachers want us to respect them and they don't even respect us. and i think that is unfair.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2009

Our school is woried more about us having a peace of plastic around our neck, then ure education time. If for some reason we forget our so called id's then we are sent of to BMC. The second time we are suspended for nine days. That to me is taking to much advantage over us as students. Our school wants respect from us, but they dont show it to us. Respect is something that is earned, and so far our school has done nothing to deserve it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2008

CHS lacks organization. Not only the highschool, the entire district. The effort made in trying to make this place better is becoming more and more visible. As a school though, it doesn't have many clubs that aren't involving sports.Coolidge does have outstanding sports programs, but that is all it has.In the classroom all that is taught is how to pass the AIMS, and no one learns otherwise. The way teachers teach also isn't to great. My test scores have dropped considerably since I've come here. I need credits as a highsschooler.I have already lost nearly all of them simply from tardies because I couldn't get to my classes on time.[like nearly all freshmen] I have classes at both campuses and 5 mins to get here and back.The new principal says 'Walk faster'.The tardies add to absences and the excuses for these are strictly limited.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

I feel this is one of the worst schools my daughter has been too. I agree with the last post they are only taught what is on the AIMS and then the rest of the time is goofing off or in assemblies They are not preparing them for college at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

This school is the worst school in the states I have lived in. The children only learn how to talk and be disrespectful, and not tell the truth. I say, get your child out of this school before it rub off on them. They learn very slowly, and only taught mostly how to pass an AIMS test, nothing more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

Loove the school. lots of fun adventures :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2008

I am a parent and have not been to any awards assembly or honors program that was attended by the Principal or Sup. They are not involved with any of the accademic programs that I know of
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

i have been going to coolidge for 2 years its the best school. i had just recently transferd high school[s]. i must say they are realey bad i havent liked the [new] school at all, but i must say, coolidge has a lot better sports and other after school activites.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2007

I went to CHS for a week and thought it was terrible. I came back 5 months later and feel absolutely different about it now. CHS has a lot to offer. We have awesome after school activities and our sports program is deffinatly amazing! Sure we don't have the best administration or teachers but they are doing they're best! And they improve everyday. It's not the teachers fault if a student doesn't learn. What you put in is what you'll get out... Coolidge High is a great school with great teachers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2006

Everyone has a friend. I know that there are some academic problems but students have so many opportunities. It is not the school or the teachers fault the students do not learn. Children get whatever out of it as they put in. If they do not try at all they will not learn. There are many afterschool activities that people do not know about. There are academic clubs, point team, sports, band, dance line, tribal club, black awareness... and much more. There is also CAVIT which helps students that know what they want to do be able to start in high school. CHS is a great school and getting better. I just wish people would actually look at the school not the people.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 21, 2006

As a former graduate of CHS,not to many after school activities were availalve at CHS, mostly sports, I do think that cultural awareness needed to be addressed, besides music and drama, and the school clubs, nothing else was available. Now that Coolidge is growing, it would be nice to see more cultural events. They have such nice performing arts facility at Coolidge H.S. More events, and concerts for the school and the community need to be presented . I ask parents to voice their support for cultural events & activities, so that their child can participate and enjoy the use of the Performing Arts auditorium. Great potential at Coolidge
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 1, 2006

I think this school is the worst in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

Academic programs are struggling. The teachers need more training and the students need to push themselves a bit harder, though honor students do quite well at the school. The availablility of extra-curricular activities, including, sports, music, and vocatuional programs is outstanding and unlike any other school I have seen. Coolidge really excells in all of these areas. Many students graduate with nursing, computer and cosmetology certtificates. CAC provides close proximity that Coolidge really takes advantage of. Graduates from Coolidge may attend CAC for free for two years, provided they complete the appropriate paperwork. The district is growing by leaps and bounds, with new construction all of the time. The future is promising.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 43%
White 26% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 21% 5%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 723-2306

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 West Northern Avenue
Coolidge, AZ 85228
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 723-2040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Summit School
Florence, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT