Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 590 students

our schools is best known for its safe, friendly environment for students.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2010

I know many of the teachers and staff at West School. They do a wonderful job of educating the students and deserve a lot of credit for what they do. They work extremely hard and make the school a safe learning environment.


Posted July 10, 2009

I love the staff at West School, especially the nurse. She has done so much to help my child who has been having trouble adapting to changes in our lives. He frequents her office with various complaints and she does an excellent job of weeding out what is physical and what is emotional. She seems to know just what to do for either problem and I know that she'll call if there is a serious problem and handle the others so I don't have to leave my job. I can't say enough good things about her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

I believe West School is a school with a dedicated staff who works hard and cares about their students. There have been many changes and when you enter the campus you can see alot of changes with students, staff and parents. We still have areas to work on but so do all schools. Regardless of what parents think all schools are concerned about the AIMS it may seem they are only teaching to the test but they have to get them ready and tmake sure are ready so they can do well on it. They have to make sure all the standards are covered as time permits and they only have 8 months to teach 9 months worth of standards. Teachers here put in long hours to work with students. Teachers do send weekly reports home, unfortantaly these reports don't always make it home with the student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 20, 2007

I think West School is Wonderful My daughter goes there and loves it. Shes getting good grades and they have a lot of P.T.O meetings that everyone gets involved in. They have a lot of after school programs that kids get involved with!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

I completely disagree that there is no communication. My son was having a hard time in the second grade and I was getting calls from the teaching letting me know what was going on. The Vice Principal even called me to talk about it. My kids have been going there for two years and I think the teachers and staff are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

I just wanted to say that I have read other parent's issues and I too have the same ones. The biggest one is communication or should I say the lack of. It is absolutely ridiculous that we as parent's can't receive updates, information on school functions. My concern is for my son who is in 7th grade this year and requires some extra help in most classes how am I to be sure that he is going to get the adequate help to succeed. How can you run a successful school without the proper tools(like school books for homework).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

I too would like to say that I am very disappointed in the facilty of West Elemtary. I have actaully decided to home school because of my experience with the school. The teachers have a lack of involvment with the parents, they have trouble maintaining control in the class room. In conclusion I would recommend not sending your children to West quality of education is important to you. It works well enough as a free 'day care'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

I feel that this school is very antiquated in their procedure and not stepping into the future. The teachers that I have been familiar with are not dedicated to the learning process and I felt like I was being worked against, when I tried to voice my concerns my child was having. I only dealt with this school for 2 years, but I had a issues that were never addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2003

Our son went to kindergarden this year at West School and we were very disappointed with the school's quality. They were very noncommunicative with us. The teacher did not respond to our requests for a call, she felt that communicating in writing was the way to go. Picking up a phone was almost out of the question to her. They changed the last day of school but never sent notice home notifying parents of the change. We always found out about special concerts, art shows etc. on the day of the event, therefore missing out on a music performance, art show and science show that our son was involved in. I would not recommend this school to anyone. If at all costs, do not move into the Coolidge School District. You will be very dissapointed.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 43%
White 23% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 11% 5%
Black 7% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
School Leader's name
  • Gerald Streit
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (520) 723-2707

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
HoHoKam Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

460 S. 7th St.
Coolidge, AZ 85228
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 723-2702

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT