Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Corona De Tucson, AZ
Students enrolled: 439

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Corona Foothills Middle School 2

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
My child went to Corona for two years. I think that the administration tries very hard to resolve the issues of bullying and drug use but there is still way more at this school than at other schools we have been at. The administration does do a good job of following up on student's complaints but it is just a very rough student population. I wouldn't recommend this school because of the bullying. Additionally the sports programs and other extracurricular activities are very unorganized and not of a good quality. My child is really happy to be leaving.

Corona Foothills Middle School 4

Posted June 13, 2009
- a student
In my years going here and learning, overall it was good. The teachers were kind of unfair at times but that didn't stop the kids from learning. The teachers still decided to have fun activities and they stuck with it. I know that some of the teachers decided to stick to their first impressions but that didn't stop anyone from showing their true side. The cameras tehy installed were a waste of money though because they hardly used them. They threated that the cameras were on at all times but not once did i see them active. The flood problem has been worked on but the project they are doing is not yet finished. They also closed down the field to put grass in instead of rocks and dirt but that project lasted for monthes and never got finished while i was there.


Corona Foothills Middle School 1

Posted May 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Corona Foothills Middle School 3

Posted February 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Corona Foothills Middle School 5

Posted November 04, 2006
- a parent
The staff seemed to do the best they could contending with construction. We have been very pleased with the quality of the teachers and discipline seems to be fair and reasonable. The school and the district appear to be great with inclusion and special needs. Our one complaint with the district is an overemphasis on benchmark and other standardized testing (a countrywide trend, unfortunately). The school is highly ranked - great for the school board and area real estate agents - but too much emphasis on standardized testing and results is not good for teachers or students.


Corona Foothills Middle School 2

Posted October 03, 2006
- a student
'I think this school system is completely messed up because the teachers (quite a few of them) are not able to do any of the fun things they plan for the students, thus making the entire school year boring and each day always the same. Students hate getting up in the morning for school, and only a handful actually enjoy ANY of their classes. They complain about how the staff refuses to listen to what THEY say, insisting on believing their first impressions on a student. The staff does not allow the students to make amends, instead they hand out punishments like the students didn't even have a reason for their actions! Sure, these actions might be wrong, but instead of punishing just one kid, why not find out the source of the problem by talking to them, and understanding their situation?'

Corona Foothills Middle School 4

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Corona Foothills Middle School 3

Posted July 07, 2006
- a student
For Corona's first year of openning, it wasn't impressive at all. They had promised the school to be completed by the start of the school year and had forced kids going to Old Vail, to switch to Corona becasue of no bus trasportation in certain areas. We didn't get a real classroom until a couple months in and when the rains came, a lot of classrooms flooded making us use the library as a makeshift place to learn. The gym still wasn't done by the end of the school year and the band and choir was forced to use the MPR as classrooms and have to set up everyday. Security is good though because they installed cameras over spring break.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Corona Foothills Middle School
16705 South Houghton Road, Corona De Tucson, AZ  85641
(520) 762-2040
Last modified Corona Foothills Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Corona Foothills Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top