Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sycamore Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

Sycamore is a school in a rural area that is coping with over crowding this year. There are many new teachers, some of who could use a little more experience in my opinion. I am never worried about the safety of my child and am thankful for the on-site preschool and after care program which I need as a family with 2 full time working parents. I like the schools stance on healthy eating and no sugar allowed (even at birthdays), but wish some of the school lunch options were healthier. The school is very aggressive about education and my daughter is often doing work at a much higher level than other kids we know that are the same age/grade at other local schools and out of state. The parent involvement is immense by some but lacking as a whole. Overall, my daughter has made good friends and has a close relationship with her teacher and other staff- all while getting a very good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

My daughter has been attending Sycamore since Preschool. We couldn't be happier. The Principal Mr Graff is very supportive of the teachers, staff and students. The teachers strive to make sure each student is learning at his/her potential. Corona has a small town feel and Sycamore feels very much like a family. The school consistently gets an A rating from the school and has very high standards for its curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My kiddos go to Syacamore Ele. When we came back from overseas..I did a lot of research. I found this school. I told my realtor that this is the school that I wanted my kids to attend! We have been here for two years and it is OUTSTANDING!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

I would not suggest to parents with children whose child can read and do math above grade level to enroll their child here. It's a one size fits all education at least as far as I've seen in grades K-2. It's a shame they don't understand want differential education is all about. My child could add in Kindergarten and they have him connecting the dots still in first grade. What a waste of a good mind. The sad thing is when we tried to bring it to the teachers attention she was extremely rude and insulting. She spoke to us as if we were inferior to her intellect. Shame on the district for letting Sycamore Elementary and some of their teachers believe their above doing what s in the best interest of the student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

I couldn't be more pleased with this school. One of the best schools in the state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

Awesome! My kids go here and it has been very good for them. They're teachers are very good at making sure each childs individual needs are taken care of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

Sycamore is our 4th school and by far the best. I have 3 kids that go there now and 1 going soon. We will never leave Sycamore!!! The staff is excellent, very communitive. I fell like I have a huge family in Sycamore. Very community oriented, and great for my kids!! Mr. Graff is the best principal, very caring and makes an effort to know the kids by name. I love that they teach the kids more than reading, writing and arthmatic, but also responsibilty, caring and how to work!! The partents are givien oppertunities to get involved,and the PTA is going strong here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I love how Sycamore seems to bring together our families & commuity. The staff is remarkable & our children are excelling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It is an A+ school, excelling school. Very family and community oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Parents, staff, and community come together for the children. It feels like family!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2010

Sycamore has earned an A+ Award for excellence. The school provides many opportunities for gifted students and support through mentors for children to help them by example. All three of my children have benefited from these programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

Sycamore is by far one of the best schools, my children and I have had the privelage of being involved in. Mr. Graff is an excellent prinicipal and really cares about his students and staff. I have been completely impressed with all aspects of this school. I would totally recommend this school to anyone looking to relocate in this area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Sycamore is an excelling A+ school. They always strive to make the children succeed to their best abilities. Parents are strongly encouraged to participate in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

We transfered to sycamore after having our children in Dept of Defense schools in Japan. The school was on par with the curriculum at DoDs school (which are normally ranked in the top 10% of schools in the nation) Kudos to Ken Graf and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

We have been in the Vail District for 5 years and we LOVE it! My kids have attended Desert Willow, Mesquite Elementary and are now at Sycamore. We have been with Sycamore for 3 years and I would have to say it is an OUTSTANDING school! I would like to give some praise to one of Sycamore's finest teachers, Mrs. Kim Balstad. She cares for each one of her students as if they were her own and in her class there is no such thing as failing. Kim Balstad is one of a kind! I would like to see Sycamore offer more extracurricular activities and spend a little less time on testing. I know that when I drop my children off to school each day they are in safe hands. I look forward to another great year with Sycamore!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

Our daughter transferred from TUSD to Vail School District when we moved and it was the best move we could have ever made. The testing definitely identifies where she needs to improve and those areas are addressed. Vail also offers intersession help for those students that need it. That is a big bonus. The onsite aftercare is also excellent. While we have not had any reason to interface with the principal, the entire staff certainly gives an air of 'open door' policy. The teachers do an excellent job of communicating with parents through newsletters; we always know what's going on in the classroom. The kindergarten curriculum is more challenging than in the other school my son was enrolled in. My kids have been at Sycamore collectively for 4 years. We feel we have had great teachers, even the teachers who were in their first year of teaching were excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

My wife and I took our daughter out of the school due to a discipline issue in her classroom. There was no support from administration other than a meeting to pacify the situation and appease us. The other parent's comments about the only thing they rely on is testing is correct.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I recently moved to the Vail area from California and was so concerned about my children starting school in a new area, however I am so pleased with my childrens academic success and with all of the teachers and other staff. Everyone here is great and my children are doing very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

When had chose a house to be built in the Vail School district because it is one of the top 5 districts in Arizona. I am disappointed in the way this school educates, disciplines, and disregards my suggestions. I will not list every little detail. I think it unnecessary and unrespectful for my child to be recognized as a number and not by his name. However he is known by his name when he reprimanded. There is no sport activities. Sycamore concentrates on testing scores. This is his second year at Sycamore. Maybe the last.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My daughter has done so well at Sycamore.She absolutely loves it.She has straight A's, and she loves her teachers.The principle, Mr. Graff, is excellent and genuinely cares for his staff and students.I have found that even though my daughter has only attended Sycamore for kindergarten and 1st grade, other teachers know her by name and make it a point to know each student on a first name basis, which makes me feel extra comfortable knowing that she is being watched over and cared for by everyone there.The staff also encourages parent participation whenever possible, which is also comforting to know I can drop in anytime to check on my daughter and her teachers.I definitely recommend Sycamore to anyone thinking of registering their kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 42%
Hispanic 24% 43%
Black 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 762-9031

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16701 S. Houghton Road
Corona, AZ 85641
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 762-2040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT