Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Accelerated Learning Charter School

Charter | K-8

 
 

Living in Cottonwood

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $98,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2012

I love this school and more importantly, my child loves this school. The teachers are willing to help a child learn, each individual child. Bullying is definitely not tolerated here! I'm so happy I changed my child from the public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

My daughter is at ALCS and I am very impressed with all of the teachers that I have met. She is very happy there, which has not been the case at her previous school in Sedona. The principal is professional but also is very kid oriented and always has a smile on his face. The director seems very knowledgeable and has answered all of my questions. The director, principal and all of the teachers are there to greet each student as they enter the grounds. I have watched and they seem to know everyone by name. My daughter has brought home so many amazing things that she is learning and it is just the first month of school. I feel very lucky to have found such an awesome environment for my daughter to spend her day and with such a loving family at her side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

ALCS is a Montessori based charter school. I am very impressed with the education my children receive there. ALCS employ fabulous teachers and is a close nit community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

This school has an excellent preschool and kindergarten program - retaining the same teachers, Ms. Renee and Ms. Sherri, for a 5th year. This classroom has a strong community, high academic standards, and nurtures a love for learning. The 1st and 2nd grade classroom, retaining Ms. Kara for a 4th year, utilizes the qualities introduced in the Pre-K and K classroom, and builds upon that strong foundation. She has a rich curriculum and makes peace and communication a priority. The 3rd/4th and 5th/6th/7th grade teachers have just completed their first year at ALCS and I would like to see them grow to meet the same quality I see in the other classrooms. The art program with Ms. Tina is phenomenal!!! The work produced by these students is at their highest potential. Ms. Patti, the principle, is a good listener and quick to respond to student and parent needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

I am a grandparent and currently my grandchildren are enrolled in Accelerated Learning. I cannot say enough good things about the school in general and the staff in particular. The entire school culture is one that promotes positive life skills and academic excellence.


Posted May 1, 2009

We moved to this area, heard great things about ALCS and sent our child there. Two years later, and soon to be a third since our child will continue to attend ALCS, I must say the recommendations people told us about ALCS were very accurate. The small class size is wonderful, the safe environment is very appreciated, and the teachers and staff are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

We have been a part of the ALCS family for more than 3 years now and we couldn't be happier with the quality of education our children have received. The individualized instruction, small class size and safe environment that ALCS provides for our children makes it a great school. We will be there for many years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

ALCS is a dedicated and personable school. My child's needs are met above and beyond my expectations for a leaning institution. No one person is ALCS. It's a community of parents and educators that come together for the children to have a exceptional learning experience. Besides the basics ALCS offers many after school enrichment programs.... We love ALCS and will be attending for many years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

My son has attended ALCS for two years and will began a third year. We love this school. The Teachers the Administration they are Excellent..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

I love this school! My son is in 2nd grade and I intend to send my daughter for preschool next year. I have never found the teachers or staff to be 'stuffy' or any other negative attributes. I believe that my son is getting the best education possible. We love you ALCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

I had my daughter in Kindergarten,I had decided to not have her attend first grade even before Miss Elaine left. She was the best at this school. I'm glad she is not going there now. The people who run the school always seem to be stuffy and down in the mouth. Miss Elaine was a huge loss to the school. They could have learned alot from her. The school goes through a lot of teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

This school seems to go through a lot of teachers. I took my daughter out after Kindergarten, only because they lost the best teacher, Elaine Anderson. Leadership is minimal. Parent involvement in Elaine's class was very high, unlike other classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 24% 43%
Two or more races 10% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

320 South Main Street
Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Phone: (928) 634-0650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT