Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

American Heritage Academy

Charter | K-12 | 290 students

AHA is best known for promoting America's founding principles.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2013

This is really a GREAT school! The small classes and community environment really promote students love of learning. My child has attended this school for many years and would not want to leave. Many of the teachers know students outside their own classes/grade level and recognize them by name. They also really care about helping each student reach their full potential. Even with the change in administration I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

My child went to this school but will not return. Only if the student is making great grades and dresses like they are from 1950s, do they get any respect. At first it was okay, but then the true colors came out. They don't always help a child, even though there are small classes. There is one teacher who is respectful of kids and really tries to help. Wish I could put his name on here. History is extremely biased. Uniforms are a good thing, really helps with cost of clothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

AHA is okay but I wouldn't say it's GREAT. They turned management over to a Charter School Management Company in 2012 and things haven't been the same. They've had numerous teachers arrested for inappropriate behavior with students. Some convicted some not in the past 5 years. In my opinion all the good quality teachers left except one. The place is definitely NOT a community. I'd say more like a place that takes reform students. Oh yeah, it's tons better than the local public school alternatives, but it has it's issues, just like any other school. Read the dates on reviews. Not the same school at all that it was in 2004. My kid got a better education than a public school would have offered but there were tons of issues with kids fighting, drugs, teachers getting arrested, fired. Drama, drama, drama. Could we have done better? Maybe online ... so you are talking the lesser of the evils.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

I enjoy my daughters attendance at American Heritage. She was tested into kindergarten a year early and both her kindergarten and 1st grade teachers never use her age to excuse her behavior. She is expected to act and learn at the pace of the entire class and she is thriving. Thank you Mr White in Camp Verde for placing my child in your class to give her the start that she so deserves, she is eating up the learning so quickly. Also thanks to Mrs Plapp in Cottonwood campus for her teachings to ensure my child stays on task with the class and is doing an amazing job!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

My children have been attending this school for quite a few a years and I can say without a doubt that I am very happy with their progress!! Classes are small so that students can receive the attention that is so vitally important in a learning environment. Students wear uniforms so there is no fighting about what clothes to wear (love that bonus). Most importantly, the teachers take pride in their work which goes a long way in creating tomorrows leaders today! Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 23, 2011

My two kids, 9 and 10, go to AHA and have for 4 years now. Yes like anywhere there are challenges but that is a given as your child grows up. Personalities are all different as well as learning abilities and each situation is different and parents must stay involved no matter where the child attends. The teachers have been great in working with me to keep my son on the right track (as he is a typical boy that his main focus is to play and have fun and not do school work). AHA also focuses on teaching our kids to become better people in the community. Getting them involved in mandatory community service acts is fabulous and teaches my kids about helping others. We love AHA and recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

I am currently being educated at this school I highly reccomend this school. The teachers actually get you very interested in the subject of which they are teaching and after I learn something in school i usually ruch home so I could learn more about it. But yeah if you are looking for a good education for your child American Heritage is the place to take them. And I must say do not take the kid to Mingus High it does not look good on a college transcript.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2006

I am a former student of A.H.A. Personally, I think that this school was the best school for me. I learned a lot more than I would have in any public school in the Verde Valley Area. ( I am a former student of CVUSD as well) I think that the schooling was great. Now that I am a parent, I am looking for a good school in this area.. and I am having a very hard time doing so. I would worry about the safety and discipline issues with this school. If they could crack down on this isses, my kids would be there in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2006

My child has attended for 3 years. This year next year I feel she will be better off somewhere else. There have been many changes at this school since she began and I am not happy with proceedures reguarding discipline and parental involvement. There were many issues this year where I should have been contacted. This school is great for a classical education. Not for students who struggle with learning. Not for students with a need for independance/ uniqueness/expressiveness. Though student/teacher ratio is very low, the choice of changing teachers if problems arise between student & teacher is nonexsistant. If parents aren't invited to be involoved in these situations, it makes for a very long year for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

This school is tops. Best academics in Verde Valley with highest values and standards. Does not tolerate bad behavior. Encourages the Arts, integrates community college classes. The uniforms keep out undesireables. Great teachers and super administration. Not perfect, but the best around. I understand they have 10 years in Verde. Count my kids in! (If there's room!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

Wonderful environmnet to learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

Academics seem above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

My children are currently attending a public school in this area. I am feeling that the learning that they are getting is behind and I was wanting the best for my children and I have heard about the American Heritage. I was just wanting some feed back on this school. Thank you, Terri Keefer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

My children are in their second year at American Heritage. Our experience there has been wonderful. We appreciate the focus on academics but there is also many opportunities for them to be involved in music, drama, sports, leadership. In my opinion it is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

AHA is an awesome school! you dont have to worry about peer pressure, the kids in this school are so kind. The teachers rock too. The two best teacher that have changed my life of education was: Mrs. Fuller who I will miss dearly, and Mr. Mueller. If any students go there you have to take Anatomy and Physic, great classes.. alotta fun!!! They dont offer alot of sports, but enough to have fun. The best sport there I think is Volleyball =).. AHA ROCKS!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2004

AHA offers a caring environment with small classes and a wealth of extracurricular and curricular choices - everything from arts, crafts, music, band, choir, Japanese culture, logic & rhetoric, soccer, basketball, cross-country, leadership, anatomy & physiology, shakespear days, mother's day tea, art days, health days, water days, drama, physical education, home economics, home finances, typing, computer lab, physics, biology, fully equiped laboratory, archery, library, community service, plus all of the basics in education. AHA consistently scores above all area schools on the Stanford 9 tests - the only standardized national test given to all schools. Students must wear a school uniform collared shirt and prescribed pants or skirt. Discipline is strict, uniform, swift and fair. Students that have been at AHA the longest do the best. Students can attend 2 college classes a year and AHA will pay for it. It's like attending a private school for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2003

AHA believes that all students respond to differing styles of learning, so classes are marked by extensive use of visual, auditory and kinesthetic (writing and hands-on) methods. There is also extensive use of the Socratic method of using questions to allow a student to develop the rigor of thought processes that form the basis of critical thinking. Each student is prepared to be capable of handling the college experience, including how to read a textbook, take notes, research for information, summarize findings, present and defend assertions to the class, and learn how to behave like an adult with consequences for every behavior. Every activity in and out of the classroom is a learning opportunity, including frequent feedback and testing. No student is allowed to give-up or disengage. AHA is a safe and stimulating learning environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 55%N/A49%
Male 45%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Local Public Schools
Home School
Colleges most students attend after graduation Northern Arizona University
Yavapai College
Arizona State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Voted Best Charter School in Verde Valley (2012)
  • Voted Best Charter School in Verde Valley (2011)
  • Voted Best Charter School in Verde Valley (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Tony Rhineheart
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (928) 634-9053

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Local Public Schools
Home School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Northern Arizona University
Yavapai College
Arizona State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2030 E. Cherry St.
Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 634-2144

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT