Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mingus Union High School

Public | 9-12 | 1216 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2013

mingus union high school is a ok school but we need more activities and more field trips


Posted September 24, 2012

I don't think Mingus has any higher a percentage of drug use than ANY other school... I like that they bring in drug dogs if they even THINK there is drug use on campus. I do feel that they should do more seminars on pregnancy issues, however. There is a LOT of sexual activity going on, but probably as much as all the other schools. We just need to find something better for the students to do with their time (ie. skating rink, dance club, etc.). Also, I disagree with the student re: teachers never pulling you aside re: your grades. I have been notified by my son's teachers EVERY time he is slipping. AND we, as parents can look at grades and assignments every single day on their website. It is OUR responsibility to make sure the work is getting done, not the teacher's. If they give an "explosive amnt. of tests" how is that a "lack of education"??? It ISN'T a terrible school! It's a very good school, and I'm proud to have my boys both going there! Mingus is VERY concerned about their education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

The drug use and lack of education is ridiculous and growing more and more in the wrong direction. Teachers never pull you aside concerned with their students grades and honestly don't care whether they are learning the lesson required. Also most teachers give explosive amounts of tests on a chapter that the students have only been introduced to for less then a day. Terrible school and glad I am getting out of here this year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2012

I graduated from Mingus in 1992. I attended my freshman and sophomore years in Albuquerque, NM, and my junior and senior years at Mingus. My grades were suffering in Albuquerque, but when I started Mingus the counselors pulled me aside and helped me get my overall grade point average to a 3.0 by the time I graduated. All the counselors, the principal and the teachers were very concerned about me doing well. I highly recommend Mingus and would definitely send my own children there when the time comes for them to attend high school. The Cottonwood area is a great community as well. I can especially see that after living in Albuquerque for over 20 years. There is a huge difference between the two.


Posted January 5, 2012

I attended Mingus as did my husband. We have a child there now and 2 more on the way. Mingus is a good school with an equal emphasis on academics and athletics. I don't see any more or less problems at Mingus than at any other high school. Teenagers are teenagers and the problems they have are country-wide. Mingus is a highly rated school and the students excel at everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2010

High amount of drug abuse, school recently was fenced in which makes it resemble a prison. Too much emphasis on athletics and not on academics. More than a few teen pregnancies. There are very difficult people in key positions in this school who frankly should not be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

I feel appreciated here. Most schools focus their pep assemblies on just athletic achievements, but recently, Mingus has started mentioning all of the achievements made by every culture of student at our school. Even that of the art students and thespians :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2009

Good place for my children to get a high school education. Wonderful drama dept. and choir program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

My children love to have hands on activities in their anatomy class. They say its the greatest experience of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

Mingus is an excellent school. My son graduated from MUHS and had several academic and athletic scholarship offers. The teachers and parents are very involved and athletic programs are exceptional. With a larger selection of AP and College Prep courses offered over other schools in the area we were willing to drive from Sedona to enable him to excel at Mingus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

This school is full of bad influences.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2006

My daughter has excelled at Mingus, particularly this year in her social science course. The teacher understand the students and creates an environment in which they want to learn. Other classes are excellent, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

I am doing a reaserch paper on a high school and i'm just comparing them.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 33% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Black 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 639-4236

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1801 E. Fir Street
Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 634-8901

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mingus Online Academy
Cottonwood, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT