Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Riverview School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
My daughter's 3rd grade teacher last year was terrible. He was effective in making her miserable

Riverview School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
I would love it if my girls had more homework. I'm not sure if they're challenged enough when it comes to their academics. Maybe they learn alot in class but I wish they would bring something home to show for it.


Riverview School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
Both of my daughters are naturally compassionate. Both of their teachers this year & my youngest daughters teacher from last year is and was great with them.

Riverview School 3

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
Well, this is both of my daughter's 2nd year & the first year went well. My youngest is in a wheelchair, so they paved the kindergarten playground so that its accessible for her & I only had to ask once! I am very grateful for that. Unfortunately, my daughter has to go to the nurse often because of her disability & this year they don't have an adequate nurse! I've had an issue where she left my daughter to sit in urine for 2 hours, refusing to give her an extra pair of pants. I had sent one pair already, but that was her 2nd accident. Now more recent, another nurse calls me & says my daughter has a temp of 101.5. I go up there, get her bring her home to check her temp & it's 98.7. I call bacl to the school, maybe their thermometer is wrong, I want to ask if maybe they gave her something cold to drink, the nurse immediately copped an attitude with me, then proceeded to hang up on me when I copped one back with her! I'm sorry but I'm not going to allow anyone to talk to me any kind of way. I called back to let you know because maybe your thermometer was wrong & you can make the same mistake with another kid. My daughter wasn't even hot to the touch! The principal wasn't any help either. I spoke to her & she had already had her mind made up about the situation, not even listening to what I had to say. Very frustrating! I sincerely hope they can get a better nurse in there, apparently this one is a substitute.

Riverview School 4

Posted May 15, 2015
- a community member
I promoted from this school 4 years ago and I can honestly say I loved the school!! I loved the teachers and the staff. Everyone was friendly and really cared about my education. I loved this school more than any other! And I can say it's all thanks to Mr.Johnson and Ms.Mcbride! They were my favorite in 8th grade!


Riverview School 1

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
My typical child was not challenged at this school. My child in the special needs program was given zero expectations. It was the worst babysitting I had ever seen! If you want to see how bad it is...invite other parents/students over for pizza...I pulled my daughter immediately! The psychologist actually told me to assess my daughter. She refused to assess her. Make sure to keep emails of what happens. It was just despicable!

Riverview School 1

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
I have to say this is the worst school. Last year my kids were playing chase with another kid. Well that kid got mad after playing chase and threw my 1st grader on the ground and stomped on his face. The school tried to blame my kids saying that playing tag could cause emotional abuse to the other child and that is why he did what he did. And it happened in front of the cross walk lady and she did nothing. So now we are in the 3rd week of a new year my daughter is in 5th and this girl and her "crew" (that's what they call themselves) surrounded the slide and tripped my daughter. And guess what my daughter had lunch detention for it. This school is racist and is a big fat joke.

Riverview School 1

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
So what is one of the most important day's for your child while in school? Hmmm.. my child will be having 8th grade promotion in may 2014 and guess what the principal is doing each child only gets 4 tickets for family to go, and it also includes siblings that attend riverview elementary so for my family size that's 2 tickets down she has 4 siblings and 2 parents, grandparents that care for my child very much, that are driving here for that special day from out of state and now we have to tell them they can't go! Really Andrea Willingham, because there's too many children I think you should have known this since your the principal. You could have made better arrangements?? Worst @$!#/ principal.


Riverview School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
I love this school. It is situated in the middle of a neighborhood, so no scary traffic to deal with. I feel content that my children are safe here. The admin and staff are so caring. Most of the teachers care so much for their students. I am happy I moved my children to this school

Riverview School 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
I've recently moved and am worried the new school wont meet up to the excellent educational environment my 3 children have received over the past 4yrs from this school. My 2older children have been on honor roll and principal's list numerous times with my youngest being too young to be placed in those categories. The staff is always courteous and friendly. WE WILL MISS YOU RIVERVEIW!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverview School
12701 North Main, El Mirage, AZ  85335
(623) 876-7000
Last modified Riverview School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Riverview School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top