Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dysart High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2013

Best school i have ever been to. All the staff are amazing and care for all your needs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2012

to this school. Frankly, I should have known better. When my son was first enrolled in one of Dysart Unified School District's elementary schools we went to a parent/teacher conference. I was anxious to meet a student teacher my son spoke so highly of to thank him for being such a positive influence on him. After the meeting I left sadden and angry. He was a graduate of Yale University working on a masters degree in English Literature at ASU. He informed me that he would be leaving the student teaching program early because of his frustration with the school and its administration. Apparently he grew weary of dealing with parents who complained about the amount of reading he assigned (on average 20 pages a night) and the administrations indifference to his efforts and support of the parents. This school does whatever it can to maintain the minimal standards required to graduate students, period.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

This school has been the best experience for my son- the staff is awesome and supportive, the campus is safe- and my son WANTS to go to school EVERY day!!! Thank you Dysart staff for all that you do!!! Go Demons!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

This is our families 5th year at Dysart. I have graduated two children, one this year and another just getting started. The school has been a wonderful experience for all of my children. Full of teachers that care and go the extra mile. My children have met mentors, role models, and kindred spirits. From sports to theater to arts their coaches and leaders have been very supportive and helpful. The opportunities that have been given to my children will make a lasting impression. School is what you make it, so make it interesting, show up do your best and enjoy learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

One of the best high schools in the district!! I am an employee of the district, and my job requires that I travel to diffeerent schools within the district throughout the week . I work with 6th through 12th graders. The principal at DHS is great. The students are happy here because the staff doesn't put up with any nonsense--- these kids are held accountable! Better than that, they succeed because the teachers and staff set the bar high because they know these kids can meet the expectations. Demon Pride Runs Campus Wide!!


Posted July 23, 2010

Every teacher at Dysart High School is Highly Qualified to teach their specific subject. They are Highly Qualified according to the State of Arizona Department of Education ---The teachers at Dysart also cares about the success of their students and works hard to ensure their success!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2010

I don't feel like many of the office staff really care about the students. They cancelled the senior's final pep rally, without giving a reason, which student council spent $300 to make it the best rally the school had ever seen. We are constantly on 'restricted movement.' We haven't been allowed to go to the bathroom for weeks! Personally, i think the office staff write these reviews posing as students bcause i don't know many students who do like it and they are good students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2009

I have two of my kids attending DHS and they both love it! they have wonderful teachers that really care and great friends!our sports keep on improving every year.and we have lots of students going on to college, i am very proud. Go Demons!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

this is a really good school cause you can get along with anyone there and also have a good time with your friends at all the fun things they do for the students expecially at pep rallies there so much fun i miss this school...
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

I am now a senior student at DHS. I am doing so well that i was going to graduate in '09 but decided to experience my senior year. I was on the '09 list of graduates and everything. Dysart is a GREAT school! There have been those who chose to make Dysart seem like the WORSE school around but it really is not. We don't have race riots like Vally!!!!! With in the first 2 weeks of school Vally has been on lockdown 2-4 times ALREADY! Dysart has a whole new staff and they are determined to put Dysart back where it belongs...On the Map! Our attendence has already improved and fights OR arguments are not talarated! Dysart has been a grat school since my sop. year and still is. Students that chose to not be here are the students ALWAYS in trouble or finding trouble. Dysart is Great!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

i went their my freshman and sophmore year and i loved it.!! i wish i could go back.. it's the purfect year to start when you are a freshman. its so easy to get around. the students are up beat and friendly. the teachers are great and always there for you. i would choose that high school over any other any day...
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2008

Dysart High School is a good school. Every child has an oppurtunity to learn here they make a choice whether they want to or not. Teachers do not give up on any student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

Amazing school,the staff are wonderful and the study is improving for a new improving school.Go demons!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

Dysart High School is a wonderful, diverse group of people to work with, students, parents and staff. Go Demons!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 23, 2008

I am a parent of two kids that attended Dysart High. My son graduated and did well there and kept busy with sports. My daughter on the other hand had problems. I dont know if it is with the cliques they have their, the teachers not having control of their classrooms or the whole structure of the school. I witness morale not very high, pregnancy, and students not being very focused. My daughter attended a year and a half and i snatched her out quickly and put her in a private school which she is now doing well! Thank God i research finally and switch schools because i may have improved my daughter education and even saved her life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

As a parent, I can not stand this school. My kids first went to Willow but transfered to DHS for the JROTC program. I can not get any kind of communication from any of their teachers no matter how many times I ask. If you call the office because you have a question, wait 3 to 5 business days for a call back. Willow on the other hand was awesome for the 2 weeks that my kids went there. Do not let your kids go to that school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

The teachers are awesome. They really care about the students.There is so many extracurricular activities, I cant even name them all. The freshmen girls basketball team won the regionals. People hang out with everyone. The administration is awesome and so are the counselors. Dysart is definatly improving. I love the pep rallys. They are awesome. The Stu Co is so fun. I love DHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2008

My son started going here last year after switching from Deer Valley. Since he has started here at Dysart, he loves it. He hasn't had any problems at all. I am not sure how my daughter is going to like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

I'm a former student who attended Dysart from 1st grade to graduation. As in all schools, the teachers are caught between being babysitters of those students who DON'T want to be there, and trying to give the students who DO want to be there the best education they can. Where I live now there is an 'alternative' school in each district. Troublesome students are removed from class and must apply to be accepted at the alternative school if they want to continue their education. When they're ready to go back to the main school, they must also apply and go before the board before being admitted. This could be a solution for Dysart.


Posted November 18, 2007

I am a sophomore at DHS. And i know some people have given us a bad reputation but i think that Dysart is a pretty well rounded school. I enjoy wakeing up and going to school, I mean with so many choices of extracuricular activities I'm happy to be a student there.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

408 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 43%
White 30% 42%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 876-7521

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11425 N. Dysart Road
El Mirage, AZ 85335
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 876-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT