Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Toltec Middle School

Public | 4-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

this school has no place for kids who are ahead of everyone else the g.a.t.e.s program sucks and we do nothing but sit and do nothing. a fifth grade girl in the program is most likely smarter than all of us she's pretty smart , never gets in any trouble and I mean ever and she hasn't even got a good job or anything from teachers.we all feel real bad and that's how our school works


Posted May 16, 2012

After going to this school since kindergarten I believe that The Elementary School is a great and well staffed school, but, Toltec Middle School where I am currently at 4 days away from graduation. TMS is a little behind in academics but they have lots of other great programs. This school is extremely lacking on the little important things for students including,Bathroom Locks, Soap, Toilet Paper, Staff ( not enough teachers to adiquitly give students what they need. They have a great principal but the people below him are unqualified. I feel this quote greatly describes Toltec's Staff "Those who can't Teach"


Posted July 30, 2010

I am in 8th grade and have been going sinc 5th. This school is poor... There is no locks on the bathroom stalls and bathrooms ared gross, barbeed wire fence around the school, the school looks like creap, The academics are behind. The disiplin is horible, the teachers will write you up for anything thinking you will change. if you are in a fight and you use self defnese you get in treated the same. This school is horrible and cant wait to get out!!


Posted April 6, 2010

when i first went to toltec middle it was ok. people were cool. after 2 weeks of being there i was treated as an outcast. i used to love going to school but ever since i started going to toltec middle i hate even thinking about going to school. there is to much disrespect. ive wanted to leave this school ever since i got here. its a terrible school. we are so far behind
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2009

Restrooms have no locks,to many rules...They write kids up for non-maching socks! not a bad princepal but horrid school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

this school is way behind compared to the schools in other city.i felt realy super bad for my daugther when we moved to a new state and they eanted to hold her back one year she was so far behind. and she use to be A+ student. now she is and C D F student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

well i have mixed feelings on how to rate this school, my son is in special ed and his teacher in there is great, however his homeroom teacher spends too much time with the other kids, i still like the Evergreen School District in Vancouver WA better, but that is just my opinion
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

I just moved from casa grande my daughter was going to casa grande middle school and is now going to toltec middle school yes I see a big differences I really like it I also notice a change of attitude in my daughter
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

I believe this school is the best. yes there are parents who get mad about something but you know what you can not please everyone. And if someone is getting mad because thier child got kicked out for being bad then they are doing their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

An incredibly dedicated and extremely cohesive teaching staff works long hours to provide the absolute best for all children. It's not easy at all, but the results speak for themselves.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 24, 2007

In searching for a great place of education, certainly a parent would look for an active, involving school, with challenging academics, a safe atmosphere, and quality teachers. At Toltec, you can be assured of all of the above... but what really impressed me was a certain teacher that served as my daughter's Language Arts teacher in the eighth grade. As my daughter would come home, and I'd hear her ramble on and on about this 'Mrs. Ortega', I'd soon learn that we certainly weren't dealing with your average middle school teacher. Her teaching methods were untraditional, yet creatively effective, and her ability to connect with her students, not only as an educator, but also as friend, was absolutely amazing. I saw the transformation my daughter went through as a writer, and I definitely owe all the credit to this tremendously special teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

Our family loves Toltec Middle School. The teachers and staff really care about our children. I appreciate that as a parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

Dean gave my husband and i a tour. Very nice and helpful with all of our questions
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2004

I believe the communication between the school to the parents is non-existent. My child got a detention for not turning in homework and did not serve it. It got to the point of him not serving and it turned into a 2 day suspension. I was still not notified. My son had to end up telling me because he was now staying home. He is only 10 by the way. I called the school and was told 'We do not have the time or manpower to call every parent when a child gets in trouble.' I know that at other schools when a child is suspended the parent is contacted. This school is in a small community which I believe is the problem. Thanks to this years recent events we are looking to move to a city with people that are watching over our kids actually 'care'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

Principal states they care for the kids but there is no communication between the teachers, principal and the parents. How can they say they care about the child when one is failing and they don't try to help or let the parent know so we can help fix the problem. I don't understand this how hard is it to make a 5 minute phone call.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2004

They need to do a lot of changing at this school. The teacher gosip is horible and should never be allowed by the princple. The policy for sports is really bad to. I am greatfull my child got out and can go to a school that cares about its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2002

I think that Toltec has fallen well below state standards in quality of education and believe there needs to be changes made in teachers and administrators in order to reverse this. I hope that parent involvement grows to help with this situation.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 43%
White 31% 42%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 466-2399

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3315 N. Toltec Rd.
Eloy, AZ 85231
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 466-2360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Curiel School
Eloy, AZ



Toltec Elementary School
Arizona City, AZ




Picacho School
Picacho, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT