Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eva Marshall Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 597 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2014

Although the teachers at this school try very hard and care a lot about kids, they get little support from the principal in disciplining problem students. My child and other kids we know have been bullied in class and on the playground by kids who probably should not be in a mainstream class. This takes away from the learning experience of the kids who are well-behaved and want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

This school has a new principal and this has been a very positive change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

Marshall is a magnet school and has excellent arts programs as well as some of the best teachers. However, there are a lot of English learners which prevent indivualized attention and high test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

This school has a lot of leadership probelms. Too many people on power trips. This school does not always have the students best interest in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

I was not at all impressed with the curriculum, nor the ability and willingness of the staff to respond to common issues found in the classroom. One example would be of the student that was bullying my child...I made several attempts to have a meeting with the teacher, the principle, and the parent of the other child. Not only was I ignored, but my child was left to feel as though she was not able to defend herself. Her behavior declined rapidly. This was a very frustrating experience. This is a common issue, and it should have been handled in a mature, diplomatic manner. Instead, my child was alienated, and we have since left Eva Marshall. My child is now at a Montessori school, and doing wonderfully. I don't feel that my child's teacher at Marshall was experienced enough to handle her class. Totally disappointed with our experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

My 6-year old multiply-disabled son attends Marshall. I am very pleased with the special education he receives. He attends regular kindergarten as much as he is able to tolerate, and the kindergarten teacher is is very warm and accepting of all children. When he needs a calmer environment, the Multiple Disability Classroom offers him a variety of options depending on his needs that day. The special education teacher is wonderful with the children in her class, and is very accomodating to parents wishes. She really goes beyond what her professional duties require. We are pleased with Marshall's Special Education program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

Marshall became a magnet school. Personally I liked it better before it was a magnet school. It seemed the children were happier and the people were happier. I have to say that both my kids went to Marshall and they both have had great teachers, but I liked it better when it was a regular public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 42%
Hispanic 30% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 21% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 773-4035

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

850 N. Bonito St.
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 773-4030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

San Francisco De Asis
Flagstaff, AZ





Pine Forest School
Flagstaff, AZ


BASIS Flagstaff
Flagstaff, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT