Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Flagstaff Junior Academy

Charter | K-8 | 217 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Flagstaff

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $239,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 2, 2014

My kids have been at FJA for elementary and middle school. I can truly say that I respect the teachers that they have had. FJA uses a hands on approach and incorporates projects so that the students WANT to learn! The students are treated fairly with the school's huge emphasis on building community. Finally, my 8th grader is gifted. Many of our friends thought we should try other schools in our area, but she has been consistently challenged by her teachers because they are not afraid to involve the students in discussions and projects that meet the Common Core. We are very pleased!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2014

FJA is a great learning environment for my children. The education at the elementary campus uses the core Montessori principle of learning at the pace that best fits the student. At the same time, the students are held accountable for completing their work every week. (Accountability has been a missing piece for us in previous Montessori experiences.) Much of the learning involves hands on projects, field trips, or visiting experts. Children's House (3-6yo) is amazing not only for the learning environment but also for teaching children to treat each other in a kind and respectful way. Our family has had experience with 5 different teachers throughout our years at FJA elementary and all have been top caliber. The small classroom size has ensured that any issues that need to be addressed are done so quickly and I agree with another reviewer who said that the teachers and staff care very much about their students. The only downside to our experience ( and every school has a downside) is the amount of paper or worksheets that come from some of the classrooms. Also the turnover in Spanish language instructors has made the Spanish program somewhat inconsistent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2014

This is our third year at FJA. We have sons in 2nd grade and 5th grade. We LOVE FJA. Our sons have been provided opportunities to work above their grade level in the areas in which they have stronger skills; they also receive wonderful support in their areas where they may struggle. There is a strong community with highly involved family support. The kids are held to high expectations with how they treat one another. The multi-grade classroom is fantastic as it allows teacher and student to develop a strong relationship. The teachers and staff genuinely love the school and the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2014

This is a great, small community school. The Elementary is wonderful, especially the kinder and the 1st/2nd classes. 3rd/4th is also good but not as strong as the early years. Unfortunately the 5th grade is now middle school and a separate campus. My kids have been here going on 5 years and we've really liked it here, even with the change in principal and no principal for an entire year. The staff is not very good at communication but they are working on it. I find it sad that many of the teachers are sending their kids to other schools (especially for 5th grade) and that makes me nervous as a parent. The 'small' community that the elementary provided for the past 4 years is now broken with the middle school. Not sure if we will stay be we are going to see how it goes. PROS - small classes, great environment, great teachers, family-oriented CONS - not Montessori based after 1st grade and especially not in 3/4th. Lack of technology used by the teachers (not good with email, web updates, etc) New Spec Ed director is inexperienced and (IMO) she is not best suited for that job. Leadership is new but not sure if it is strong. The school is in transition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

The school has a great collection of kids and families. Some of the teachers are excellent. Nearly all of the people in positions of authority need to be dismissed, however. They are dishonest, unprofessional, lazy and fail to put the wellbeing of the kids first. They have been known to alter and omit information for parents and the board that might make them look bad. The classes also fail to provide challenge for students that are ahead of the curve. They also waste a great deal of time throughout the day with activities that don't really teach anything.They are technologically deficient and though many subjects are touched on, nothing is really learned in depth. My kids are at this school because socialization is important and the kids that go here are a good group. We are just biding our time until they can go somewhere better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

I have 2 kids that have been attending fja at the elementary and middle school and i am continuously disappointed. this is their 3rd year at the school and it will be their last. the school is run like day care, with little structure. they have old text books and not enough for each student so they have to share the books in groups. this makes it difficult for someone struggling with math. the teachers have an "oh, they'll learn that next year" attitude and they push off teaching important concepts. a math teacher at the middle school, is mean, impatient, and bullies the kids. he has favorites who he coaxes into laughing at other kids he doesn't like. he makes fun of kids in front of the whole class and cannot control his temper. and administration was not concerned that he was making kids cry. my kids were scoring in the 98th percentile when they came to this school and their test scores have steadily dropped. i heard great things about this school back before 2008, but it is terrible now. kids love the unsupervised, day-care like atmosphere, but they are not learning. try it for a year to see for yourself. it took me three years to realize it just keeps getting worse, not better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

FJA is a wonderful, family oriented school community! I absolutely love hearing each day how wonderful my 3rd graders day was. The teachers clearly care for their students and go well out of their way to help each child feel successful. The focus is not just on academics but on having a respectful, peaceful and fun learning environment that incorporates hands-on materials, art, poetry, literature, peace education and responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

I went to this school for only one year, my eighth grade year back in 2001-02 and it was probably the best year I've ever had in school. The teachers were awesome, the classroom environment was great, and the student-teacher relationships were outstanding. I went there as a below average student, who just didn't care, but FJA helped me to become the person i am today. I write this review from half way around the world, and if you have a child who you know has potential, and can benefit, send him/her here. One day i will never forget was 9/11... We all crammed into one classroom, and watched the footage as it was going down. All day we gave insight and discussed the event. I am now a great public speaker, and though i chose to join the navy, FJA helped me into becoming a well disciplined man.


Posted May 12, 2010

The teachers at FJA really strive to make learning fun and applicable to life while instilling the self-discipline and values needed for kids to succeed beyond the classroom. My kids have all loved school from pre-school all the way up. The chance to work at their own pace and pursue their interests as they relate to classwork has made my children happy students! Where else would a middle school boy who dislikes reading novels love his English class? Where else are the kids guaranteed art, foreign language, physical, health, music education every week-even when they're little?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2010

My children have been at FJA from preschool thru the 8th grade. I have been so happy at FJA. The principal is a very carrying person, the teachers are awesome and invested individuals and the ciriculum interesting and challenging. The only downfall to FJA is they don't have ahigh school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

I have been doing my Master's degree Practicum at FJA and am absolutely blown away by the genuine focus the teachers give each and every student. I also did some practicum work at two public schools here and FJA is eons beyond comparison. Their classroom libraries are phenomenal and the school is in great shape!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Creative and challenges kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

I had two students who went thru FJA from 2nd thru 8th grade. They never complained about getting up in the morning and going to school! Their teachers really cared about not only their education but about how their day was going. I would highly recommend this school to anyone searching out a quality caring school. My kids are very prepared for high school thanks to FJA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

Great School. Nice and caring teachers. Wish we would not have moved. My daughter misses this school so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

The teachers are uniformly spectacular and deeply devoted to the welfare and learning of their students. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the principal. She has driven many wonderful teachers from the school in recent years. Regardless, my son has recieved an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

the quality of education at this school is variable. there are a few very good teachers and a couple of others who probably couldn't get a job elsewhere. cramped spaces, overcrowding and sometimes very difficult kids. often disorganized and the kids can easily fall behind, especially in math. consider the middle school cautiously, although the elementary school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

FJA is an excellent choice for junior high! My son has done marvelous there FJA is a small and intimate school. The teachers are dedicated and hard working and while nothing or no school is perfect any minor issue we had were resolved through open communication with the staff. I can honestly say that my son has flourished. We feel fortunate to have spent our Junior High years with Mr. Clark, Mr. McQuaide, Mr. Gomez, Mr. Ruch, Mr. T, Mr. Wilson, Ms. Hart, Mrs. Rhinne, Tony, and our principal Mrs. Ambrose! Thank you for helping my son through those awkward junior high years. We think FJA is a 10 + school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

FJA has some of the finest teachers who have a passion for educating their students. Unfortunately, the principal lacks in leadership and can be very unprofessional in handling her job. Teachers hands are tied when it comes to working to make the school better since their voices are seldom heard. The school would be absolutely amazing if everyone (parents, teachers, students, and administration) could all cooperate to maximize FJA 's potential as the best school in Flagstaff. That said, if it were not for the amazing teachers, I don't think this school would be as successful as it is without them.


Posted April 7, 2006

I'v only had esperience with the middle school, but I have nothing good to say about the principal. FJA is supposed to be a communtiy. I would not reccommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 16, 2005

The elementary program here at FJA makes a great environment. Our son is very happy here, learning and being positively supported through his education!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 13% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A47%
Female 47%N/A49%
Male 53%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 774-7268

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

306 W. Cedar Avenue
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 774-6007

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


San Francisco De Asis
Flagstaff, AZ


Basis Flagstaff
Flagstaff, AZ




The Peak School
Flagstaff, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT