Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manuel De Miguel Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2012

This school is wonderful! The teachers are really great they are caring and kind and staff is so friendly. They are big on respect and personal responsibility. My daughter has learned far more than I would have imagined this year. We are so impressed with the curriculum. The facility is beautiful as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

This school has some amazing, gifted and caring teachers. But if your child is un-lucky enough to be assigned to one of the few teachers who has favorites or wants to do the absolute minimum amount of effort for her students, there is really no one to stand up for the students and make it right. The building is beautiful inside with lots of light. Many friendly parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

High quality teachers pared with a partnership with NASA helps make this an outstanding school where the staff and community works together and our children soar to new heights.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

It's a highly rated acclaimed school in our neighborhood.


Posted May 13, 2009

I love the new principle, who knows every kid, and I liked the old one too. The library & librarian are spectacular. They have a nice music program, comfortable atmosphere, very welcoming office personnel, a star observatory/telescope & club, a good hill for sledding on (the afterschool daycare FACTS program takes kids sledding too), a nice kindergarten playground, a nearby park that I pick up my kids at to avoid lines and traffic, great teachers mixed in, especially in the 1st & 3rd grades (we haven't gotten to 4th, 5th, or 6th yet). The speech therapist is the best we've ever had - we no longer needed a private therapist, and next year my kid won't even need speech therapy. No classmate problems - good families. Good lunch choices. Field trips every year. Couldn't find a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

I love this school. All the teachers seem happy as compared to other elem. schools in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

Love this school and the teachers! The parent involvement is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

We've been at DeMiguel for seven years - one child graduated and three are current students. The teachers are excellent - the only drawback the past few years has been the leadership, but with a new principal on board, we have high hopes for an even more positive enviroment. She has already been more visible and interactive with both parents and students than the previous administrator. DeMiguel has great extra curricular programs and strong parent involvement. It also provides a much more diverse student population than any of the local charter schools. DeMiguel is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

We've had two children go through De Miguel to middle school and another currently at De Miguel in third grade. All our children have had nothing but excellent learning experiences and nurturing at this school. Teachers and administration at this school are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

DeMiguel was once a great school, however the leadership at this school has fallen apart. It is really very sad to see such a great school fall apart. Not only is it sad for the students but for the teachers as well. There are several wonderful teachers at DeMiguel, it just happens that their Principal and School Counselor need to follow thru with their duties in a proper and professional manor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

My daughter is currently in the 5th grade at DeMiguel. She's attended DeMiguel since Kindergarten. I've been impressed year after year with her teachers. DeMiguel is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

I'm in Mr. Helleson's class and I love his class. But the principal in my opinion could do better. The after-school programs are great. I especially love the Astronomy Club. I have been in it since 2nd grade. The teachers are ok some are much better than others. I would recommend this school to parents who want their child(ren) ahead of schedule in the learning process.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2006

My daughter went to this school for one year. I dont have any major complaints. Is the nicest public school in flagstaff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

Overall, its a pretty good school. The best public in Flagstaff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2005

My children attended this school for a few years. I was unimpressed with all but one of their teachers, and was less than impressed and frustrated with the administration. My children are currently thriving in charter schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 16, 2005

My children have attended this school for a year now and I feel this is a fantastic school. The teachers are very involved and we have been very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

I go to this school, and I think they do a great job with our learning. The music programs are incredible, one includes a free band/strings program. The math may be kinda hard at times, but in my class we are starting to learn algabra, so I think we're a bit above the normal Arizona requirements. I'd recomend this school to anyone. - 6th grade student
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2005

Demiguel elementary is supposed to be one of the best schools in Flagstaff, since we have moved here however my sons grades and test scores have continually declined. The teachers are more concerned with getting through the lessons than making sure all of the children understand all of the lesson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

My children have attended this school for a combined total of 8 years. I have been impressed with the dedication and competence of nearly all the teachers I've come in contact with, with the small class sizes, and with the level of involvement of parents in the school. I would highly recommend this school. My only complaint is the lack of commitment by this school, and the district as a whole, to providing special services for gifted children. This lack has been partly made up for by the commitment of the classroom teachers to challenging each child through differentiated instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

The staff is wonderful and caring. Academically my daughter fell behind classmates of an out of state school from which she transferred. We had hoped for a more structured classroom (Grade K) academically. She enjoyed the many art projects and learned journaling, however the absence of worksheets until the last month and a half of school was a dissappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 S Gillenwater Dr
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 527-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mountain School
Flagstaff, AZ


Pine Forest School
Flagstaff, AZ





San Francisco De Asis
Flagstaff, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT