Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2012

This is our first experience with a public elementary school. We came from the Phoenix area where my son went to private preschool. We are SO impressed with this school and the teachers. I was new to Flagstaff and had some parents tell me how awful Cromer school was (I believe them to just be school snobs). My son has done better at this school than the private school he was at in the valley. He is learning so much, he absolutely loves it. He comes home everyday saying that he had a wonderful day and looks forward to going. The teachers and Principal are so nice! It's too bad that we're moving away as soon as he finishes school in May. I would love for him to continue on there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2010

We had a horrible experience at this school. The curriculum is geared towards kids with no parental involvement at all. There have incredibly low standards. Indeed there is little parental involvement at this school for anything but fund raising. This isn't that surprising since I found myself unwelcome as a parent volunteer at this school. The principal is too passive, apathetic and laid back for effective leadership. They feed the kids massive amounts of fat and sugar in class and recess is optional and not consistent. The class sizes are too big, overwhelming the teachers, making them ineffective and incapable of one on one time with any student. Worst of all was that they have little supervision during lunch time with 3-4 aids for around 260 students and something terrible happened to our daughter as a result.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

This is a teacher centered school that has extremely low standards, doesn't follow district guidelines for improvement and is satisfied with mediocrity. It has a newer and better kept building than most Flagstaff schools, but it is also very dark inside, which isn't a terribly healthy environment for kids to spend their days in. Also, the students are given about 15 minutes to eat at lunch time if they are lucky and then are forced by aids to throw their lunches away. If you have another option for your kids, use it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

this is one of the best elementary schools here in Flagstaff. never have I seen teachers and parents so involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2009

Fantastic school and teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Terrific school, terrific teachers. I just wish the playground was a little nicer, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Wonderful school. If you want a quality education with caring children this is the place for them. My children love to go to school. Cromer Teachers and Staff, keep up the fabulous work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

Great school, great staff. My son attended here for seven years and had great success. My daughter attends now, I hope she does as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I have two children at Cromer, my son has been at Cromer since K, and I love the school. The teachers are A++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2007

I have two kids at Cromer and we all love it! The teachers and staff are supportive and skilled. We love the positive environment. It's been a great experience for all of us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

This is a fabulous school. I have only wonderful things to say about teachers, principle and staff. My daughter was at Cromer for three years and has just graduated from the sixth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2006

Cromer School is a fantastic school. The teachers are caring and have helped my children make the transition to a new school painlessly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

Excellent school. Fantastic teachers. I have been extremely happy with Cromer for the past 3 years that my son has attended. One of Flagstaff's best kept secrets!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

Excellent teaching and support staff. Very good afterschool program as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

If you care about your child do not send them to this school. Their safety is at risk, tremendous lack of parent teacher communication, lack of supervision on the playground, and how lightly the principle of this school takes these issues. Their academics are a 6months to a full year behind most other schools. They do nothing to try and correct any of thses issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 22% 5%
Hispanic 21% 43%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 526-8985

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7150 E Silver Saddle Road
Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 527-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carden of the Peaks
Flagstaff, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT