Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2012
- a parent
This is our first experience with a public elementary school. We came from the Phoenix area where my son went to private preschool. We are SO impressed with this school and the teachers. I was new to Flagstaff and had some parents tell me how awful Cromer school was (I believe them to just be school snobs). My son has done better at this school than the private school he was at in the valley. He is learning so much, he absolutely loves it. He comes home everyday saying that he had a wonderful day and looks forward to going. The teachers and Principal are so nice! It's too bad that we're moving away as soon as he finishes school in May. I would love for him to continue on there.

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 1

Posted December 07, 2010
- a parent
We had a horrible experience at this school. The curriculum is geared towards kids with no parental involvement at all. There have incredibly low standards. Indeed there is little parental involvement at this school for anything but fund raising. This isn't that surprising since I found myself unwelcome as a parent volunteer at this school. The principal is too passive, apathetic and laid back for effective leadership. They feed the kids massive amounts of fat and sugar in class and recess is optional and not consistent. The class sizes are too big, overwhelming the teachers, making them ineffective and incapable of one on one time with any student. Worst of all was that they have little supervision during lunch time with 3-4 aids for around 260 students and something terrible happened to our daughter as a result.


Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 2

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
This is a teacher centered school that has extremely low standards, doesn't follow district guidelines for improvement and is satisfied with mediocrity. It has a newer and better kept building than most Flagstaff schools, but it is also very dark inside, which isn't a terribly healthy environment for kids to spend their days in. Also, the students are given about 15 minutes to eat at lunch time if they are lucky and then are forced by aids to throw their lunches away. If you have another option for your kids, use it.

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
this is one of the best elementary schools here in Flagstaff. never have I seen teachers and parents so involved!

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 03, 2009
- a parent
Fantastic school and teachers!


Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 20, 2009
- a parent
Terrific school, terrific teachers. I just wish the playground was a little nicer, though.

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
Wonderful school. If you want a quality education with caring children this is the place for them. My children love to go to school. Cromer Teachers and Staff, keep up the fabulous work!


Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 29, 2008
- a parent
Great school, great staff. My son attended here for seven years and had great success. My daughter attends now, I hope she does as well.

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2007
- a parent
I have two children at Cromer, my son has been at Cromer since K, and I love the school. The teachers are A++

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School
7150 E Silver Saddle Road, Flagstaff, AZ  86004
(928) 527-6000
Last modified Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top