Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
Cromer has been a great school for my oldest. He is in third grade. At the end of 2nd grade children are expected to be able to read 90 wpm and he was reading 144 wpm. He excelled in math. We have a great PTO that I have been part of since he started kindergarten. Everyone is super friendly and a great community. I also feel that a parent gets out of a school what you put in. For me being involved is a must.

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2012
- a parent
This is our first experience with a public elementary school. We came from the Phoenix area where my son went to private preschool. We are SO impressed with this school and the teachers. I was new to Flagstaff and had some parents tell me how awful Cromer school was (I believe them to just be school snobs). My son has done better at this school than the private school he was at in the valley. He is learning so much, he absolutely loves it. He comes home everyday saying that he had a wonderful day and looks forward to going. The teachers and Principal are so nice! It's too bad that we're moving away as soon as he finishes school in May. I would love for him to continue on there.


Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 1

Posted December 07, 2010
- a parent
We had a horrible experience at this school. The curriculum is geared towards kids with no parental involvement at all. There have incredibly low standards. Indeed there is little parental involvement at this school for anything but fund raising. This isn't that surprising since I found myself unwelcome as a parent volunteer at this school. The principal is too passive, apathetic and laid back for effective leadership. They feed the kids massive amounts of fat and sugar in class and recess is optional and not consistent. The class sizes are too big, overwhelming the teachers, making them ineffective and incapable of one on one time with any student. Worst of all was that they have little supervision during lunch time with 3-4 aids for around 260 students and something terrible happened to our daughter as a result.

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 2

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
This is a teacher centered school that has extremely low standards, doesn't follow district guidelines for improvement and is satisfied with mediocrity. It has a newer and better kept building than most Flagstaff schools, but it is also very dark inside, which isn't a terribly healthy environment for kids to spend their days in. Also, the students are given about 15 minutes to eat at lunch time if they are lucky and then are forced by aids to throw their lunches away. If you have another option for your kids, use it.

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
this is one of the best elementary schools here in Flagstaff. never have I seen teachers and parents so involved!


Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 03, 2009
- a parent

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 20, 2009
- a parent
Terrific school, terrific teachers. I just wish the playground was a little nicer, though.

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
Wonderful school. If you want a quality education with caring children this is the place for them. My children love to go to school. Cromer Teachers and Staff, keep up the fabulous work!


Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 29, 2008
- a parent
Great school, great staff. My son attended here for seven years and had great success. My daughter attends now, I hope she does as well.

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2007
- a parent
I have two children at Cromer, my son has been at Cromer since K, and I love the school. The teachers are A++

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School
7150 E Silver Saddle Road, Flagstaff, AZ  86004
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (928) 527-6000
Last modified Sturgeon Cromer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top