Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Flagstaff, AZ
Students enrolled: 104
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Star Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
My kids are smart. Largely due to the teachers who taught them here at STAR. The proof is in the report cards.

Star Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
I thought that the homework given out, even the summer work packets distributed by several teachers is great! In my opinion, yeah the kids are enjoying their time after school, spring breaks, summer breaks even, but I'd rather they have homework than sit in front of the TV or on their electronic device. Its just right.


Star Charter School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
I don't' think STAR develops respect, it only helps the students realize that they had it all along. The cultural teachers are great at getting the students to refer to each other in the Navajo Tradition by asking how they are all related whether its by blood or clan. Kinship develops respect.

Star Charter School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
I know STAR was recognized as a changemaker (?) school by Ashoka. I did not know the meaning of empathy myself, as a parent, but it goes right up there with compassion and caring for others. STAR kids all know one another and greet each other as if they are all closely related, which most of them are. Caring comes natural if it is taught not only from teachers but it is a reflection of the parents also.

Star Charter School 5

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
My two youngest children are products of this school! I hold the teaching staff, cultural staff and the bus drivers in high regard! They all had a hand in helping shape, form the young highly achieving college students they've become! Deserves a Power Woosh!


Star Charter School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a product of this school. Honesty, Integrity and Fairness is taught, shown and implemented by her teachers. There was a great disparity when she left at 8th grade to attend high school in "town". She wasn't treated the way she expected to be treated, the way she WAS treated at STAR. She had her first experiences with racism, ignorance and all out disrespect AFTER she left. But she was also taught how to adapt and accept the challenges placed before her. Now she is a freshman in college and indicates that she will never enjoy education as much as she did at STAR.

Star Charter School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
Students are not respectful toward each other or teachers and they have no consequences when they break a rule

Star Charter School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
no kid could tell you what empathy means. Most students do not have compassion for each other or any animals or insects. Where is the environmental caring?


Star Charter School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
If some of the adults are ones to follow, then no. Cafeteria lady is just plain mean, administration is not honest. No kid would know what the word integrity means

Star Charter School 2

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
Very untrustworthy administration; they do what serves them, not what is the right thing to do or what is best for the students or staff

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Star Charter School
145 Leupp Road, Flagstaff, AZ  86004
(602) 412-3533
Last modified Star Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Star Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top