Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Peak School

Charter | K-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Flagstaff

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2014

All my children attended the Peak School my oldest has graduated from here and had the tools to be successful in high school. My children continue to grow and progress in school. I credit the great teachers and small classes. I feel that each teacher offers each student with the support and tools to learn. This is done with incorporating hands on learning inside the class and outside. The school is located in Sunnyside of Flagstaff which offers great insight to the word "community." The families support the school and the staff through fundraising, attendance of Parent Teacher meetings. The staff has always provided me support and taken time to for concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

If I had the option, I'd give this school 0 stars. I am a parent who has worked at schools before, and the level of incompetence the staff displays is extraordinary. They never answered my phone calls, yet they had the audacity to call me on multiple occasions, demanding I call them back, to no avail. The grades are very low as well, ranging from 30s to 70s, of which I assume is due to the lack of classroom materials and an interactive learning environment. The only time I went to a PTA meeting, the rooms were barren, save for desks and chairs. They told me about how their learning environment was both immersive and interactive, although my son always would complain about the numerous worksheets they would recieve on a daily basis. The school also resides in a potentially dangerous neighborhood; vagrants walk around the "playground" (in reality a parking lot), and on numerous occasions the school has gone into lockdown because of this. Don't send your children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

I have seen some great things happening at PEAK this year, I wish the had a high school too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

The PEAK School gives children the chance to be challenged in a diverse setting. It is a small school where all the staff know me by name. After having homeschooled this was a great choice for my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

The PEAK School is an excellent school. An experienced, certified teaching staff provides and a positive and supportive learning environment. Students receive the individual attention they need to grow and development academically and socially. My children have spent many happy years at The PEAK School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

I wouldn't send a child o this school if it was the only school in Flagstaff. My grandson attended second grade. The facility is a joke. So cramped. No halls. You have to walk thru one class to get to another. His teacher whinned a lot to the kids and only new bribery and giving and taking away things and privileges to get them to cooperate. Teacher was also unorganized. No playground. Very unimpressed. Lots of sickness because the kids are all couped up.


Posted October 10, 2010

I've worked at this school as a teacher and other positions and I would NEVER let my children attend a school like this. School leadership is non-existent and incompetent at best. Teachers are stretched beyond their means because the school doesn't manage their resources wisely. The school is housed in an old elevator repair building and an old restaurant which forces the students to play in alleys and parking lots. There is no push from the school to move to a better facility either. As far as the education is concerned, the school relies heavily on worksheets and busy work. They refuse to fire incompetent, uncertified teachers because they don't want to pay unemployment. The student does not come first here, if they did, they wouldn't keep teachers who don't know how to teach.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 31, 2009

I'm a grandparent of a PEAK student. Expectations for students are high, yet individualized. There is an overall feel of an extremely creative and caring environment.


Posted August 20, 2008

My son went to school here for the first and second grade. There was some unpleasantness with the staff that was overlooked by the heads of the school and I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

I am a former employee of the school and I can tell you first hand that the owners/Principal of the school want and strive for only the best for all the children. They truly are amazing people. When they say that learning is individualized, they mean it. At this school, you can believe that your child will not be left behind


Posted November 21, 2004

The school is great as long as you don't have to deal with some of the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2003

Peak School is absolutely wonderful. My child is happier in this school than in the public school system in our district. I would recommend this school to any parent.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
6%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 43%
White 29% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 21% 5%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 779-0774

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2016 North First Street A & B
Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 779-0771

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Basis Flagstaff
Flagstaff, AZ


Leupp Public School
Flagstaff, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT