Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Colonel Johnston Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2013

While I have had 4 children in this school at one point or another the only thing that I would say is above average about this school is their special needs preschool that they offer. Since my twins have began attending they have flourished into little boys that I never know. The teachers are fair and reasonable however they are not above average. I have one boy in the 2nd grade now and he could use some additional challenges but this school is not equipped with the tools to deal with advanced kids which is a bummer because he gets bored in class. The only thing really lacking is the new principal that they moved over from the middle school because he couldn't handle his job there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

This school is one of the the worst schools my son has attended. The staff feel that they are the final view on anything that happens and they know what is best, regardless of whatever anyone with other qualifications might say. (They'd rather my son miss class due to the nurse's opinion rather than his pediatrician.) The staff (My son is special needs.) are of low quality and seem to have very little training on how to properly handle difficult situations, how to effectively communicate, and how to write legibly. (The teacher's handwriting is nearly as bad as my 7 year old son's. My husband and I have to often try to decipher what she is attempting to tell us. She also seems to have difficulty writing in complete sentences and using proper tense.) We've had many troubles with this school and feel that this school has not made it a priority to hire educators who are capable of not only educating students on subjects but also on maintaining certain standards within their own behaviors. If we remain here or return here for any reason our son will not return to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

Amen, to April 10th's post! I totally agree. My son attended first grade there last year and we are stressing on whether he will be able to attend next year due to the funding cut. We are crossing our fingers because the school and the faculty are amazing! We were thoroughly pleased in all areas!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

Both my children have attend this school and my husband and I are glad to have teachers that are educating our children as well as reinforcing self discipline. We find that the majority of the parents that complain about the school never come to the school to talk to the teachers to voice their concerns or they disagree with a the schools rules on safety and reinforcing positive behavior because their children are the ones with no self discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

The teachers are paper pushers and spend more time scolding the kids the teaching. The kids are given another worksheet before they have even finished or have begun to understand the assignment. I have taught in elementary schools with teachers that have been nationally recognized and this school truely lacks in connecting with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

There's a race to the middle at Col. Johnston. They emphasize quantity over quality - #'s of books more important than types of books at the end of the year award ceremony. The teachers aren't big on kids who are way above grade level as that would require doing something outside their norm. Testing and attendance are HUGE for funding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

We had a choice of sending our daughter to Johnston or one of the downtown schools. We chose Johnston and are thrilled by the education she is receiving. All of the teachers are well organized, very knowledgeable of the challanges the military child is faced with. The principal is very hands on and approachable. She personally addressed a concern I had. Although it was a minor concern she went out of her way to address me personally. You don't get better than that! Fort Huachuca Accomodation schools lead the way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

Colonel Johnston school encourages parent involvement and volunteering more than I have ever experienced. My son had a first grade teacher that was amazing, and encouraged all of her students so much. I wish that every child could experience this level of teaching and caring from such a well structured learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

My daughter has attended Fort Huachuca Accomodation Schools for the past two years. The first was kindergarten at General Myer Elem & it was excellent! She now attends 1st grade at Col Johnston and I'm extremely pleased! She has a wonderful teacher Ms. Harris. My daugher is excited about learning, loves going to school and has learned so much. A+++ for Fort Huachuca Accomodation Schools. The teachers are dedicated and obviously love to teach. If you have a choice between Ft Huachuca schools and downtowns schools I highly recommend Fort Huachuca Schools all the way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

My son attended 3rd grade here. It was an 'okay' experience. Not a great emphasis was put on education, since safety was such a great concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

I think it is the best elementary school my kids have been to by far, the staff are so wonderful polite and helpful. Teacher's are excellent especially 1st grade Mrs.Boss & Mrs Paulsen, Mrs bernheim is also a wonderful 2nd grade teacher. Thanks so much keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

They do offer a chorus program after school and help with those who are behind in regular school work with an after school program. The lunch program lacks any choice and is rather dull.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Black 16% 5%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 459-8771

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Rucker Street Building 47120
Fort Huachuca, AZ 85613
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 458-5082

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Colonel Smith Middle School
Fort Huachuca, AZ





Imagine Sierra Vista
Sierra Vista, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT