Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Public district
Fort Huachuca, AZ
Students enrolled: 317

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Colonel Smith Middle School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
This is school is well worth the distance and hassle of driving on post for my son to have a great education. Im happy that I moved him to this school for his 3 years of middle school. The teachers are awesome and are willing to help in anyway possible to better the kids that attend this school.

Colonel Smith Middle School 1

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
My Child was being bullied and instead of stopping the behavior the school allowed it to continue until my child fought back ( verbally ). When that Happened my child was suspended for the reamainder of the year. Way to go School. Lets reward bully's. They didn't even get a detention.

Colonel Smith Middle School 1

Posted April 01, 2010
- a parent
Horrible school! They don't seem to care what goes on, and if you have issue's they never get back to you and maake excuses for it. Foul words used in class. Teacher's talk about things they should not be talking aboutt because it has nothing to do with that class or even dealing with school period. My children come from a high preforming arts school and are not use to this kind of behavior from other childrren and teachers.

Colonel Smith Middle School 2

Posted June 18, 2008
- a parent
This school is not the best school, because it has very little activities for the children. Also, when foul words are used within a group and the teacher does not know who said, they do not care at all.

Colonel Smith Middle School 5

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
fantastic school. School went to uniforms in 2004-2005 school year and loving it. The staff is wonderful.

Colonel Smith Middle School 3

Posted September 12, 2005
- a parent
Excellent Band program. Good quality textbooks. New principal seems responsive to student's needs. Lots of choices for extra curriculuar activities.

Colonel Smith Middle School 5

Posted July 03, 2005
- a teacher
This school is a well organized school that helps children adapt from the elementary to high school level. I was thrilled to see they were required to wear uniforms. The children of all military and civilian ranks are equalized. There are some excellent teachers, but in some classes my child rarely recieved a graded paper back from the teacher. There is a variety of after school activities for a small school, but it would be nice to see a few more. The school board and county superintendant do not appear to support the teaching staff, espeically in the terms of professional development and pay raises, which is causing much conflict and turnover. This school will grow and improve if a new schoolboard can be put in place.

Colonel Smith Middle School 5

Posted April 02, 2005
- a parent
Smith Middle School is the absolute best middle school in the entire Sierra Vista/Fort Huachuca area. Our daughters attended SVMS for one year and then attended Smith for their remaining middle school years. They have thanked us over and over again saying that moving them to Smith was the best thing we have ever done for them. The education at Smith is far superior to the middle schools downtown and the teaching staff is superb! Smith gets an A++ with us!

Colonel Smith Middle School 1

Posted February 26, 2005
- a teacher
Smith Middle School lacks professionalism in regards to both it's instructional and administrative staff. The school requires uniforms, however, it refuses to enforce the unity of them. For example, the children wear uniforms and along with them they wear their pants down to their thighs, wear dog collars, spiked wrist bands, earings (boys), and the children color their hair in shades of blue, pink, and purple in stripes. These are just a few of the unacceptable issues that are tolerated at Smith Middle School. There is a distinct level of prejudice within the school structure towards certain white or non-hispanic children.

Colonel Smith Middle School 4

Posted April 19, 2004
- a parent
Good School, lots of homework. School uniforms required

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Colonel Smith Middle School
5651 E Smith Avenue, Fort Huachuca, AZ  85613
(520) 458-5082
Last modified Colonel Smith Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Colonel Smith Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top