Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Mohave Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 422 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

My Kid attends FMES and it seems that the staff picks on the kids that's not there favorite, and handing out suspensions. Which effects their school work and keeps them behind. Although I believe if the kid gets in trouble he or she needs to be punished keeping them out the class during school hours for minor reasons is unacceptable. Get it together FMES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2010

Both of my kids have attended FMES, and both have gotten a good education. The teachers get results and make school enjoyable. My children excel on the AIMS, find mathematics fun, and read for enjoyment. Given the financial climate, FMES educates our children well with sound teachers who employ proven teaching methods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

My daughter was in mrs. Meyer's k class last year & i was very impressed with the attention she recieved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2006

My son attended FMES from kindergarten through 6th grade. He has received an excellent education and learned how to be a good student. Extracurricular activities are available for students. However, art and music programs are not available at this time. Parents are offered many opportunities to be active participants in their child's education. The staff tries to meet the needs of all students. Thank you, FMES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

My children have recieved a wonderful education from here.I have three kids and they all are on the honor roll. The teachers take pride in teaching,and go the extra mile to help the children who have trouble.I am glad that I moved here and attend fort mohave elementry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2005

Poor in everything most of all in notifying parents of any change in schedule or serious problems. No music, no art and sports but games are played during school hours taking the children out of class to play other schools. Disappointed constantly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2005

The school is great. The teachers are all very dedicated. Mr McIntyre helped my son extremely. Highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

We adore Mrs. Craig. We could not have asked for a better teacher. She is caring, excited and truly interested in each and every child. Our child has a special need that she took the time to educate the class about and helped to continue our child's love for learning. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

My three children has gone to this school since kindergarden. They have recieved the best education my third grader reads at a six grade reading level, my fourth grader can do math faster then i can. I wouldnt change a thing about the school. The teachers care about the students not a paycheck. I hope other parents read this and give the school a chance. I would like to say thanks to all the staff at Fort Mohave Elementry school for all they have done for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 768-8075

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1760 Joy Lane
Fort Mohave, AZ 86426
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 768-2507

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Young Scholars Academy
Bullhead City, AZ


Maria Montessori School
Bullhead City, AZ



Desert Valley School
Bullhead City, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT