Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Fountain Hills, AZ

3 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fountain Hills High School 1

Posted December 15, 2014
- a community member
This school is bad. I am in my second year here and nothing is getting better. Some of the teachers are alright, great even. But the students... Are immature and more focused on being popular, most are ignorant and out of control, but not all of them, just the majority. The school is practically focused on how it appears on the outside and doesn't care how deteriorated it is on the inside. They can't afford new and better things because all the money is being put into pointless things that don't contribute to anything in any way. There is little to no positive vibe here, except for pep rallies (in which we are practically forced to believe we attend an amazing school). Don't be blinded by how it appears on the outside, take it from someone who has been below the surface of all the fake enthusiastic nonsense and has seen what the place really is. Also the whole drug and sex thing here is bad. These kids who are barely 16 can't go a few weeks of dating without the whole "Yeah we had sex" or "I heard they did it in the locker room". This is seriously sad.

Fountain Hills High School 2

Posted November 09, 2014
- a parent
The kids have had 8 algebra teachers since the beginning of the year. 2 actual teachers and the rest were subs. The same thing happened in physics with 3 different teachers. There are some very unstable kids here with self esteem issues, and they tend to thrive off of one another and try to drag others down with them, but then there are a lot of good kids too. The athletic program and band program are wonderful and those kids are really happy. Most parents work full time here and kids are often meandering around the town getting in trouble because there is nothing to do here. Research the town's problems in the FH Times and some community Facebook pages to inform yourself before you find yourself in a terrible situation.


Fountain Hills High School 4

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
Fountain Hills HS is a unique school in a unique community. We have a daughter who has been attending for two years and loves it. She is in AP and Honors classes, multiple clubs and a sport. The school offers three diploma levels. She is working on graduating with the Highest Distinction diploma and has already earned college credit from a couple of her courses. We have a son who will be starting his Freshman year there and can't wait! Like any school parents need to be involved and FHHS is no different. Get involved, put your student on a diploma path that will challenge him/her and encourage them to participate in extracurricular activities. They will love this small school experience.

Fountain Hills High School 1

Posted June 29, 2014
- a parent
Pulled my kids...enough said without getting vulgar! Problems....problems....problems, drugs, sex and an embarrassing special needs program.

Fountain Hills High School 1

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
This school has a huge drug problem and the teacher's ignore it. The teacher's are there to collect a paycheck. The student's do not get any help, even when they ask to stay after class. They are ignored. This school is at the bottom of the barrel academically.


Fountain Hills High School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a community member
As a former student, I really appreciated Fountain Hills High School. I went there for all four years, and had an amazing experience with sports, teachers, and activities in the town. For the parents who are saying how bad of a school this is for their child I would say it is not the school's fault, but the child's. Students will get much out of Fountain Hills High School if they apply themselves. I felt very prepared to go to college and am doing very well having a 3.7 GPA and can accredit it to my time in High School. So parents, please look at your child and assess whether they truly are applying themselves instead of blaming everything on the school administration. Is your child actually studying or doing their homework? Are they involved in anything at the school or in the community? If not, encourage them to do so. Be parents, school is not there to parent your child, you are.

Fountain Hills High School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Great small school with a fabulous music/band instructor who motivates students and generates excitement in the music programs.

Fountain Hills High School 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
We moved to AZ from the midwest two years ago. We have three sons in FHHS. We were looking for a smaller school and a community that was just that...a community, not a part of suburban sprawl. Our sons were welcomed at this school as part of the band and are enrolled in AP classes. Public education is substandard no matter where you live. However, we have supplemented our kids' education since they have gone to school with experiences and online learning. The size of the other schools in the greater Phx area enables them to have more classes, however, we have found the ability to get to know the staff, students quickly has enabled our kids to be successful and be assured they are making good decisions inside and outside of school. Fountain Hills is the only 'town' left in Phoenix and we love it. A PhD leads the science department and stretches the kids through the #1 robotics program in AZ and regionally. Like every school, there are outstanding teachers and others you learn to avoid. The new principal is focused on bringing the rating back to an "A". At the high school level, success of failure depends on the parenting of the prior 14 years, not the school they attend.


Fountain Hills High School 1

Posted December 04, 2012
- a parent
This school is awful. Do not come here. As a junior here, i regret wasting 2 years of my high school career at this school. The teachers are bias and unwilling to help a lot of students. The faculty here does a terrible job. This school is just plain boring if you are a student looking to have a memorable high school experience. Save yourselves and your money, go to a scottsdale school, or Payson.

Fountain Hills High School 4

Posted September 01, 2012
- a parent
I have a junior at FHHS and he is very successful here. He takes the AP and honors classes (many are offered) and is involved in sports and clubs. We have had a good overall experience with this school. The false rumor mill is very damaging. I sense many parents in the community find it some sort of a status raising thing to send their kids "over the mountain" to Scottsdale. Not true--let's band together and support our schools here in the great community of Fountain Hills.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fountain Hills High School
16100 E. Palisades Blvd., Fountain Hills, AZ  85268
(480) 664-5000
Last modified Fountain Hills High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fountain Hills High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top