Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Neely Traditional Academy

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

54 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2010

Neely is a amazing school. My son is going into third grade and my daughter will be a kindergarten this school year. The teachers are great and the parents are very involved. They stick to a very strict curriculum. Which is great, I just wish they would incorporate more fun into the learning. Like art projects, hands on activities or using more of there imagination and creativity. It seems to be very by the book. But don't get me wrong. I love this school and I'm grateful my children go to Neely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

i love this school! my child has been there sense kindergartenand she has gotten straight a's every year. i suggest you send your child here it is the best school i have ever seen!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

Neely is an excellent school! It is like going to a private school without the tuition. The teachers are amazing, the families are kind and take the time to get involved with their childs education. This is the best public school Gilbert has to offer. Your children will learn and be excited about it!! This school is not for those who do not want to be involved in their childs education. Excellent, Excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

School continues to get 10 out of 10 scores. Students not allowed to do fund raising; electronic weekly status report and high level of parent participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Ok, this school is amazing! All the teachers are so nice and they make it so much easier to learn. Im in 6th grade now and i am having a great time. My teacher, Mrs. St. John, is so helpful. This school has done so much for me. At Neely, i feel i have reached my full potential. Also at Neely, i have learned to overcome my A.D.H.D. Why wouldnt you guys send your kids to a school that was visited by fox 10 news.Go Neely!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2008

This is officially the best school I've ever been to! The principal does a great job managing everything and the teachers are wonderful (especially Mrs. Manning and Mr. Martin)! I'm in sixth grade right now, I've been attending Neely ever since 1st grade, and they've been some of the best years of my life! YAY! Go Neely Knights!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2008

Okay, Mom and Dad, if you want the best opportunity for your child to excel and achieve their full potential, send them to Neely! My daughter is in the sixth-grade this year. She began Neely as a kindergartner. She has been challenged but not overwhelmed. Neely has ALP, advanced math and advanced writing for those who qualify. They also offer help for those who need it. Neely has an all volunteer band and strings which both of which are amazing. These children meet before school in order to participate. The strings start with third-graders and the band with fourth-graders, which is not standard for other schools in the district. These kiddos still get general music as well as PE, art as part of a 'specials' rotation. We drive across the district to get her there. I can honestly say, I would have never had it any other way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

i went to neely a few years ago, but im too old now.... my education there helped prepare me so well. I was prepared for Junior High when it came. The strings program is amazing. The teacher there taught me very well. I am now in a Youth Symphony. I am in the second highest level.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2008

My son is now in 3rd grade and is soaring academically. He may have slightly more homework that the other district schools, but it is paying off. The children are held to a higher standard at Neely, and I find that the parents are active and have put their children in this school expecting superior education. The principal is amazing and very active in what is right for each individual student. She is very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

We just spent our first year here with my oldest, a kindergardner. I have to say, I love it. The review below said it best, the kids are encouraged to do their best but aren't as stressed as kids I see at CTA, very similar program. I loooove the half day kinder teacher, Ms. Warren. She made the year fun for my very senstive little boy. We're definitely coming back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

We have 4 children attending GPS Traditional Academy and each of them is doing so wonderful. They have been taught the importance of doing their best on each and every assignment. They are challenged but not stressed. Teachers work hard to build up each child's self esteem... which is very important to us as parents. There are so many schools to choose from in this area and we believe that this school is absolutely the best!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

This is a great school. No time is wasted in class. Children are respectful. Great parent involvement. Gayle Blanchard is a great Principal and the teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2006

The school is the best thing that could have happened to my children. They are learning so much more than they would be at if they were still at their old school. No chaos in these classrooms! The extracurricular activities are just that--extracurricular-- they are before and after school. They have art, computers, PE just the same as other schools but if they want to be in band or chorus, it is before or after school. The school hours are for learning. They have the best special reading teacher in the district. Their new principal (this is her second year) is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

This is such an excellent school. We started my Kinder. & Second Grader last year and it was the best move I could make. My Kinder. was doing more work than my second grader did at our last school when she was in first grade! They push the kids to work to their potential instead of teaching to the lowest common denominator. My second grader told me constantly that she loved this new school and didn't want to ever go back to her old one. The teachers, staff, and administration are all amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

My children have attended this school since pre-k and I can't imagine them going anywhere else. The academics are superb, and it's truly like a small community-- everyone knows each other and is very ivolved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

This school is fantastic. The core academics of Spalding Phonics and Saxon Math are valuable tools in teaching your children the skills they need to learn anything. They expect a lot from students, but won't hold them back from learning as much and as fast as they can. Music, art, computers, Accelerated Reader, and other specials including special ed and a gifted program are all available. Parents here are very involved and there are opportunities to help with whatever fits into your schedule. I cannot say enough great things about this school. The faculty and staff are tremendous and know almost the entire student body by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

I have taught in a regular public school and now a traditional school. The difference is stunning. There is no time wasted in class. We are constantly challenging our students. They thrive at the challenges and high goals that we set. It has shown me that a traditional school is giving the most to the children's education. GPS is the best!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 16, 2005

The teachers, students and principal at this school is of the highest quality. Teachers give 100% and the students do as well. The positive atmosphere at the principal encourages really allows the students to blossom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

This school is great for children who are above average students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

My daughter after fininshing the 1st grade still wasn't reading. I put her into GPS Traditional Academy and within 2 months she was at her grade level in reading. My son is now just finishing Kindergarten this year there and by Christmas of last year, he was reading and his comprehension was at a 2.8 grade level. The teachers work with the children and the parents are amazing, helping with any and every activity that is available. I would recommend GPS Traditional Academy to any parent wishing their children to excell in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 3%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

321 W. Juniper Ave.
Gilbert, AZ 85233
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 892-2805

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Edu-Prize
Gilbert, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT